We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Pfister Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Pfister Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,778 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Pfister Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,762: English reviews
north jersey
Reviewed 11 February 2015

We stayed here this past weekend. It was our first visit to Milwaukee, and the first at this hotel. I can only say that our experience was outstanding. The staff went above and beyond, and exceeded our expectations. The hotel was quite lively, and accommodations were great. I would definitely stay here on our next visit, and would recommend this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bridey56
DRUSCH_BRANDON, Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you bridey56 for the great review! Milwaukee is truly an amazing 'hidden' gem! We thank you for allowing us to be your hotel of choice from this point forward. Please contact me directly so I can handle any and all future reservations personally! Warm Regards, Brandon Drusch

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewed 10 February 2015

We stayed in a Pfister Club King room over the weekend and I had very high expectations as we were celebrating a special 5 year anniversary. All of my expectations were met, our stay was nothing short of superb. Everything went without a hitch, the staff was wonderful, friendly and inviting. Check-In was a breeze, every patron & staff member...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rachel H
DRUSCH_BRANDON, Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Rachel H. for spending such a special day with us! We enjoy having the opportunity to help inspire and capture life's memories! I look forward to this being a yearly celebration! Best, Brandon Drusch

Reviewed 9 February 2015 via mobile

I stayed with my friends for one night for my 40th birthday. I was in a beautiful suite on the 5th floor. We added on the club service and thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast the next morning. It was so lovely in there and relaxing. We thought the food was good too. Of course it wasn't out of this world but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shopfrost
DRUSCH_BRANDON, Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Shopfrost for spending your 40th Birthday with us! The Pfister Club Butlers take great pride in the service and amenities they offer! Come and see us anytime- its always 72 and sunny in the Pfister Club! Brandon Drusch

Waterford, Wisconsin
Reviewed 6 February 2015

This hotel is a wannabe 5 star with the most unpleasant employees I've ever encountered in a hotel. Yes, the building is historic and pretty but my room had NO towels, the internet didn't work and the people that work there are bothered by your mere presence. Horrible. DONT STAY HERE.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter V
DRUSCH_BRANDON, Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Peter V! It was a pleasure to speak with you and address the concerns and challenges you had expressed first hand from your recent stay. It is my hope that after our conversation I can look forward to having you back at the Pfister for a future experience! I want to apologize again for the challenges you encountered upon...

VA
Reviewed 3 February 2015

I recently spent one night in The Pfister. It had potential to be an amazing stay, but did not quite live up to that. The reason for this is I was put on the second floor with a room that was "overlooking" the marquis on the front of the building. Not only did I not have a good view, I...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank MyDogCiara
DRUSCH_BRANDON, Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review from your recent stay. I apologize that the noise and room location inhibited your experience and took away from the services and amenities we offer at the Pfister. I hope to be able to personally handle any future bookings and I look forward to making this right. Regards, Brandon Drusch

Chicago
Reviewed 3 February 2015

Depending on what you like (this is not a boutique hotel), you really can't go wrong with the Pfister; it's a grand old elegant hotel and great to see in Milwaukee. The hotel is constantly maintained (having been there previously); they do not let this hotel get run down. Great restaurant (see Mason Street Grill), service and very attentive. Full...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mike16Chicago
DRUSCH_BRANDON, Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Mike for another Great review! It is always great to be able to welcome you back and I thrilled that you were able to enjoy all of the amenities the Pfister Hotel has to offer! We will see you back again soon. Regards, Brandon

La Crosse, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewed 3 February 2015

First time staying downtown Milwaukee and always careful picking an older establishment but these guys got it right. The rooms are truly first rate and clean. Something I look for every time. The layout, service and staff are great! Well done!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wayne O
DRUSCH_BRANDON, Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Wayne! We were thrilled to see that you took time to appreciate the grand building and amenities we offer! The staff takes great pride in the service culture that has been established over the years. I hope to see you back soon! Brandon Drusch

Sugar Grove, Illinois
Reviewed 29 January 2015

Our Pfister experience was totally enjoyable -- from the Blu lounge to Mason St. Grill and the Spa/Salon. The location of the hotel is great also. Once we stepped inside the building we knew we had made the right choice in hotels. The architectural details are stunning and our room was very comfortable. We cannot wait to return for another...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vienna713
DRUSCH_BRANDON, Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review your experience! We too cannot way to have you back!

Reviewed 26 January 2015 via mobile

First, let me say I booked this room 3 days prior to arrival. We arrive for our reservation at 4:10 pm. (Website says check in is at 3:00pm). Our reservation was for a CLUB KING- pre-paid rate at time of booking- NO CANCELLATION. When we are at check-in the woman tells us our room is not ready. She says they...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jkrohn2703
DRUSCH_BRANDON, Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Pfister this past weekend. I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience, and apologize for numerous challenges encountered throughout your stay. Our goal at the Pfister is to exceed each expectation of service and to leave a lasting memory that you will reflect back onto for years. There...

DeForest, Wisconsin
Reviewed 25 January 2015

I wanted to make a special evening for my girlfriend. We put our dogs in doggy day care and decided to go to Milwaukee to spend an evening away from home. I made my reservations online and paid for parking at the hotel online also. When I got to the hotel I went inside to ask where to park my...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank David P
DRUSCH_BRANDON, Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review

David, Please accept my apology for your disappointing stay. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and experience with us. Of course, we are naturally disappointed that your time with us was anything less than perfect. As stated in previous correspondence late last week; I would love to be able to welcome you back for a...

607 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (517)
Viewed
View from Room (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (113)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (120)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (203)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (90)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (11)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 55 in Milwaukee
1,449 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#6 of 55 in Milwaukee
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambassador Hotel
#11 of 55 in Milwaukee
1,375 reviews
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#19 of 55 in Milwaukee
1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Pfister Hotel, built in 1893 has been the premier downtown Milwaukee hotel for over a century, and continues to celebrate a tradition of gracious service and impeccable style. From the moment you arrive, you'll notice the extraordinary architecture, and a welcoming ambiance marked by a priceless Victorian art collection which rivals that of any hotel in the world. The Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee has received accolades as being the best of downtown Milwaukee hotels since it opened. We are proud of our AAA Four-Diamond Award and membership in two of our industry's leading organizations: Historic Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Pfister Hotel

Address: 424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Price Range: ₹ 11,985 - ₹ 18,695 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Pfister Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your The Pfister Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pfister Hotel Milwaukee
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#7 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Pfister Hotel staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from The Pfister Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay in rooms in the older part of the hotel. It is not as modern but much more opulent.”
 of 5 bubbles R0naldN, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a lake view.”
 of 5 bubbles Kittylover, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the old building and spend the extra for the Pfister Club - the breakfasts and evening snacks are worth it!”
  • We spent Valentine's Day at the hotel!
 of 5 bubbles John_JLP9, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“A stay in the historic part of the hotel is great.”
 of 5 bubbles 274randyw, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“high floors facing lake”
 of 5 bubbles mmccoy711, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5