We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Canoe Bay

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chetek
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

241 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Canoe Bay
See the most recent reviews
Showing 240: English reviews
Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We spent 2 nights in this beautiful peaceful resort. Located in the woods on a lake, the facility has many incredible things to offer. Our private room was spacious, inviting and very comfortble. The sheets were so soft and beautiful I had to buy a set fro the shop. Our room was more like a mini condo with fire places,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Meema21
Golden Valley, Minnesota
Reviewed 3 September 2013

It pains me to score this place as average because the grounds are beautiful, the room had every amenity one could wish for and the dinner was excellent. I desperately wanted to return here on a regular basis because the peaceful, natural setting reminds my wife and I of the ryokans in Japan. But I cannot justify spending over $500...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank Paul G
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Adults only! For seclusion, privacy, elegance, the best of meals serving onsite grown vegetables & locally raised prime beef. if we didn't want to see another person for days we didn't have to! this place is truly a couples paradise with an elegant & extravagant cabin located right in the Midwest! Wildlife & a lake view at our back door,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gohde16
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I just wanted to take the time out and say Thank You to all the people at Canoe Bay that made my vacation everything I wanted it to be! First and foremost I would like to start by saying how impressed I was with the service and the amazing "Chef" for all of the wonderful meals that I received while...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jessica G
Iowa City, Iowa, United States
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We felt we were truly escaping our daily stresses the moment we drove down the winding tree lined drive to the well-appointed Canoe Bay Reception Lodge. Although conveniently located near the Lodge and Library, our Dream Cottage felt wonderfully private and peaceful. The cottages appeared inspired by the land featuring elements or natural wood, stone, fire and water. Our every...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gingersnap512
Chicago
Reviewed 31 July 2013

A Relais & Chateaux property, one of the 50 most romantic hotels in the world, etc...Canoe Bay sets itself up for world-class expectations and falls short on food and service. We were there for the 4th of July weekend and were pleasantly surprised with an upgraded room. We originally booked a fireplace room and were one of the Dream Cottages....

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank ChicagoBauer
Rochester, MN
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My husband and I have been coming to Canoe Bay since its beginning, and have the fondest memories of each experience. Seriously, Dan and Lisa have thought of every detail—in aesthetics (the property is gorgeously laid out, with a Frank Lloyd Wright-style waterfall and stream surrounding the Reception area, the loveliest 3-acre organic garden—I want one! I want one!—and fields...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elissa E
Greensboro, NC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We expected a lot out of Canoe Bay when we booked it because it is listed with Relais & Chateaux and it is very expensive. The setting is beautiful and the peace and quiet all that could be expected. We were disappointed in the room, very disappointed in the food and disappointed in the service. There was no one to...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank 50Stater
Lisa D, Owner at Canoe Bay, responded to this review

We are sincerely sorry that this couple was disappointed in their stay. At dinner the first night we were eager to provide a substitute or to re-make their plates immediately upon hearing of their dissatisfaction, but our offers were refused. Regarding alcohol, our website clearly states that we do not serve hard liquor (never have); still, I am sorry that...

Reviewed 26 July 2013

My husband and I just celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary at Canoe Bay. We live in Orange County California and have a lake house in NW Wisconsin. We were looking for a memorable place and we found it. Pleasantly surprised that we were upgraded to a Dream Cottage from the standard room. The cottage was fabulous. First spent 1 1/2...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Skippybeep
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewed 11 July 2013

My husband and I spent three relaxing days and nights at Canoe Bay. We stayed in Unit 10, a Lakeside Spa Cottage. It was close to the Inn, where nightly dining is offered as well as a small study and wi-fi. Our proximity allowed us to connect to the internet and that was an added bonus. But, I digress...a successful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PMwisconsin0103

215 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (193)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
2:13
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chetek
12.8 km away
Americas Best Value Inn Chetek
25.6 km away
Curriers Lakeview Lodge
Curriers Lakeview Lodge
#3 of 8 in Rice Lake
49 reviews
26.0 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rice Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Inn
BEST WESTERN Inn
#1 of 8 in Rice Lake
309 reviews
31.3 km away
Gathering Place Resort & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This resort is for adults seeking seclusion and romance; children are not allowed. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Canoe Bay

Address: W16065 Hogback Rd, RR 1, Box 28, Chetek, WI 54728-9457
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Chetek
Price Range: ₹ 17,503 - ₹ 46,999 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Canoe Bay Chetek
Canoe Bay Hotel Chetek
Canoe Bay Wisconsin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Canoe Bay staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Canoe Bay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Quiet, great views of the lake”
eliseb690, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“#23 was amazing for a couple.”
  • View from the living room at #23 Treetop cottage
christophercP1205ID, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“There appear to be no bad rooms here”
jasoncF3453GN, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask around and see if friends will let you stay at their lake home on a weekend......”
mhgdds, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I doubt if you could find a "bad" room here.”
onceinawhile31, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5