We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Wells Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sistersville
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Wells Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

56 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 56: English reviews
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2016

This was a one-time visit and was my last! My sister had stayed 4 years ago and not much progress has been made on this hotel since then. The owners need to cut their losses and sell. Although their rates are very affordable and include breakfast, it still isn't enough to make me want to stay there again...ever!!! I will... More 

Helpful?
Thank grammy903
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2016 via mobile

In the area visiting family had booked ahead and asked for an updated room but did not get one. When I walked in the lobby was a mess. I did know it was under construction butt it could have looked better under the circumstances. When I saw the room it was actually kind of scary not to mention a few... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank trollop2
aen2009, Manager at The Wells Inn, responded to this review

Trollop (Really?) Regardless, I will use your review for new hire training purposes. It shows what happens when an employee does not do their job as directed. Someone has a bad experience and goes-to-town writing a bad review. That night you stayed we discovered that not all of the rooms that were marked as empty and ready were done before... More 

Travellers are raving about these Sistersville hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2016 via mobile

Charm, friendly staff, under renovation to make it historical great again. Breakfast delicious and included. Pet friendly. Sistersville rich in history Ferry, museum, antique shop. Walk on the brick sidewalks, enjoy the architecture from the 1800's

Helpful?
Thank Anitta N
Bardstown, KY
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2016 via mobile

Okay, first off. It is under renovation, so get over any complaints, you knew it from the beginning. Please know the previous owners striped the hotel of almost everthing of value. Charles is working hard to try and bring it back to its Victorian glamour and at the same time keep it open. My room was so quaint with its... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JaaJaa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2016

Charles, the innkeeper, is fantastic. He and the staff really care about guests. The rooms are comfortable and nicely appointed, and the breakfast is very good. I have stayed at the Wells Inn several times, as I am an academic and travel to the area regularly for research. The hotel has comfortable places for someone who needs to sit and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay S
Burdine, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2016

I was in room 311. the best thing about that job was the hotel. the only thing that kept me there three weeks. I travel across the U.S. working. best deal iv ever ran into. every morning I had a breakfast ready at 5:00 AM. the people working were friendly and seemed to truly care. I give it a easy... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JamesCalhoun
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2015 via mobile

I have stayed at this location a few times now for production on my Independent Film Project. The staff has been amazing and have been nothing short of hospitable and professional. I would recommend this location as an experience of historical value and comfort.

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
Royersford, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2015

The Wells Inn is a laid back atmosphere, located in Sistersville W.V. My wife & I stayed for the first time from December 25, 2010 - January 2, 2011. It was a week for visiting my family. Since then we have visited twice in June 2015. The first visit was an unplanned last minute visit. We didn't have an problem... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank cptmaximum
Glen Burnie, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2015

I knew things were not looking good when we pulled up and there were dead flowers in the window planters outside. Not a good first impression. The lobby area was cluttered and cruddy looking. The elevator rug was filthy and the walls were dirty. We had a room on the 2nd floor at the other end of the hall from... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank citygirl1951
aen2009, Manager at The Wells Inn, responded to this review

You certainly did not see us at our best, and for that I apologize. You will note that we have had several positive reviews in the past few months- which I hope shows that we have been making strides,overall. Turns out my hot water issue was simply a breaker and we had it fixed soon after you left. The last... More 

1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2015 via mobile

Staff was very courteous and accommodated a room immediatly on short notice. Even gave my family a complimentary breakfast while they cleaned the room for us! Everybody was delightful!! The room was very clean and had a great view!

Helpful?
Thank Missy A

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sistersville
18.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites New Martinsville
Holiday Inn Express & Suites New...
#1 of 5 in New Martinsville
25 reviews
17.5 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Martinsville
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham...
#2 of 5 in New Martinsville
17 reviews
10.7 km away
The Orchard Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about The Wells Inn

Address: 316 Charles St, Sistersville, WV 26175-1236
Region: United States > West Virginia > Sistersville
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
The Wells Hotel Sistersville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Wells Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I like third floor for view but all is so unique”
 of 5 bubbles 99juanitah, 13 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Don't choose one period!”
 of 5 bubbles BeccaCOLS, 30 Nov 2014 | Read review
“pitch a tent in the parking lot.”
 of 5 bubbles PittTripScout, 19 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Ask for what you want, and they will try to make you comfortable. We asked for a quiet room. I expect, now that I have stayed, that they are all fairly quiet unless you have a rowdy neighbor.”
 of 5 bubbles HaveTimeWillTravel13, 2 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Try a Sundae at the restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles anthonyw989, 7 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5