We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elkins
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

109 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins
See the most recent reviews
Showing 109: English reviews
Covington, Virginia
Reviewed 21 June 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed three nights in the Rhododendron cabin. It is right on the river and sitting outside listening to the flow of the water at night was extremely peaceful. We found the cabin clean and comfortable and it was a nice feature to have clean towels and trash picked up daily..in other cabins we have stayed at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Traci W
search&rescue, General Manager at Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins, responded to this review

We very much appreciate the time you have taken to write this extensive review. Your review offers the correct impression of our properties and services. We are all about service, but consider your privacy a priority. Many home rentals on these sites, do not have 'staff on duty' as the rental is handled by the individual homeowner. Though much of...

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 14 June 2016

So I will start this with saying it depends on the type of person you are we liked it but could see many people giving up on it right away. The Treehouse is where we stayed and it is very private and across the street from the river which made for great views and the atmosphere we loved. It told...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jfrae
search&rescue, General Manager at Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins, responded to this review

We are sorry that you found certain things about the property unacceptable. I must agree that these are not acceptable. Less than two hours before your scheduled arrival, we discovered that the house had been damaged, leaving it exposed to the outside elements. No doubt this is what contributed to the bug issue & floor dirt that you mention. At...

Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

This is located right in front out the Cheat River just outside of Elkins WV, amazing view... its beautiful...staff was helpful & kind..rate is reasonable & rooms are clean I stay on 201 it's newly renovated...I love sitting out in the rocking chairs provided on the front screened in porch watching the river go by its so peacful..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dominique D
search&rescue, General Manager at Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. We are just finishing up the remodeling on the kitchenettes, and guests are enjoying the new look with those too. Providing peaceful areas to lounge is of great importance to us. For this reason, it is essential that we minimize our presence, this however does not mean we limit our service. To the contrary. We...

New Bern, North Carolina
Reviewed 23 April 2016

My husband and I recently spent one night in the lodge. I rarely give poor reviews and do so now, because of several things. I should have paid more attention to some of the reviews, but we had personal reasons for staying there. The pluses were that the room was comfortable although a bit on the shabby side and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank glasslass1113
search&rescue, General Manager at Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins, responded to this review

We are sorry you were disappointed in the 'basic' king room at our Lodge. I wish you had taken our recommendation for one of the newly remodeled king rooms. But we realized you were looking for something economical as you were there only overnight. Though only a $20/night difference, these rooms are quite different, and soon to be featured in...

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 14 February 2016

We spent Valentines weekend at the house called the "Tree House". We booked last minute, we literally read the agreement on the way in the car. It was a really snowy cold weekend. Checking in was easy. Getting to our cabin in the dark in the snow was an adventure. To enter this cabin you must go up three sets...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jennifer052275
Belington, West Virginia
Reviewed 26 December 2015

Beautiful cabin on the river. Enjoyed the deck and hot tub facing the river. Loved sitting on the deck listening to the river. Wood stove with glass front so we could watch the fire. comfortable furniture and beds with cable TV. Nice Kitchen, thanks for the roaster was great for baking the turkey. Had a great Christmas with my family.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
Reviewed 30 November 2015 via mobile

Love the room very clean, newly remodeled, pet accomadations & lovely rocking chairs on the porch that overlooks the Cheat River...dont forget to checkout Whiskey River for Great Trout or Bellas for the biggest Pork chop you have ever laid a knife into..but last dont forget to drive to Bickels Knob for the most breathtaking view you have ever seen..all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dominique D
Conneautville, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 26 October 2015

Booked this property a month in advance. We had to send a check, money order or cashiers check for one day of our stay 10 days in advance. We have never had to do that any place we ever stayed. I thought to myself okay no big deal. I really like being able to do it through trip advisor. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lyne_23
search&rescue, General Manager at Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins, responded to this review

Though the Swinging Vine did not meet all her expectations, you may find it interesting to know that Southern Living Magazine just 2 weeks earlier had been there for a photo shoot as it will be featured in an upcoming issue. Though opinions differ; they are subjective so as a property owner, all I can do is clarify items that...

Canfield, Ohio, United States
Reviewed 28 August 2015 via mobile

My husband and I were looking for a long weekend of R&R. We had never been to the Elkins area but thought it looked like a place we could relax and hike with our two Boston Terriers. We were so surprised to find the Rhododendron "Rhodie" cabin available for the weekend. This cabin was spectacular, if you love rustic. Opening...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stacy S
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Reviewed 28 August 2015

Took a last minute trip with my sister who has been ill. We decided to stay a night at the Cheat River Lodge as my sister always wanted to stay in a log cabin. I called and told the owners what I was doing and they worked with me for a week to get us set up in one of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Theresa L

103 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elkins
7.5 km away
Isaac Jackson Hotel
Isaac Jackson Hotel
#2 of 8 in Elkins
261 reviews
6.3 km away
Hampton Inn Elkins
Hampton Inn Elkins
#1 of 8 in Elkins
521 reviews
7.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.2 km away
Canaan Valley Resort
6.5 km away
Super 8 Elkins
Super 8 Elkins
#4 of 8 in Elkins
285 reviews
32.1 km away
Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Cheat River Lodge Properties are a privately owned and operated, non-commercial vacation destination on the banks of the Cheat River. Large riverside homes and cabins are available with a private hot tub. Lodge suites are also available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins

Address: Route 1, Elkins, WV 26241-0115
Region: United States > West Virginia > Elkins
Price Range: ₹ 4,124 - ₹ 12,502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Cheat River Lodge And Riverside Cabins Hotel Elkins
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“For the true nature lover”
 of 5 bubbles jimkettren, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“This was a cabin - not a hotel - it had one bedroom with a queen bed and bunks to accommodate two more people”
 of 5 bubbles 756marylua, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“View of the river”
 of 5 bubbles Jennifer052275, 14 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Not a good value for the money spent. Look elsewhere.”
 of 5 bubbles Lyne_23, 26 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Bring fire starter for the wood burning stove.”
  • Another bedroom with cozy atmosphere and bed.
  • Bed rooms with comfortable beds.
 of 5 bubbles theresal735, 27 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5