We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City

PricelineUS$ 57*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 57*
Great Deal
US$ 58*
US$ 58*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

381 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
See the most recent reviews
Showing 379: English reviews
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 19 December 2015 via mobile

Me & My wife came to visit a friend in WV and stumbled across the Red Roof Inn. upon arrival I was greeted by a beautiful young girl who was very helpful, well mannered and fast working, wasn't even in there for 5min.( doesn't usually happen like that). The rooms were nice and clean. Loved everything about it. I will...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tim S
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for the compliments. I will pass them along to my staff. We work hard daily to make sure each guest has a clean room and a friendly welcome.

Welch, West Virginia
Reviewed 15 December 2015 via mobile

Check in was a breeze..wished the water would had been hotter but overall very nice and clean and would stay here again..The nightly price wasnt so bad either..Beds were comfy and room was nice and warm!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank theresa2000_2001
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review! I'm sorry the water wasn't as hot as you prefer. I'll check our boilers to make sure the temperature is where it should be. We believe low price doesn't have to mean low quality. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay!

Morehead City, North Carolina
Reviewed 10 December 2015

Stayed here twice for a "handicap" room on a Thanksgiving trip between IL and NC. The first time I opened the door to the room a wonderful fresh scent of cleanness hit my nose - absolutely fresh no chemical odors. When I stepped in the room, it all but sparkled.with cleanliness. This amazed me so much I left my husband...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Annette S
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review! We believe that low price doesn't have to mean low quality. We strive to make sure every guest every day has a clean and comfortable room.

Kamrar, Iowa
Reviewed 10 December 2015

Nice comfortable room with all the amenities one would expect. Clean, tidy, we had a good nights' sleep. Liked the computer style desk and chair. Only suggestion is that it was a bit hard to find - few directional signs would help. Thank you for working with Better World Club to offer a discount.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maraslos
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We work hard to make sure every guest every day has a clean and comfortable room. We are currently working with the city to try and post some signs by the main road so we can be found easier.

Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Reviewed 9 December 2015 via mobile

We stayed on room 124 which was on the back side of building so we could hear the traffic on ramp and the train in the distance. The room was clean. The bed was comfortable. It was still a good stay for us. The front desk personal were both nice.. Check in and check out. Will most likely be back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DJLH12
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. I'm sorry to hear that the highway noise affected your sleep. At check-in ask for a room on the front side of the building and we will try to accommodate the best we can. So glad to hear that the staff was pleasant and the room clean.

St. Augustine, Florida
Reviewed 8 December 2015

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in the middle of November and it was very clean. Our housekeeper was Kiara Watts and she made sure our room was tidy and spotless. I did not have one complaint. The cleanliness of the room and bathroom was above my standards and I would definitely recommend this location.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brittany S
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thanks for the review and the compliments. Kiara is definitely one of our best housekeepers and we have shared your review with her. We appreciate the recommendation of our inn to others!

Kitchener, ON
Reviewed 8 December 2015 via mobile

We spent a night here while travelling south. The staff were friendly, helpful and went out of there way to make sure we had a great stay. Many thanks to Valerie B the manager who resolved my accidental booking quickly and painlessly. You deliver great service with a genuine smile. We will return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank members2
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank your for the pleasant review. I'm glad to hear we were able to get your booking situation straightened out. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Wayne, Michigan
Reviewed 1 December 2015

Saw the sign about rooms being newly renovated. What a joke ! Hardwood floors were dirty,baseboards dusty, bed covers spotted, room smelled funny. when I pulled the top sheet back there were black hairs all over the sheet. pulled the sheet down further and there was feces, probably from an animal smeared on the bottom sheet. Pillow cases looked like...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank littlerat77
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear of your recent experience. I regret the room was not up to standards. From my research, it looks like the sheets were stained, but cleaned. It should have been discarded instead of being put back into service. My apologies. I can understand your frustration. I will refund the full cost of your room!

Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 December 2015

We started staying here on trips between NC and MI after many times staying at the Motel 6 next door and being repeatedly disappointed with the "no-smoking" rooms having obviously been smoked in. For several years now, we have happily stayed at the Red Roof and found it consistently clean, comfortable, good smelling, and the staff is friendly. Wifi is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ti H
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for the compliment! We work hard to make sure every guest every day has a clean comfortable room at a great price. We look forward to your next visit.

Reviewed 23 November 2015 via mobile

She paid special attention to detail to cleaning the room as before. Plus the room looked nice and fresh. Peep hole don't work but thats not her fault , you can just look out the window. Lol. Rm 110 needs new fridge freezer door but still working ok. All my otr stays have been good here just a little maintenance...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank robert b
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are working hard to make sure our hotel is clean and comfortable for each and every guest. Kiara is certainly one of our best housekeepers and we appreciate the great job she does!

83 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
12.7 km away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
13.5 km away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
9.7 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#6 of 23 in Charleston
326 reviews
8.8 km away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A great 100% Smoke-Free Charleston location, this Red Roof Inn is just minutes from the gold-domed Capitol Building, the Clay Center, the Civic Center, and the University of Charleston. It's an easy 15 minute drive to West Virginia Tech and West Virginia State University as well. The Tri-State Racetrack and Gaming Center is also close to this hotel. This Red Roof has easy access to such outdoor activities as skiing, whitewater rafting, and golf. When you check in, check out the fantastic amenities in our NextGen (R) design rooms! The rooms at this 100% Smoke Free inn feature comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, comfortable seating, and a large, flat-screen TV. This hotel also offers Premium Rooms with our newest renovation package and a welcome snack box in your room! Free WiFi in all rooms. Free coffee and tea available in the lobby. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City

Address: 6305 Maccorkle Ave SE, Charleston, WV 25304-2917
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Price Range: ₹ 3,617 - ₹ 5,103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City Hotel Charleston
Charleston Red Roof Inn
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#8 Business Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't let the surrounding area fool you. This is a quality hotel.”
N6251GUjoeyb, 5 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the premium rooms. A few more dollars is worth the comfort!”
kristenw173, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The king bed rooms are very nice. The interstate is on the back side of the building.”
sheliap699, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Upgrade to "premium room" worth the extra money”
bethanylehmannc, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the highway.”
ERKA2, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$ 57* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 58
Expedia.comUS$ 58
Orbitz.comUS$ 58
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates