We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City

PricelineUS$ 46*
View Deal
09/04/2017 10/04/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 49*
US$ 46*
Great Deal
US$ 49*
US$ 49*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

370 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
See the most recent reviews
Showing 369: English reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

We have stayed here a few times when traveling through the Charleston area. I have no serious complaints. The rooms are always on order and clean. Pricing is right at $56+ tax(military discount). I would probably stay again but do have one concern regarding security. This is not the first time staying here when a significant number of unsavory individuals...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John C
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let other travelers know of your experience at our inn. I'm pleased to hear your room was clean and comfortable. We do have several contractors that stay with us long term. They can be loud at times, but usually keep to themselves. If you ever have concerns while here, feel free to dial...

El Paso, Texas
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

We checked in around 11:00pm after traveling from Ohio. The room was clean. (After all the bad reviews I overly checked). The room didn't smell bad. The air ran well. The bed was a little hard, but for a one night stay, not bad. There were a lot of families staying here when we were here, a couple kids playing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ksparsons10
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and found your room clean and comfortable. We have had some difficulty in housekeeping over the past year but we are starting to turn a corner. We look forward to your next stay with us! Dale Samples General Manager

Waynesfield, Ohio
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

This hotel was clean and comfortable. When we arrived the room a few doors down was out on the deck drinking and I was afraid we might night be able to sleep but inside the rooms it was very quiet and comfortable. The thing I noticed the most was how much the staff cared that we had a good stay....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cheryl G
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review! I'm glad to hear you enjoy our southern hospitality and we were able to help you get your car started. We genuinely want to make sure our guests enjoy their visit! Dale Samples General Manager

Venice, Florida
Reviewed 24 August 2016

The hotel has been updated but they still have internet problems (which has been an ongoing issue with our stays at this hotel over the years)....signal kept dropping, so if internet is important to you this is not the place to stay. This hotel is convenient to the places we need to visit when in Charleston but I see the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hallpau
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and welcome back! I'm sorry to hear that you are experiencing issues with our internet. We have spent several thousand dollars to upgrade our equipment. Sometimes the signal drop can be from our provider if they have a hiccup in their network. As a Netflix/Hulu watcher myself, it is very...

North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Nothing fancy - Needed a place to crash for the night on our way though town. Had a small issue with previous guests's food being left in the mini-fridge. Call to front desk - came and cleaned fridge top to bottom in less than 10 minutes. Ran out of TP and had to go to front desk for more. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I apologize for the housekeepers oversight but I'm glad to hear that our desk staff was able to remedy quickly. We don't have a written checklist, but that is a good suggestion. We look forward to your next visit with us. Sincerely, Dale Samples General Manager

Blandon
Reviewed 9 August 2016

My first red flag should have been the bumpy, pot hole laden drive to the property that sits back off the main road. We were given the keys to our room and upon entering, we were shocked at the smell, the trash at the door that was not emptied, the used, wet towels still in the room from the previous...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank teachna
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear about your recent experience at our inn. The room you received was not acceptable and I apologize it was assigned to a guest. We wash our bedspreads on a regular cycle and currently in the process of phasing the ones out that aren't coming as clean as they need to be. With the recent closing of...

North Carolina
Reviewed 8 August 2016

I ended up staying at 3 different Red Roof's during the month of July. (NC, WV & VA) This location is the worst of those!!! I was on a road trip and this area was the half way point. Decided to stop driving at 11:30pm. There were 2 other people trying to check in at the same time so it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CamaroNC94
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear about your recent experience at our inn. You are welcome to contact me at 304.925.6953 or email to discuss your stay. Dale Samples General Manager

Toledo, Ohio
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Shady folks hanging around the lot...Loud trucks parked near the room....repair men had the toilet from the room next door , on the sidewalk....no coffee , only an office chair in room...loud air conditioner....won't be back to this place.....plus , hard to find..no signs at driveway....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear our inn did not meet your expectations. We are constantly trying to improve so while the toilet outside is certainly unsightly, it was temporary to replace one that did not meet our standards. We have coffee available in the lobby, while our superior king and premium rooms have in-room coffee makers. I hope you will give...

Elkin, North Carolina
Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

The rooms were clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. Close to a lot of places to eat and no hassle if you are traveling with pets. The major flaw is that the entrance to the hotel parking lot is unmarked. Turn at the motel 6 sign, go around O'Reillys to a very broken parking lot. Seriously, there are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MelissaD1010
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We can be difficult to locate and currently we are trying to work out a solution with the city to allow signs posted at the main entrance to point guests our way. I'm pleased to hear that you found the room clean and the staff friendly. We look forward to your next visit with us!...

Elkins, West Virginia, United States
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Our room was clean and the linens and bedspread were fine. The staff was very nice and helpful. The area of town that the hotel is located in is not the best, but we felt safe in our room. The hotel is much improved since I stayed in it a few years ago. It is a fine hotel for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth T
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad to see that you noticed an improvement. We are constantly working to make the changes necessary so our guests have a clean and comfortable room each time they stay with us. Dale Samples General Manager

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
09/04/2017 10/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
12.7 km away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
7.9 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 km away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
8.1 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A great 100% Smoke-Free Charleston location, this Red Roof Inn is just minutes from the gold-domed Capitol Building, the Clay Center, the Civic Center, and the University of Charleston. It's an easy 15 minute drive to West Virginia Tech and West Virginia State University as well. The Tri-State Racetrack and Gaming Center is also close to this hotel. This Red Roof has easy access to such outdoor activities as skiing, whitewater rafting, and golf. When you check in, check out the fantastic amenities in our NextGen (R) design rooms! The rooms at this 100% Smoke Free inn feature comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, comfortable seating, and a large, flat-screen TV. This hotel also offers Premium Rooms with our newest renovation package and a welcome snack box in your room! Free WiFi in all rooms. Free coffee and tea available in the lobby. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City

Address: 6305 Maccorkle Ave SE, Charleston, WV 25304-2917
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Price Range: ₹ 3,338 - ₹ 4,909 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City Hotel Charleston
Charleston Red Roof Inn
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for the premium rooms. A few more dollars is worth the comfort!”
 of 5 bubbles kristenw173, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The king bed rooms are very nice. The interstate is on the back side of the building.”
 of 5 bubbles sheliap699, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Upgrade to "premium room" worth the extra money”
 of 5 bubbles bethanylehmannc, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the highway.”
 of 5 bubbles ERKA2, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles W1906PNmichelled, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$ 46* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$ 49
Orbitz.comUS$ 49
Hotels.com
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates