We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

370 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
See the most recent reviews
Showing 369: English reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2015 via mobile

Where do I begin - given a room - went to the room and surprise someone else is in the room - went to the office was given another room - went in tired ready to just go to bed and pulled the sheets back and several pieces of course black hair and other black crumbs on the bed -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Winnerfamily
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Hi, I'm sorry to hear about your recent stay at our property. That is quite frustrating just to read and unacceptable that you had to experience all the problems. I came to the property in late August to turn things around and we are in the process of ironing out the wrinkles. If you will contact me via email at...

Toledo, Ohio
Reviewed 6 October 2015

We were hoping for a clean comfortable room at a reasonable price. While the price was reasonable the smell of the room and the stains on the comforter caused us to leave before resting. It would appear that Red Roof Inns do not have the same standards any longer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank par2447
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Hello! I'm sorry to hear that the room did not meet your expectations. I can assure you Red Roof has not gone lax on their standards. I came to the property in late August to turn things around and we are in the process of improving our inn daily. I hope you will give us another chance. If you will...

Kentucky
Reviewed 4 October 2015

This place probably deserves a 2 1/2 -3 star overall. However, I gave it a one because the current rating of 4 is an overrating. The room overall was clean, but there was 2 big stains on the comforter. Our main complaint both days was the shower being cold. I thought maybe it was a fluke on day one, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Hello! I'm sorry to hear that the inn did not meet your expectations. I know cold showers are no fun! The issue has been fixed. One of two boilers went off-line so we were running at half-capacity on our hot water. Please feel free to contact me. I would like to make your stay right. We are in the process...

Willow Springs, Missouri
Reviewed 21 September 2015

Very Clean room. Good Air Conditioning. Comfortable king sized bed. Friendly Staff.Shower had excellent pressure and room was quiet.(and we were facing the freeway). Hotel is tucked away in an odd spot behind Wendy's but was easy to find.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chiett
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to post a review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay!

Reviewed 8 September 2015

Newly refurbished room with a super friendly staff, led by Valerie Booker, this hotel is in a great location; middle of town, lots of places to eat of all types and prices, and shopping just down the street.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kenin S
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed our convenient location and our friendly staff. We believe that low rate doesn't have to equal low quality! Hope to have you as our guest again next time you are in town! Dale Samples, GM

Chicago, IL
Reviewed 3 September 2015

Room was clean and fine but just a few annoying noises such as the air-conditioning and noisy toilet. When mentioned to Valerie Booker at the front desk as we were checking out, she noted that for maintenance and discounted our room. That was quite a surprise - a good one! We travel with our dog and she was welcomed. Thank...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ch64088
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback. I, along with all the staff, are new at the property so we are in the process of fine-tuning everything. I'm sorry that there were some annoyances but I'm glad to hear that Valerie took care of you. Did you know furry friends stay free at...

Reviewed 2 September 2015 via mobile

Passing through Charleston I stayed in the Red Roof Inn and the attended Niya, had amazing customer service. The room was nice and clean, Oh! And the the pillows were soft. The Red Roof in Charleston was a nice stay. I would stay there again if I had to crash.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ddhudson
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. I'm pleased to hear that Niya provided amazing customer service. I will share this review with her. It is great to hear that you found the room clean and your stay was comfortable. We are working hard every day to make our Inn a preferred stop for travelers when passing...

Chesterfield, Indiana
Reviewed 28 August 2015

Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was extremely clean and smelled clean. Non smoking rooms are new and pleasant. Refrigerator and microwave in room really useful. Well lighted parking area.. Dandrea Saunders was very pleasant at check out. Greeted by two very pleasant women upon arrival.. Loved the mountain view and the highway tucked inside the mountain out back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dreama C
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that the staff was friendly and welcoming. The mountains are always beautiful in the fall. You should plan a trip to enjoy the fall foliage! Dale Samples, GM

Reviewed 27 August 2015

I have been trying to get in touch with the manager, Mr. Miller, for two weeks about an issue with our stay in August. I have called 4 times and have not once been able to speak with him. The room was comfortable and clean. I would not stay here again as I am disappointed with the lack of service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our inn. I'm very sorry that you had an issue while you were with us. Mr. Miller was the interim manager until I was able to takeover. Please contact me so I can make your stay right. Dale Samples, GM

Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Reviewed 24 August 2015

Very clean room. Very friendly service, and very helpful. Everything was in good working order.Read the reviews and didnt experience any of the negatives from other posts. Would I stay here again? DEFINITELY.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tracy C
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I'm glad to hear that your staff was pleasant. We have been working hard to make sure our Inn meets the high standards held by Red Roof and our guests. Dale Samples, GM

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
12.7 km away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
7.9 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 km away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City
8.1 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A great 100% Smoke-Free Charleston location, this Red Roof Inn is just minutes from the gold-domed Capitol Building, the Clay Center, the Civic Center, and the University of Charleston. It's an easy 15 minute drive to West Virginia Tech and West Virginia State University as well. The Tri-State Racetrack and Gaming Center is also close to this hotel. This Red Roof has easy access to such outdoor activities as skiing, whitewater rafting, and golf. When you check in, check out the fantastic amenities in our NextGen (R) design rooms! The rooms at this 100% Smoke Free inn feature comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, comfortable seating, and a large, flat-screen TV. This hotel also offers Premium Rooms with our newest renovation package and a welcome snack box in your room! Free WiFi in all rooms. Free coffee and tea available in the lobby. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City

Address: 6305 Maccorkle Ave SE, Charleston, WV 25304-2917
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Price Range: ₹ 3,322 - ₹ 4,885 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City Hotel Charleston
Charleston Red Roof Inn
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for the premium rooms. A few more dollars is worth the comfort!”
 of 5 bubbles kristenw173, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The king bed rooms are very nice. The interstate is on the back side of the building.”
 of 5 bubbles sheliap699, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Upgrade to "premium room" worth the extra money”
 of 5 bubbles bethanylehmannc, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the highway.”
 of 5 bubbles ERKA2, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles W1906PNmichelled, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5