We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

365 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
See the most recent reviews
Showing 364: English reviews
Banner Elk NC
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Stayed here for a quick getaway to Ohio. Lets just say that a lot of construction workers use this hotel, which is fine, nothing against construction workers, my son is one so I am aware that this is their home away from home. There were overflowing trash cans, cigarette butts on the grounds and the room smelled of cigarette smoke...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank admepa
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry we dropped the ball and our grounds were not as clean as they should be. I hope you will give us another chance to make a better impression on your next stop in our area. Dale Samples General Manager

21767
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Spent Friday night there and the room was ok but some guests party'd all night. Someone must not have liked what they served because they left it on the entrance steps, if you know what I mean. We did complain to the front desk when we checed out and they said it was some locals & they would look into...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kummzz
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

I apologize that other guests disturbed you. Please feel free to dial the front desk at anytime during your stay and we could have resolved the issue so you would have been able to get some rest. We respect guest privacy so we are unable to determine what type of party was going on but we have zero tolerance for...

Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

I stayed here on 9/21 - 9/22. The worst place ever. The night clerk said the room was clean. There was a smell of fog, torn carpet, flys and bugs and spiders, sticky floors, stains and holes on comforter. I have pics of it all. The next morning the maintenance worker said she should not have given us that room....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ori B
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

I apologize for the clerical oversight. The out of order hold expired and was inadvertently rented. We did refund the full cost of your room and issue a certificate for a free night stay at any Red Roof nationwide. Dale Samples General Manager

Michigan
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

Our room was small but clean and functional. It appeared to be newly remodeled with hardwood floors, a fresh coat of paint and spotless bathroom fixtures. We asked for a room on the side not facing the West Virginia Turnpike. It was quiet, but it also was a Sunday night. There are numerous restaurants within a half mile including Cracker...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 43rdParallel
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Our goal is every guest find a clean, comfortable room and greeted by a friendly smile. We look forward to your next visit with us! Dale Samples General Manager

Berryville, Virginia
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

This is the Kanawha City/ Charleston West Virginia location. The price was reasonable, the mattresses were good and the air conditioning worked well. The room was clean. It was very convenient for stopovers on the way to Virginia or Kentucky.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and the room was clean and comfortable. We look forward to your next visit with us! Dale Samples General Manager

Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

We have stayed here a few times when traveling through the Charleston area. I have no serious complaints. The rooms are always on order and clean. Pricing is right at $56+ tax(military discount). I would probably stay again but do have one concern regarding security. This is not the first time staying here when a significant number of unsavory individuals...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John C
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let other travelers know of your experience at our inn. I'm pleased to hear your room was clean and comfortable. We do have several contractors that stay with us long term. They can be loud at times, but usually keep to themselves. If you ever have concerns while here, feel free to dial...

El Paso, Texas
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

We checked in around 11:00pm after traveling from Ohio. The room was clean. (After all the bad reviews I overly checked). The room didn't smell bad. The air ran well. The bed was a little hard, but for a one night stay, not bad. There were a lot of families staying here when we were here, a couple kids playing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ksparsons10
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and found your room clean and comfortable. We have had some difficulty in housekeeping over the past year but we are starting to turn a corner. We look forward to your next stay with us! Dale Samples General Manager

Waynesfield, Ohio
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

This hotel was clean and comfortable. When we arrived the room a few doors down was out on the deck drinking and I was afraid we might night be able to sleep but inside the rooms it was very quiet and comfortable. The thing I noticed the most was how much the staff cared that we had a good stay....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cheryl G
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review! I'm glad to hear you enjoy our southern hospitality and we were able to help you get your car started. We genuinely want to make sure our guests enjoy their visit! Dale Samples General Manager

Venice, Florida
Reviewed 24 August 2016

The hotel has been updated but they still have internet problems (which has been an ongoing issue with our stays at this hotel over the years)....signal kept dropping, so if internet is important to you this is not the place to stay. This hotel is convenient to the places we need to visit when in Charleston but I see the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hallpau
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and welcome back! I'm sorry to hear that you are experiencing issues with our internet. We have spent several thousand dollars to upgrade our equipment. Sometimes the signal drop can be from our provider if they have a hiccup in their network. As a Netflix/Hulu watcher myself, it is very...

North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Nothing fancy - Needed a place to crash for the night on our way though town. Had a small issue with previous guests's food being left in the mini-fridge. Call to front desk - came and cleaned fridge top to bottom in less than 10 minutes. Ran out of TP and had to go to front desk for more. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I apologize for the housekeepers oversight but I'm glad to hear that our desk staff was able to remedy quickly. We don't have a written checklist, but that is a good suggestion. We look forward to your next visit with us. Sincerely, Dale Samples General Manager

81 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
9.7 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#3 of 23 in Charleston
319 reviews
13.5 km away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
Charleston Capitol Hotel
Charleston Capitol Hotel
#16 of 23 in Charleston
205 reviews
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City
8.0 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A great 100% Smoke-Free Charleston location, this Red Roof Inn is just minutes from the gold-domed Capitol Building, the Clay Center, the Civic Center, and the University of Charleston. It's an easy 15 minute drive to West Virginia Tech and West Virginia State University as well. The Tri-State Racetrack and Gaming Center is also close to this hotel. This Red Roof has easy access to such outdoor activities as skiing, whitewater rafting, and golf. When you check in, check out the fantastic amenities in our NextGen (R) design rooms! The rooms at this 100% Smoke Free inn feature comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, comfortable seating, and a large, flat-screen TV. This hotel also offers Premium Rooms with our newest renovation package and a welcome snack box in your room! Free WiFi in all rooms. Free coffee and tea available in the lobby. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City

Address: 6305 Maccorkle Ave SE, Charleston, WV 25304-2917
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Price Range: ₹ 3,394 - ₹ 4,616 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City Hotel Charleston
Charleston Red Roof Inn
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The king bed rooms are very nice. The interstate is on the back side of the building.”
 of 5 bubbles sheliap699, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Upgrade to "premium room" worth the extra money”
 of 5 bubbles bethanylehmannc, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the highway.”
 of 5 bubbles ERKA2, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles W1906PNmichelled, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Guests in the back of hotel, drinking and smoking. Choose a front room.”
 of 5 bubbles DianeRyd, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay