We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Smoke Hole Caverns & Log Cabin Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cabins
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Smoke Hole Caverns & Log Cabin Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

400 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 400: English reviews
Start your review of Smoke Hole Caverns & Log Cabin Resort
 Click to rate
Princeton, West Virginia, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have been a lover of caverns all my life. This one was just as beautiful as any I had seen. Unfortunately, the tour guide did not want to be there. He was rude to the customers and was just basically a jerk the whole time. It would've been perfect if we were just allowed to silently go through and...

Thank Rick-n-Jenn
Smoke_Hole_Resort, Owner at Smoke Hole Caverns & Log Cabin Resort, responded to this review

I am very disappointed in the representation of our tour guide. This is not what we preach and would have very much appreciated if it were brought to my attention the day of your visit. I have only a few boys and may be able to narrow it down but I would like this review to be a learning tool...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped by smoke hole caverns and was really informative, we had a great time on the tour as well eating there, everyone was so friendly and made us feel really welcomed, we ordered food at the store as well shop for souvenirs and used their facilities, extremely clean.

Thank Lisbeth T
North Myrtle Be
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We even got to use a special for the cabins and ended up paying less than we would have for a crappy hotel in Elkins! Awesome! We had the cabin by the brook- sooo relaxing and could see every star in the sky at night! Plus we woke up to fresh snow one morning :-)

Thank Korinne A
Reviewed 26 January 2017

All around great room and great time. Stayed in winter and it was great. Sure enough it's even better in summer.plenty of scenic views and places to either swim, fish, or hike. There are a lot of attractions near by as well.

Thank William C
Wheeling, West Virginia
Reviewed 17 January 2017

while driving around we stumbled upon the caverns and decided to take the tour. They were just about to take a group in when we got there and they were nice enough to hold them up so we could join. The staff was very knowledgeable and it was a very nice cavern.

Thank Klynn47
Reviewed 6 December 2016

We stayed at a honeymoon cabin during the first weekend of December 2016. It was an incredible downtime vacation. Just what the doctor ordered. We needed some rest and relaxation and we got it. The slow pace of the area combined with some of the local eateries (other reviews) were incredible. We had a wonderful time at the cabin. We...

Thank Robert C
Phillipsburg, New Jersey
Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

My family stayed here for two nights over the Thanksgiving holiday. We stayed in the family cabin. It was very spacious and clean. It had everything as advertised, stove, refrigerator, microwave, and fully equipped kitchen. We will definitely be back when it warms up to enjoy the firepits and picnic areas.

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 15 November 2016

Overall my stay was good here but I was extremely turned off by the manager. I did not catch her name but she was very rude to her employees when we checked in. Once we checked out there was a mysterious $100 charge on the account. When we called she rudely informed us it was for smoking. We do not...

1Thank Erin F
Columbia, Maryland
Reviewed 15 November 2016

We needed lodging for six and the cabin was the perfect size. We had a wonderful time roasting marshmallows over the fire in the fireplace, fixing breakfast in the full kitchen and spending time with family. Great destination for a family get together.

Thank denaspepsi
Washington, DC
Reviewed 2 November 2016

We rented a honeymoon cabin for two nights and enjoyed our stay. Everything was very clean and tidy. Staff were helpful. It was a little pricey compared to other options in the area but it is appears to be a nicer option.


262 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (218)
Room/Suite (44)
Family/Play Areas (10)
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Bathroom (3)
View from Room (17)
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Dining (1)
Other (100)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (44)
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Room/Suite (7)
Family/Play Areas (5)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabins
17.7 km away
Canaan Valley Resort
23.7 km away
Alpine Lodge
Alpine Lodge
#2 of 2 in Davis
52 reviews
3.2 km away
Harman's Luxury Log Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 km away
Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge
17.1 km away
Canaan Village Inn
Canaan Village Inn
#1 of 7 in Davis
77 reviews
39.9 km away
Lost River Bed & Breakfast
Lost River Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 3 in Lost River
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our resort property starts out with Smoke Hole Caverns, the brand new gift shop, the main office, and our log motel being located on the same property. As you travel 2 miles north you will see separated the Smoke Hole Log Cabin Resort area and the Smoke Hole Cottage area. Both groups of cabins our located on their private properties and offer a simply gorgeous rural retreat to the Appalachian Mountains. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Smoke Hole Caverns & Log Cabin Resort

Address: 8290 N Fork Hwy, Cabins, WV 26855
Region: United States > West Virginia > Cabins
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Smoke Hole Caverns & Log Cabin Hotel Seneca Rocks
Smoke Hole Caverns And Log Cabin Resort
Smoke Hole Family Log Hotel
Smoke Hole Family Log Motel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Smoke Hole Caverns & Log Cabin Resort staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Morgantown, West Virginia

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Smoke Hole Caverns & Log Cabin Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Clean and Quite”
 of 5 bubbles , 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Bring a hair dryer.”
 of 5 bubbles marann7, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“While they do say wifi is available, IT DOES NOT WORK. Your in the mountains so dont expect it and you wont be disappointed.”
 of 5 bubbles E8702IElisac, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“This is a house that just needs food, everything else is provided.”
 of 5 bubbles 322debbiet, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Hotel rooms had a lot of traffic noise but the cabins/cottages were much quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles cassieb416, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5