We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
8203 South Hosmer Street, Tacoma, WA 98408-1044
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Price Match Guarantee
Expedia.com
$131
View deal
Booking.com
$131
View deal
Trip.com
$129
View deal
Priceline$132
Travelocity$131
Traveluro$139
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (68)
Room & Suite (166)
Pool & Beach (31)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from Hampton Inn & Suites Tacoma-Mall
Updated 14/04/22

About

#6 of 31 in Tacoma
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Hampton Inn & Suites Tacoma South is located off Interstate 5 south of downtown Tacoma, Tacoma Dome and near the Tacoma Mall. The Hampton Inn & Suites Tacoma hotel is conveniently situated between the lively city of Seattle and the splendid state capital of Olympia. The Hampton Inn & Suites Tacoma South features 146 rooms and suites with onsite meeting space. The hotel is just minutes from the new Tacoma Convention Center and local government offices as well as Fort Lewis and McChord Air Force Base. Guests of the Hampton Inn & Suites Tacoma South can enjoy Mt. Rainier, Puget Sound, Point Defiance Zoo and Aquarium, Fort Nisqually and the fishing village of Gig Harbor, which is just across the Narrows Bridge. Art and entertainment lovers will never be bored with the world famous artist Dale Chihuly's glass art bridge, the Tacoma Glass Museum or the Washington State Historical Museum all located minutes from the hotel.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Street parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Convenience store
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Iron
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee

Location

Full view
45Car recommended
Grade: 45 out of 100
20Restaurantswithin 1 km
1Attractionwithin 1 km
859Reviews7Q+A60Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 433
  • 245
  • 83
  • 50
  • 48
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Mark T wrote a review Mar 2022
Provo, Utah88 contributions49 helpful votes
I'm sure the staff is doing the best that it can with what it has, but this Hampton is subpar. 1. The area is not safe. I watched drug transactions at a homeless encampment on the edge of the property. Washington had a myriad of problems, but the homeless drug addiction issue is everywhere. Unfortunately it is on edge of this property/parking lot. The parking lot is monitored by cameras, but the trash on the edge of the property and in the parking lot seem to be treated as acceptable. Vehicles parked on the property are prone to break in . Never saw an employee walking the lot or picking up the trash. It stayed in and around the cars for days. It lends to a feeling that no one cares. 2. The attitude that no one cares extends to the Hotel itself. Due to short staffing, you are required to request that your room is serviced during your stay. We were there for four nights. We requested the room be serviced twice. It was serviced one of those two requests. That may be just a fact of life due to the lack of personnel available, but it is unacceptable customer service. 3. The general appearance of the hotel makes it look run down. Mattresses left propped up against the wall at the end of our hallway on the third floor. Hampton used to use stickers on their door frames so you would break the seal as you walked it to know the room was clean. The remnants of those stickers are on every door frame. They have never been cleaned up. The blinds in our room did not work. Between the trash outside and the general condition inside, it feels like the management just does not care. The lack of pride in ownership and customer service are a general feeling that you get after staying here. Drug traffic and trash outside. Things not being taken care of inside. It all starts to pile up and we were ready to leave and not come back. There were other things that all have to do with being HiltonHonors members that I will not address here. There are other Hamptons in the area. Pick a different one.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
ProfLonghair wrote a review Jun 2021
Tacoma, Washington236 contributions107 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
We stayed here during record high temperatures. Great air conditioning. The housekeeping workers were working so hard. Thank you! Clean, cold rooms. Friendly check in. Secure parking. Breakfast was limited during these times, but to be expected. Give everyone a raise. Thanks.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hampton Inn Tacoma, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tacoma-Mall
Responded 24 Jan 2022
Thank you so much for your kind words. We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us! We count ourselves lucky for customers like you. We look forward to seeing you back again!
Read more
NomeMan wrote a review Feb 2022
Juneau, Alaska386 contributions165 helpful votes
Hotel is in a super sketchy neighborhood with a LOT of vagrants around. I asked specifically on check-in about break-ins at their lot and they wouldn’t give me a straight answer. Turns out another car in the lot got broken into overnight while we were there. I was not impressed with the customer service and the room was tired and dingy. The desk “chair” was just a worn out banquet room chair. Odd smell too. Breakfast was literally inedible—disgusting. This hotel does NOTl live up to the Hilton name. No way would I stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Troy G wrote a review Feb 2022
Vancouver, Washington53 contributions23 helpful votes
During check in, the staff was very nice and professional. I got my room and when I opened the door, it smelled like someone just smoked pot in there (GROSS). I was in the area for work and if I would've showed up at my office smelling like that, it could've cost me my job. I had to go back down to the check in counter to get another room. The nice lady was very apologetic, but she shouldn't have had to be put in that position in the first place. There should be some sort of quality control standards in place so they can provide clean rooms with confidence. Parking spaces are not large vehicle friendly. I drive a full-sized pickup, staying inside the lines, other vehicles were so close, it was difficult to open the doors. Homeless are camped along the road right outside the fence, bringing safety into concern. LOCK your vehicle and don't leave anything of value in it!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Anni wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
If you don't mind being woke up by the crack heads in the RV and tents parked right outside the building to the left of the entrance by yelling and loud obnoxious music, then be my guest. Unfortunately I had to endure 2 miserable nights in hopes the 2nd night wouldn't have the same problem as the first. But sure enough come 2 am!! The rooms were decent and seemed clean for the most part besides the men's shavings left on the top counter in the bathroom. Breakfast was OK but picked over and not much left by 9:30. Definitely won't be coming back to this location.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
jennandcjhodgin wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We just wanted to get away from the kids for the night and relax and have dinner. The rooms were great for the price and the front desk attendants were very polite. It’s just the fact that there is literally a homeless encampment out front. We are from Tacoma so it didn’t surprise us, but if we were traveling from out of town that definitely would have been a deal breaker.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
TenaciousPanda wrote a review Jan 2022
Shelton, Washington1 contribution1 helpful vote
The beds were extremely uncomfortable, and the floors were dirty and you could hear everything from the other rooms. The breakfast was basic and they containers they had to hold the food were so small that when two people grabbed food, the food was gone. Took 15 minutes for them to replenish the containers.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hampton Inn Tacoma, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tacoma-Mall
Responded 24 Jan 2022
I want to thank you for your rating. It is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We appreciate your business, and we hope to see you back soon!
Read more
larryhaygood1 wrote a review Jan 2022
Stanfield, North Carolina1 contribution1 helpful vote
Worse Hampton inn hotel I have stayed. I have traveled a lot and stayed in many Hilton hotels. I was shocked by the quality of the hotel. Location shady, room didn’t look clean. I wouldn’t recommend this hotel.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hampton Inn Tacoma, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tacoma-Mall
Responded 24 Jan 2022
I want to thank you for your rating. It is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We appreciate your business, and we hope to see you back soon!
Read more
Freedom30018081079 wrote a review Jan 2022
Wasilla, Alaska3 contributions
Place was nice and clean. Had to use key card to get in anywhere, including using elevator which I liked for safety! Room was very spacious and clean. Breakfast had lots of options and was good fresh food! Would definitely stay again!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Hampton Inn Tacoma, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tacoma-Mall
Responded 24 Jan 2022
Thank you so much for your kind words. We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us! We count ourselves lucky for customers like you. We look forward to seeing you back again!
Read more
Ravagesavage777779 wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The location is horrible. It’s in a horrible location. There are homeless people camped outside the hotel gate. The breakfast is horrible. The coffee was always lukewarm. The pool and hot tub are nasty.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hampton Inn Tacoma, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tacoma-Mall
Responded 24 Jan 2022
I want to thank you for your rating. It is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We appreciate your business, and we hope to see you back soon!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$121 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hampton inn & suites tacoma-mall hotel tacoma, hampton inn and suites tacoma-mall, hampton inn tacoma, tacoma hampton inn
LOCATION
United StatesWashingtonTacoma
NUMBER OF ROOMS
146
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hampton Inn & Suites Tacoma-Mall
Which popular attractions are close to Hampton Inn & Suites Tacoma-Mall?
Nearby attractions include Regal Lakewood Stadium 15 & RPX (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hampton Inn & Suites Tacoma-Mall?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Hampton Inn & Suites Tacoma-Mall?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hampton Inn & Suites Tacoma-Mall?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hampton Inn & Suites Tacoma-Mall?
Conveniently located restaurants include Elmer's Restaurant - Tacoma, Red Lobster, and Famous Dave's Bar-B-Que.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hampton Inn & Suites Tacoma-Mall?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hampton Inn & Suites Tacoma-Mall?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Hampton Inn & Suites Tacoma-Mall offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Hampton Inn & Suites Tacoma-Mall?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Lakewold Gardens (6.9 km), Tacoma Armory (7.9 km), and Our Lady of the Holy Rosary Church (5.9 km).
Is Hampton Inn & Suites Tacoma-Mall accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.