We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Econo Lodge

PricelineUS$ 62*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 64*
US$ 62*
Great Deal
US$ 64*
US$ 63*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Econo Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

72 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 70: English reviews
Start your review of Econo Lodge
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is a run down lodge, dirty stairs, cigarettes butts all over the place, rooms too heavy to air freshener to cover the pungent or smoke cigarette smell. Breakfast not exactly shown on the photos. Coffee and juice, cereal and milk, toast , butter, jam and cream cheese. That's it, no cold water nor hot water for tea. Rooms are...

Thank Rolando P
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I booked this hotel now over two weekends ago, so that I would not have to drive home late at night, and though I was expecting it to be bad, it wasn't. There was a king sized bed and it had a fridge in there as well. It was really clean and I slept peacefully. I did not have a...

Thank April B
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Took family to swim and pool was closed. Think they could have told me this before I booked two nights. Staff was rude. Rooms were raunchy. Would not recommend this place to anyone. Lots of other cheap places in area. Stay away.

Thank Kelly P
Reviewed 23 March 2017

I checked in around 5:00 p.m. on a Saturday and my friends and I dropped our bags in the room as we were planning on leaving for the show at the Tacoma Dome right away. I first noticed something was wrong with the room when we each went to use the bathroom and the lock on the bathroom door was...

4Thank Joshua K
General M, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Joshua, On behalf of our entire staff, I want to apologize for the experience you had at our property. First off, I want to thank you for pointing out your troubles so we can correct our flaws. We truly value each guest's opinion of our property. Because of our recent reviews, we are taking immediate action in making sure the...

Englewood, Florida
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Had we not been so exhausted, we would have checked out immediately: upon check in we found the bathroom we still dirty from the previous guest, the sheets on the bed were still dirty, as was the rest of the room. There was still food in the fridge. Maid service was called in (about 8 pm) & we were given...

1Thank candidhoney
Everett, Washington
Reviewed 30 January 2017

The hotel was fine for as cheap as it was. Location is good for eating and shopping but looks and seems a little shady in the area. Lots of hotels around it so might just be the area. I would recommend for a quick sleep on your way through it you need a place to stay.

Thank Marknjacki
General M, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Marknjacki. We hope to see you soon! -Econolodge Management

Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

I chose this Lodge coming from Montana it said the pool the gym and the hot tub was included also breakfast I needed these amenities for health reasons including the breakfast there was no hot tub no gym no pool and the breakfast was just wrapped up butter horns and orange juice a loaf of bread and a toaster I...

1Thank Wendy P
Northfield, Illinois
Reviewed 5 September 2016

My mistake to pull up to the first hotel sign, after a long ride in the rain. First hint of a trouble was to pay a $100 deposit in case of a damaging the room. Room itself with missing cabinet doors under the TV, head board from the bed detached with nails sticking out above. Security guard banging at my...

1Thank Ted S
Quality I, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and giving us a review about your recent stay experience at our property. On behalf of the whole staff I want to extend our apologies for the issues and inconveniences that you experienced while staying with us. We recently changed management administration and we are doing everything we can to get our rooms and...

San Diego
Reviewed 22 August 2016

The staff was alright but other than that the entire experience was awful from the minute we got our room key. The room incredibly dirty (stains on the carpet & bed cover to cigarette butts on the floor in a non-smoking room to the latch being broken on the door). We also saw what appeared as a prostitute and her...

2Thank S C
Quality I, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, guest satisfaction is our main priority, all reviews help us to better our hotel, staff and grounds. Allow me to apologize on behalf of the entire team for the issues and inconveniences that you experienced while staying with us. We are under new management now and we are doing...

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 21 August 2016

When a customer walks in the door they want to be greeted and acknowledged. When it is 102 degrees out and we are expecting a pool, the handwritten sign on the desk saying it's broken is disappointing. When we lock our door at night we want the security lock to work. Mattress pads would be nice. Pay and appreciate your...

Thank Elizabeth R
Quality I, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time to give us a review and rate us, we really appreciate it since all of these reviews help us know better what is going on in our property and make us fix issues and get better. Customer Satisfaction is our main priority. On behalf of the whole staff we would like to apologize for...

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (32)
Room/Suite (4)
Bathroom (5)
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (10)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Room/Suite (2)
View from Room (2)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Dining (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tacoma
0.1 km away
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Tacoma Near McChord AFB
0.1 km away
Crossland Economy Studios - Tacoma - Hosmer
0.1 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 28 in Tacoma
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Red Lion Hotel Tacoma
Red Lion Hotel Tacoma
#15 of 28 in Tacoma
371 reviews
0.3 km away
Comfort Inn Tacoma - Seattle
3.1 km away
Americas Best Value Inn Seattle / Tacoma near JBLM Base
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This Tacoma, Washington motel features an indoor pool and free WiFi access. Point Defiance Zoo and Aquarium is 18 minutes' drive away. A daily continental breakfast is provided. A flat-screen cable TV, a microwave and a refrigerator are offered in every air-conditioned room at Econo Lodge Tacoma. Free toiletries are also included. A fitness center and hot tub are offered at Econo Lodge Tacoma. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 8820 S Hosmer Street, Building B, Tacoma, WA 98444-1839 (Formerly King Oscar Motel Tacoma)
Region: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Price Range: ₹ 3,435 - ₹ 5,444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Econo Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Oscar Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Econo Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check the room before you get it. My friend stayed in a better room than us.”
rolandop370, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“Confirm that you actually have a reservation as they will book you and once you arrive tell you different.”
aprilj959, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Avoid this hotel at all costs!”
joshuak761, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else; Inconsistent customer service and the rooms are sub-standard.”
  • light fixtures are quite dirty
  • soap, dirt and hair left in the tub drain from previous guest
  • upholstered chair is filthy, burned and disgusting
candidhoney, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Find another place”
420teds, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
US$ 62* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 64
TravelocityUS$ 63
EconoLodgeUS$ 63
View all 9 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates