We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Ruby

Show Prices
#12 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Ruby
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

812 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 799: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Ruby
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed there for three nights in the summer. Not much of a breakfast but a friendly atmosphere. It feels a little artistic. The bar is good. The parking in the courtyard is narrow and could be crowded. It's a good, affordable place to stay when in Spokane - walking distance to everything.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matgla
Moscow, Idaho
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Stayed one night for a concert at Knitting Factory. This location is fantastic as I could walk to and from the concert!! I love the décor of the room. I wanted to steal the shower, that tile was heavenly. The bed was very comfortable. Did not care about exterior sounds of downtown Spokane, as it is to be expected. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NivyRae
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Anny G, General Manager at Hotel Ruby, responded to this review

Dear NivyRae, Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We love being in the lively Entertainment District for this reason. Glad to hear that you enjoyed our staff and décor, as well. Style, Service, and Value are the core of our business, and we look forward to serving you again in the future! Best, Hotel Ruby

Porland,or
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Fantastic location and a great value. The staff are friendly, and the bar pours a strong cocktail! The proximity to the train tracks had me worried, but I was never bothered by the noise. I imagine if there were noisy neighbors you might hear them through the walls, but again, not a problem during our stay. I only have two...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hafowler9
Anny G, General Manager at Hotel Ruby, responded to this review

Hello Hafowler9, We really appreciate the feedback. We pride ourselves in having outstanding customer service representatives, and we are always glad to hear when someone is pleased. Your two complaints were not overlooked, but also appreciated and noted. Unfortunately we have more rooms than we do parking spaces, so parking is first come first serve. However, if the lot fills...

Chicago Area
Reviewed 24 March 2017

Love this place. It's clean, not smelly and the beds are great. Off-street parking is limited, but, ok. The artwork everywhere is cool and the kitchy details are cool right down to the colored LEDs in the sidewalk outside the onsite bar which is really nice. Free wifi in the rooms. Breakfast is in the bar. Staff is great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chw88shop
Anny G, General Manager at Hotel Ruby, responded to this review

Hello chw88shop, We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. As far as the off street parking goes, we do have more rooms than we do parking spaces, so parking is first come first serve. However, if the lot fills up at anytime during your stay we do have our overflow parking at our sister property Hotel Ruby2...

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 March 2017

Centrally located making it easy to walk downtown. Sapphire lounge always a great place to end the evening for a nightcap or two with great music. Clean comfy rooms. Staff are always friendly and welcoming Breakfast is basic but fresh and self serve Parking on site

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ashlene13
Anny G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Ruby, responded to this review

Dear Ashlene13, Thank you so much for your feedback. We greatly appreciate your business and it is our pleasure hosting you. We are already looking forward to your next visit with us! All the best, Hotel Ruby

Reviewed 9 March 2017

Stayed one night on a business trip. Check in was easy and very friendly, staff is quite accommodating. The rooms are motel rooms (door opens to outside) that have been tastefully remodeled. The value (easily $80-150 night less than properties across the street) and the friendly staff are what make this a good choice. If you are looking for luxury...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MarkChristopher
Anny G, Manager at Hotel Ruby, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback, and we are very glad that the staff made you feel welcomed throughout your stay. We hope that you choose to return to us again someday soon.

Highland, California
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

Loving it so far. Check in was super easy. They have the cutest lounge. The room is so nice and very artistic. Everyone was so friendly. Honestly people who complain about this place need to take that stick out of their booty lol. I had the most amazing time. It is walking distance to the riverpark, cute wine tasting rooms,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anisha3675
Anny G, General Manager at Hotel Ruby, responded to this review

What an amazing review. We are extremely happy that you enjoyed yourself while you were here. We will be sure to let the Front Desk and Bar staff know that they are doing a great job. We're glad to hear that you were able to get out and see the beauty that Spokane has to offer. Come back and see...

Post Falls, Idaho
Reviewed 28 February 2017

This particular site is an old building, and it shows. The rooms are updated, but not enough to make this a great hotel. You get what you pay for. We live local and stayed overnight for a concert across the street at Knitting Factory. So for that purpose, it's great. Inexpensive and is located in the heart of Spokane. Also,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DMonkey06
Anny G, General Manager at Hotel Ruby, responded to this review

We appreciate the feedback, and will be sure to let the staff know that they were helpful and polite. We hope that you enjoyed the concert at the Knitting Factory, and we do hope that you would choose to stay with us again for the next concert you attend.

eastern Washington
Reviewed 19 February 2017

When we travel to Spokane we typically stay at a Davenport property and have never been disappointed. We were wanting to go to an upcoming show at the Bing and saw that Hotel Ruby was close by and had a package with show tickets and a room. It said on the website the package could only be booked by calling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank makruger
Anny G, General Manager at Hotel Ruby, responded to this review

Hello, we are sincerely sorry to hear that you had a bad phone experience at Hotel Ruby. Normally we are a great boutique, and small personable hotel experience. That being said, the front desk agent working at the time made a mistake and should have asked for your phone number to call you back and not have you wait any...

Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Nice clean little hotel in a great location. One word of advice: if you go in the winter, take slippers!! The tiled bathroom floors are more than cold, they are ice rink freezing! Other than that it's quite satisfactory.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicki B
Anny G, General Manager at Hotel Ruby, responded to this review

This is great feedback and very much appreciated. We will look into ways to rectify that ice rink freezing situation with the bathroom floors before the next year's winter. Hope everything else was satisfactory, and we hope to see you back here sometime soon.

190 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (82)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (32)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (88)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
King Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Single Queen Room (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.2 km away
Ruby2
Ruby2
#10 of 46 in Spokane
405 reviews
0.1 km away
The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
0.2 km away
The Davenport Tower, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Davenport Grand, Autograph Collection
4.5 km away
Hampton Inn Spokane
Hampton Inn Spokane
#2 of 46 in Spokane
742 reviews
1.0 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Spokane City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Sapphire Lounge
Sapphire Lounge
Cuisines: American, Bar
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Ruby is located in the heart of downtown Spokane's Entertainment District, directly across the street from the historic Bing Crosby Theater, Knitting Factory Concert House and Fox Theater. A few blocks from the Spokane Convention Center and INB Performing Arts Center. 3 Blocks from Riverfront Park and Spokane Falls, the Gondola, River Park Square Mall and AMC Theaters. Steps away from downtown's finest restaurants and shopping. Short drive to area hospitals including Shriner's Children's Hospital, Deaconess and Sacred Heart. This downtown Spokane hotel offers continental breakfast, free wireless internet, bicycles and on-site laundry. Dogs are welcome for an additional fee, on-site parking $5 per night. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Ruby

Address: 901 W 1st Ave, Spokane, WA 99201-4001
Region: United States > Washington > Spokane
Price Range: ₹ 5,468 - ₹ 7,397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ruby 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ruby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Spokane
Spokane Rodeway Inn
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Spokane
#8 Family Hotel in Spokane
#11 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
#18 Business Hotel in Spokane
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Ruby staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Ruby staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms not directly above the car park are quieter”
ashlene13, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The "Hospitality Suite" is the deluxe King Bedroom. It is on the ground floor (parking lot) and the smoking section is next to the bed.”
MarkChristopher, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The rooms are all essentially the same, all facing the parking lot.”
DMonkey06, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had a 2nd floor corner suite - very spacious, and quiet.”
MidwayMamahib, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Do NOT book room 101 if you are not ok with the noise from the Lounge below”
WindyTevlin, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5