We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tides Inn

Booking.comUS$ 215*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 245*
US$ 215*
Great Deal
US$ 245*
US$ 245*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Tides Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

276 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 275: English reviews
Start your review of Tides Inn
 Click to rate
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Ok, when we booked this we had no idea that it was THE motel from An Officer and a Gentleman. So when we arrived the lobby is filled with movie memorabilia and articles. But that interesting point of trivia doesn't make up for the fact that our over priced room had the most hideous, uncomfortable furniture, carpet that looked like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leslie D
tidesinnpt, Manager at Tides Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback of your stay with us. We understand that the French Victorian furniture is unique and there are plans for replacement as early as fall of this year. We do shampoo clean carpets when needed and apologize for the oversight and will bring this to our staff attention. We are sorry for the disappointment and we...

Lowell, Massachusetts
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very disappointing hotel with no upkeep since ? the 1950's. Ancient wall-to-wall, ancient bedding, musty room, screen on slider leaning against the slider, peeling paint; altogether a surprisingly poor accommodation. We did stay in the "older" wing.... newer rooms (twice as expensive) may have been nicer...... also, the pillows were pretty much just pillow-cases-- weren't a half-inch thick.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank myanna
tidesinnpt, Manager at Tides Inn, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you had a disappointed stay with us. We will look into the items you mentioned, especially the screen door and the pillow. Please feel free to contact me directly (360-385-0595 ext 165) and I will be happy to discuss any additional feedback and information you may have and what I can do for your next...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I went to Port Townsend for our anniversary and after reading the reviews on TripAdvisor, decided to stay here. We got a room with a deck and jacuzzi, which we didn't use, but ensured that we had the best view. The pros: - Friendly staff, they talked to us for an hour after we checked out about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mirandanbenson
tidesinnpt, Manager at Tides Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your stay at the Tides Inn & Suites and we glad that you had a wonderful experience. I will share your compliments of our front desk with rest of our staff. The rooms in the original building (Tides Inn) are little smaller than our premium rooms in the newer building (Tides Suites); however, they...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I reserved this room ahead for the weekend with my bf, glad I booked it because it was full by the time we arrived! I was uneasy about the reviews about the old inn, and was contemplating switching the reservations to a suite, but I'm glad I didn't. I loved room 26! This is a waterfront room, with a covered...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carri W
tidesinnpt, Manager at Tides Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your stay with us and we're happy that you fully enjoyed our rooms in the original building (Tides Inn). As you mentioned our guests does enjoy the quaintness of the room with a cabin like feel to it and the private deck with water front view. The premium rooms in our other building (Tides Suites) is...

Coupeville, Washington
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The new part is excellent but double the price. We love room 21. Any of the waterfront deck room in the old part is quaint and right on the beach front, watch the boats and relax. Do not stay on the ones with rooms open to the hiway unless that is all that is left. There are two dog friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peggy T
tidesinnpt, Manager at Tides Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our property and for your patronage. We are happy to hear that you are continuing to enjoy your stay with with us. All our guests really enjoy being right on the water for the view and during the warmer season there will be more boats on the water. Thank you again and we look...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The views are lovely here, and the rooms are clean. The suites have refrigerators. Our suite had a jacuzzi tub. There is no restaurant, no room service, but the town is small and most everything is a short walk. There is not much here that is spectacular, but considering most of the town's other hotels, this one likely rates pretty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lindsaygrahamrob2017
tidesinnpt, Manager at Tides Inn, responded to this review

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and look forward to having you back on your next trip to Port Townsend area. Thank you.

Manteca, California
Reviewed 12 April 2017

I originally booked this place because it is where an Officer and a Gentleman was filmed and I thought it would be fun. When we got there the room was awful. I went to the office and asked if I could change to a newer room. They were very accommodating and let me do that . Our new room was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sally J
Graham, Washington
Reviewed 3 April 2017

This is a place with a primetime view. It's why the prices are so high. 3rd floor views are enough to tell you to stay another night. Good continental breakfast. Clean rooms. Plenty of outlets in room. Needs attention: Coffee in rooms is one cup at a time and is weak to the taste. Toilet paper is ultra thin. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teachwheart
Gresham, Oregon
Reviewed 30 March 2017

The view is great! If you are looking for cozy, romantic, clean, and high quality, look at the newer rooms. I stayed two nights in the older section and it was a poor experiance. The walls are paper thin. The only heat was a free-standing space heater. Additionally, they did not change out the towels day to day. There are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Randy T
Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 27 March 2017

We ended up here with a spontaneous weekend away. At first I was disappointed that we were in the older part of the Inn, but it turned out well. The front desk and housekeeping are very friendly and professional. The room was simple and a bit outdated, but the tub on the deck is pretty awesome. 10:00 is quiet time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christina J

113 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (91)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Townsend hotels
0.9 km away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
336 reviews
1.9 km away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#7 of 11 in Port Townsend
296 reviews
0.7 km away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
38 reviews
1.2 km away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
257 reviews
0.5 km away
Aladdin Motor Inn
Aladdin Motor Inn
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Many rooms boast private decks overlooking sparkling Port Townsend Bay. Protective windbreaks make year–round enjoyment eventful as the parade of ferries, fishing vessels and sailboats pass by. Take a deep breath of clean, fresh air as you revel in the sights and sounds of nature's seascape. Listen to the surf as it gently lulls you to sleep. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tides Inn

Address: 1807 Water St., Port Townsend, WA 98368
Region: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Price Range: ₹ 12,521 - ₹ 18,619 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tides Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Tides Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tides Hotel Port Townsend
Tides Motel Port Townsend
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tides Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Tides Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not stay in older wing”
myanna, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms facing the beach are quieter”
mirandanbenson, 7 May 2017 | Read review
“get a hot tub on the balcony thats covered! :) very beautiful experience”
188carriw, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“we like room 21 in the older part, but there are a few more right on the water.”
509peggyt, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Select from the newer rooms.”
949randyt, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 215* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$ 245
Orbitz.comUS$ 245
TravelocityUS$ 245
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates