We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Historic Powhatan Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Historic Powhatan Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,897 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,887: English reviews
Start your review of The Historic Powhatan Resort
 Click to rate
Siena, Italy
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Units were spotless...staff couldn't do enough for us...coffee shop and lounge were great. Gas and charcoal grills were available but no utensils in the unit. Called the office and 15 minutes later we had a full set of grill stuff!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ken L
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I love, love, love these resorts. Spectacular pricing for such an amazing accommodation. I live in VA Beach, so whenever I leave town for a weekend I almost always book a room here. The rooms are always so clean and spacious, the environment is even better. I love the walkways and water features. Only reason I'm not giving this place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kendra W
KevJohnson2016, General Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

The biggest compliment we can receive is a guest who wants to return! Thank you for sharing your feedback and for choosing to spend your hard-earned vacation at The Historic Powhatan Resort. We will definitely make sure to share your feedback with our team here!

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We rented a second floor 2 bedroom condo for a 3 day visit to Williamsburg. As members of RCI, we were able to get an updated unit with pretty much everything new except the fridge and stove. Only 10 minutes to downtown and well situated for access to the Colonial Parkway. My criteria is comfort, convenience and cost--this hit all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JamesMaxx
KevJohnson2016, General Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! At Diamond Resorts International®, it is our goal to provide you with Affordable Luxury and Priceless Memories, and it seems like we were successful based on your review. We hope to welcome you and your family back to The Historic Powhatan Resort in the future!

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

I'm sitting in the living room of a 2 bedroom, top floor suite here at the Historic Powhatan Resort as I type this, and I am not happy. Last night, after a long morning of driving and an even longer day of walking around Busch Gardens, we pulled into this place, exhausted, wanting nothing more than to get our keys...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Billy B
Madison Ohio
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

3/25/17--- Just returned from a 6 day stay, The resort is very nice. Check in was easy, the room was clean and updated. Furniture in the living room could of been a little more comfortable, but was on par with a time share unit The bed, king size, was excellent and the pillows we loved. ( I wanted to take...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tomgypsy
Amanda_Foley, Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your vacation at The Historic Powhatan Resort! It is our pleasure to have the opportunity to serve you, and we are so grateful you chose The Historic Powhatan Resort as your destination to Stay Vacationed.™ All of our Team Members here look forward to welcoming you in the future!

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This resort can definitely use an update, however the ghost tour is exceptional. I was touched on the shoulder by someone but there was no one behind me, first experiecpnce. second, took equipment in separate room and per the equipment, the room was getting colder and colder, until someone came into the room. Well, for many months after returning home,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank shirleyrobertmoore
Amanda_Foley, Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your vacation at The Historic Powhatan Resort! It is our pleasure to have the opportunity to serve you, and we are so grateful you chose The Historic Powhatan Resort as your destination to Stay Vacationed.™ All of our Team Members here look forward to welcoming you in the future!

Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

My wife and I stayed here for a friend's wedding. There were three ppl ahead of me to check-in and the whole process took 30 minutes. They must have the slowest computers on the planet. After check-in be prepared to have the "concierge" give you a 10 minutes pitch on becoming a member of the resort after she tells you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jack D
Mackenbach, Germany
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great accommodations for a multifamily stay! We were in town for a big soccer tournament and had extended family come to visit also, and this place made us feel at home. It had enough beds for everyone and bathrooms. It was like a home away home stay! I would definitely recommend this place! Location was close to a lot of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Family O
KevJohnson2016, General Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

The biggest compliment we can receive is a guest who wants to return! Thank you for sharing your feedback and for choosing to spend your hard-earned vacation at The Historic Powhatan Resort. We will definitely make sure to share your feedback with our team here!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My family and I stayed here for a week during Spring Break. I would consider our stay average and have a hard time calling it a "resort." Pros: 1. Spacious condo - we had a 2 bedroom, upper level and had plenty of room for our family of 3. They have different "tiers" ranking 1-3. The level 1 has not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kelly D
Amanda_Foley, Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your vacation at The Historic Powhatan Resort! It is our pleasure to have the opportunity to serve you, and we are so grateful you chose The Historic Powhatan Resort as your destination to Stay Vacationed.™ Please know that our team members are more than happy to assist with any concern you...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 1 week ago

During my frequent visits to Williamsburg, the one thing I always do is give this old stomping ground a second chance. Do they deserve it? Absolutely not! The first timeshare meeting with their representative Madea — Damon, I mean — totally ruined the Diamond Resorts ownership experience forever. Perhaps in a spiteful move, I became a fully vested RCI owner...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Joshua H

1,173 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (886)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (137)
Viewed
Room/Suite (282)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (54)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Other (328)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (261)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Children's Pool (2)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (1)
Viewed
Pool (4)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
The Hotel (65)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Condo (148)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
4.6 km away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
6.5 km away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
5.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#11 of 75 in Williamsburg
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
5.8 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
5.5 km away
Wedmore Place
Wedmore Place
#14 of 75 in Williamsburg
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A Little Piece of American HistoryVirginia is one of the best places to visit if you are a history buff and want to learn more about the birth of a nation and see relics from days gone by. Williamsburg is a 170-acre historic town that has been restored to its original English condition. The Historic Powhatan Resort offers guests a little piece of colonial history with the restored Manor House (circa 1735). Nestled among 256 acres of beautiful woodland, this resort is loaded with fun things to see and do, and learn a little bit of American history. Rest, Relaxation, and a Whole Lot MoreIf you are looking for a resort that has all kinds of things to do, then you need look no further than The Historic Powhatan Resort. Here you can enjoy both indoor and outdoor swimming pools, tennis courts, an outdoor pavilion, and even a playground for the kids. Each three-bedroom suite has a fully equipped kitchen with a two-burner stovetop, a private balcony and a loft for the ultimate in relaxing vacations.If you are looking for a great meal, you can find it at The Historic Powhatan Bar & Grille, where you will find a casual family dining atmosphere for both breakfast and dinner. Open seven days a week, The Historic Powhatan Bar &Grille has an outdoor patio where you can enjoy a nice, cold drink while watching the peaceful pond (weather permitting, of course). During the breakfast buffet, enjoy being entertained by the resort's very own "first lady", Martha Washington, who will regale guests of all ages with amusing and entertaining stories.Whether you are looking for rest and relaxation, or fun and excitement, you can have it all at The Historic Powhatan Resort. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Historic Powhatan Resort

Address: 3601 Ironbound Road, Williamsburg, VA 23188-2442
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Price Range: ₹ 5,862 - ₹ 14,265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Historic Powhatan Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 845
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your The Historic Powhatan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Historic Powhatan Hotel Williamsburg
Historic Powhatan Hotel
Sunterra Powhatan Plantation
Powhatan Plantation Williamsburg Va
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Historic Powhatan Resort staff and other travellers.
52 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (52)

Questions? Get answers from The Historic Powhatan Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“This trip was feb 2016. The three bedroom is no more than a two bedroom with the attic, which has no windows. Don,t like that at all.”
 of 5 bubbles shirleyrobertmoore, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Consider staying elsewhere until they change their timeshare gimmicks.”
 of 5 bubbles joshuah480, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I would say that All rooms are great rooms”
 of 5 bubbles Tinabuzzy, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Our condo was on the second floor, but it also helped me gain more flights on my Fitbit.”
 of 5 bubbles rosalindb591, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a renovated unit.”
 of 5 bubbles PBM11, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5