We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1324 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Traveluro
Official Site
Travelocity
Booking.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (222)
Room & Suite (108)
Pool & Beach (18)

About

#39 of 74 hotels in Williamsburg
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Silver level
Ideally located less than a mile from Colonial Williamsburg, Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort in Williamsburg also offers easy access to Busch Gardens Williamsburg theme park and Water Country USA water park. Guests can choose from accommodations ranging from colonial guestrooms and studios to oversized two-bedroom villas, each of which offers a full kitchen or kitchenette. Onsite amenities at Westgate Historic Williamsburg include a heated outdoor pool, hot tub, fitness center, game room, horseshoes, playground and volleyball court.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Breakfast available
Game room
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Kids club
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Rate:Colonial States Resident's Discount
596Reviews13Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 207
  • 151
  • 84
  • 59
  • 95
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Robert B wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Room of, but ac set at 70. Actual temp was 73. Ceiling fan over the bed did not work. I called front desk and they said they would have maintenance fix. They never came. Please don't tell me what temp I'm comfortable sleeping at.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Jemlnlx wrote a review Jun 2022
Bronx, New York4412 contributions310 helpful votes
+1
Great experience here. With a ton of hotel options in the area, I am glad we decided to stay at Westgate. I’ve stayed at one of their locations in Orlando, FL years ago and remember being very happy with the family-friendly environment. Check-in was a breeze and all staff members encountered were helpful and efficient. This place is more of a hybrid resort-hotel. While the in-room accommodations are typical of that of a standard hotel room, this place has a nice pool area, mini golf, game/arcade room, mini-museum downstairs and volleyball area. Its nice to have these activities available for those days you don’t want to leave the premises. One thing lacking is the breakfast…no breakfast was seemingly available to the standard guests there. There was some indication that breakfast was served but I don’t know if that was reserved for timeshare holders or villa guests. Rooms were well kept and on-par with what you’d expect from a 2.5 star property. Very comfortable and clean enough. Centrally located on Richmond Road right off of Route 60.…minutes away from the Colonial Williamsburg Visitor’s Center and other attractions. Lots of fast-food and gas options in the immediate area. There are two Thai restaurants and one Mexican restaurant on premises. Overall we had a great time…I hope to visit other Westgate properties in the future. I highly recommend this location to those visiting the Colonial Williamsburg area…especially those traveling with children.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Nav1go wrote a review May 2022
Virginia1014 contributions303 helpful votes
Our AC broke so this was a lost minute weekend trip so that we and our dog cour stay cool. We requested and were granted a late checkout (noon) but were never able to take advantage of it. The cleaning staff kept knocking on the door and at 11:20 the front desk called us and told us we had to leave. So we got our. I will stay elsewhere in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Westgate Resorts, General Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
Responded 4 weeks ago
Our team always strives to maintain fantastic service for our guests, and the fact that we were unable to provide you with the superior hospitality we aim for is disheartening. Rest assured, maintenance is looking into the issue you encountered with the AC, and we have discussed your concerns with our team to ensure we are providing our best hospitality. We hope for another chance to impress you the next time your travels bring you to town.
Read more
LISA wrote a review May 2022
Hanover, Massachusetts16 contributions5 helpful votes
When we booked this hotel I assumed that we were in the main lodging listed in the picture. We actually were put up in one of a collection of houses on the property.. The small house contained 2 large bedrooms with an adjoining large bathroom. The rooms were slightly dated but clean. I think that this is some sort of timeshare. Anyway...super close to Colonial Williamsburg and many restaurants. Staff was very friendly and accommodating.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Sue M wrote a review May 2022
Richmond, Utah29 contributions12 helpful votes
We stayed here for three days and enjoyed every moment. It is convenient to Yorktown, Jamestown, and Williamsburg. The price was very reasonable, the rooms were clean, and the staff were very pleasant and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
LoveToTravel wrote a review May 2022
2 contributions
Helpful and friendly staff and a clean room. Those are the only positives. If you're 8 inches wide or under you'll be quite comfortable accessing the queen-sized bed, which is jammed against one wall and nearly pressed into the dated tv cabinet at the foot of the bed. You will hear everything your neighbors say, you'll hear their tv, you'll hear an assortment of whirring, grinding bathroom fans throughout the night, and will be awakened regularly by the room's mini-split a/c. Charging customers for wi-fi is cheap and tacky. Here's a thought: It's 2022, people stream off devices and don't watch tv so kill the cable package and give people internet. If you got rid of the enormous tv cabinet and tv, humans could also walk around the bed. Having not even the smallest bedside table is SO CONVENIENT! THANKS! Squeezing as much $ out of people is your only goal. Executive pay and shareholder profit, no doubt, are primary motivators. Garbage 'resort.' But at least as we were trying to check in (BEFORE WE KNEW BETTER!) so that we could get out and enjoy some sights, a somewhat sleazy guy took up a lot of our time trying to convince us to come to the 'free' breakfast where we would learn about timeshare opportunities. I want to know what sadsack has such a miserable existence that they would even consider a timeshare in this place. I wish I'd read ahead of our stay who founded the 'resort' and is still chief and chair of the company. I'd have slept in the back of my crossover first.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Choose different lodgings. STAY AWAY!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Angrisanio7 wrote a review Apr 2022
Plantation, Florida26 contributions8 helpful votes
We booked this hotel through a military and government website. We picked it because we figured a time share would be kept nicely. We pulled up and the resort was nice. The people were pleasant and we were excited. Then we were directed to our room which was off the main property in what looked like a roadside motel. We had to go behind restaurants, past dumpsters where men were smoking, and over several lots from the main building. The paint was chipped the chairs outside were gross the windows were filthy, the grass wasn’t maintained. It gave you a “we could get killed here” vibe. We left immediately and booked somewhere else. The front desk staff wasn’t nice when we told them we couldn’t stay there and they were like “too bad you booked through a third party”.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Kimberly C wrote a review Mar 2022
Louisa, Virginia33 contributions14 helpful votes
We traveled with a family of six - two teens and twin 9mo olds. I’m the type that travels with my vacuum, mop and cleaners because hotels aren’t cleaned well usually. To my surprise upon arriving to our suite it was cleaned well so I didn’t spend the first day cleaning just a quick touch up did the trick, Check in was easy and staff were helpful. I somehow missed the outdoor pool was heated before arrival so that was a nice perk and the kids enjoyed it. Washer and dryer in the suite was great. I had enough dishes to cook meals and the pots and pans were in good condition. We lost power while we were there and they handled it with ease, and kept you updated through text message. (Wind?) Parking was fine- no issues. Before our trip I read many reviews that had me worried and we had not one issue. Many reviews say the rooms are outdated.. we stayed in a governors suite and felt like it was fine it is a historic hotel but it wasn’t out of date or poorly decorated. We would stay here again in the future for sure!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Keli N wrote a review Feb 2022
Leonardtown, Maryland182 contributions70 helpful votes
This property is badly out of date. Noisy mini split heater, 90s finishes, 1950s motel layout. The staff, however, is very helpful, friendly, and accommodating. The fractional ownership sales person in the lobby is really aggressive and annoying.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Westgate Resorts, General Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
Responded 19 Mar 2022
Greetings, Kelin. Thank you for reaching out to us regarding your recent stay with us and taking a moment out of your day to leave us feedback. We're sorry to hear that your stay with us was an unpleasant one. We understand your sentiment regarding the issues that occurred during your visit. Were you able to speak to our front desk team or supervisors/manager in hopes to get things resolved? Us at Westgate want to ensure all of our guests have an exceptional experience with us. We'll make the necessary corrections to ensure future guests or yourself won't have this happen again. We hope this can be resolved for you and won't deter you from giving us another opportunity to give you the visit you deserve. Kind regards.
Read more
Explorer795326 wrote a review Oct 2021
North Carolina Mountains, North Carolina3 contributions2 helpful votes
We traded our mountain timeshare for a week at this resort. Very clean and front desk courteous and timely for requests. The drawback is they accost you in attending a timeshare presentation. REFUSE THIS INIVITATION! It is a total waste of time and they take advantage of your time. The WIFI was spotty and they charge you EXTRA for a week's use. The bedrooms are squished together with hardly no room to walk around. They allow pets and we had a barking dog next to us at 6 a.m. and 12 midnight. Beware if you stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Westgate Resorts, General Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
Responded 28 Oct 2021
Thank you for staying at the Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort. We regret to hear that your stay was less than exceptional, please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you had to endure. We hope this does not deter you from staying with us again and that you will give us another opportunity to impress you and exceed all your expectations. Sincerely, Divya
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$105 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
westgate historic williamsburg hotel williamsburg, westgate historic hotel williamsburg, williamsburg westgate historic hotel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Heritage Inn
LOCATION
United StatesVirginiaWilliamsburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
85
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort?
Nearby attractions include Silver Hand Meadery (0.4 km), Whitley's Peanut Factory (0.2 km), and Pirate's Cove Adventure Golf (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, a fitness centre, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort?
Guests can enjoy breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sal's By Victor, Amiraj, and Cracker Barrel Old Country.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 1.0 km away from the centre of Williamsburg.
Does Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Colonial Williamsburg (2.0 km), Bassett Hall (3.3 km), and George Wythe House (2.1 km).
Is Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.