We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fort Magruder Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Fort Magruder Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

399 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Fort Magruder Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 399: English reviews
Bridgeville, Delaware
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

First of all let me say we have stayed here quite a few times before and it was a nice clean place. This year was awful to say the least. The mgt. must have changed. First the smell of musty old carpet hits you when you walk in. Then once you enter your room the bed with no bed skirt...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Melissa C
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate your response concerning your stay with us and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to stay with us here at the Fort Magruder Hotel and Conference Center. We are looking forward to some exciting changes in the hotel within the next several months!

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I booked this Hotel in June for the NSA World series for the Week of July 13. After hearing from other families their bad experiences the previous year. I decided to stay elsewhere. I called to cancel 5 days before my arrival and was told I would be charged a nights stay for canceling too late. Their policy on the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank David H
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your concern and response concerning the special event here in Williamsburg next week. Special tournament clauses were established prior to reservations being made with each team representative. We look forward to hosting teams next week and hosting the tournament again in Williamsburg!

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The staff is certainly friendly at Fort Magruder. However the first night I stayed I booked online at Expedia and was charged a reasonable rate. I called the desk that night and asked if could have "the same rate" if we stayed another day. "Yes!" said the clerk at the desk. When I checked out, the 2nd night was almost...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Liz G
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. We strive to assure that each of our guests have a wonderful experience during their stay and we apologize for any inconvenience that you experienced. We hope that you will return to stay with us again.

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My wife and I just completed a 4 night stay at Fort Magruder. We were very pleased with the experience. It started with the person in the reservation department. She was friendly, knowledgable and even made sure that she wrote down that we were at the hotel for our anniversary. Amber was a delight at check-in and provided solid advice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NatureBoy123
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate such wonderful comments on our staff and hotel amenities and becoming a wonderful supporter of us! We look forward to having you back as our guest when the opportunity brings you back to Williamsburg.

Mid Florida, Florida
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Fort MAGRUDER is nasty. It is so outdated (Furniture, TV, Carpet). The Sliding Door on to the Balcony looks like it has never been cleaned. I am afraid to touch it. The chair at the computer table is so dirty, it is not fit be anywhere besides the garbage. Dust is every where, I expect some but not like this....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cookiemonster202
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments concerning your recent stay and certainly hope that you will give us another opportunity to come back to Williamsburg.

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 5 July 2014

After my husband booked the hotel through priceline for our anniversary I went online and read the reviews. Seeing all the negative reviews I was very nervous about staying here. When we arrived the girl at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. Our room was very nice. The bed was comfortable. The room was large and had plenty...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LMH7513
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to host your visit to Williamsburg and giving us rave reviews! Please come back to see us when you are able to experience our great area again.

Gulf Shores al
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

I can not include all front desk staff but all but one fit the title. Staff was untrained and did not know how to deal with people. I heard a man discussing with a front desk clerk his unhappy stay !! Servers in the kitchen breakfast area were very friendly. They were the ones who exchanged our breakfast tickets for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Buffpup
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We strive to make every guest have the best experience while staying at the Fort Magruder Hotel and Conference Center. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to experience our wonderful staff!

Amherst, Virginia
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Went to Fort McGruder Hotel in May for a night (Busch Gardens) and was astounded at the layout, cleanliness and beauty of this place. indoor and outdoor pools and spas,AMAZING lobby, very courteous staff, awesome rooms!! One of THE nicest hotels in Williamsburg...check it out

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank drdave57
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments on our hotel, amenities and staff! We work hard to make sure all our guests receive the best accommodations and service we can provide. We look forward to your next visit and to telling your friends about us!

Beaufort, SC
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

This place has a 3 star rating... Maybe back in 1970! It's dated, musty and so far I am unimpressed with the staff. The TV is circa mid 1980's, the wallpaper is peeling in the hallways and did I mention the musty smell?!?? The room is good sized but the bed is uncomfortable, the bathroom is teeny tiny, and the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank anwilliams
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments on your stay with us here at the Fort Magruder Hotel and Conference Center. We strive to make our guests enjoy a comfortable nights stay and I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experience while in Williamsburg. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to come enjoy all the amenities and hospitality our hotel...

Christiansburg, Virginia
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I attended a conference in Blackstone, VA and I couldn't miss the opportunity to drive on to Williamsburg for a mini vacation. The hotel was recently renovated and I was pleasantly surprised at the beautiful decor. The room and bathroom were very clean with plush towels and a very comfortable bed. A hot buffet breakfast was served in the beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Helen_Young813
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments on your stay with us here at the Fort Magruder Hotel and come back again and stay with us longer to enjoy all our amenities!

167 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (140)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (88)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens)
0.6 km away
Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area
1.5 km away
Rodeway Inn Historic
Rodeway Inn Historic
#41 of 75 in Williamsburg
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Williamsburg Hotel Historic District
2.0 km away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#54 of 75 in Williamsburg
487 reviews
0.9 km away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#46 of 75 in Williamsburg
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Fort Magruder Hotel and Conference Center is beautifully set in a wooded area and landscaped around the site of an original redoubt from the Battle of Williamsburg of 1862. The Hotel is conveniently located only minutes away from Historic downtown Colonial Williamsburg, the College of William and Mary, 2 miles away from beautiful Busch Gardens and 3 miles away from Water Country USA. The four-story hotel comprises of 303 guest rooms and Suites and 26,000 square feet of meeting/exhibit space. The hotel offer an array of features and amenities including a heated indoor pool with hot tub, Fitness Center, Complimentary Business Center, Complimentary High-Speed Wireless Internet Service and Pet Friendly. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fort Magruder Hotel

Address: 6945 Pocahontas Trl, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4759 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Williamsburg)
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Price Range: ₹ 5,929 - ₹ 11,471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Magruder Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fort Magruder Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Williamsburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fort Magruder Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Fort Magruder Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Look for at least a 4 star hotel on Trip Advisor”
cwhaynes, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't go there”
rick23113, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms had good views.”
Lady8577, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“if you are looking for privacy...don't worry...no other guests are in the hotel.”
PaulCKelly, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Check for mold in the shower before unpacking and secure your valuables”
566ziggyw, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5