We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Fort Magruder Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Fort Magruder Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

385 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 385: English reviews
Pennsylvania
Reviewed 2 November 2016

When some review this hotel, it seems that they're comparing it to places that cost twice as much or more. For our budget and needs, it was just fine. We were in Williamsburg to see the sights and saving some money on accommodations suited us well. Our room was very spacious and clean, the hotel is well located and we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank I_LV_travel
Joseph G, Front Office Manager at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for choosing Fort Magruder Hotel & Conference Center during your travels to the Williamsburg area. We appreciate the thoughtful review you left about the property and your recent stay. I am very pleased to hear that you and your guest enjoyed the spacious and clean guest room you stayed in. I will make sure our housekeeping...

Woodbridge, Virginia
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

Very nice, clean room with a balcony. Check in was a breeze, front desk staff was very nice and professional. The hotel is about 10-15 minutes from Busch Gardens and that was a definite plus for us. I'd stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
Joseph G, Front Office Manager at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Andrew, Thank you for staying with us at Fort Magurder Hotel & Conference Center during your travels to the Williamsburg area. The staff and I would like to sincerely thank you for the kind review you left about our property and the staff. We hope to see you again in the future!

Covington
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

I was worried about the bad reviews and comments; but this place was great. Keep in mind this isn't a luxury hotel and is more budget friendly at the moment but are making improvements to better their status. The room was big and clean. It had a nice deck to venture out on and chairs to sit in. The pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hott24girl
Joseph G, Front Office Manager at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for choosing Fort Magruder Hotel & Conference Center for your travel needs. It means so much to us to see the kind review you left about our property and your most recent stay. I am glad that you and your family got a chance to see the neat artifacts near our business center. That...

Edgewater, Maryland
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Hotel is dated but currently under renovation slated for completion in 2017. Rooms are good size and hotel is bare bones but clean and decent for a night or two. Not too expensive relative to places in area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JRoz
Joseph G, Front Office Manager at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JRoz, Thank you for choosing Fort Magruder Hotel & Conference Center for your travel needs. I would like to personally thank you for giving us feedback about your most recent stay with us. As you mentioned, we are currently undergoing a major renovation to the property. We hope to you come back and see the new and improved Fort...

Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

We took advantage of a great rate to stay on a visit to Williamsburg, VA. The room was a really nice room for the rate, however the rest of the hotel was not the best. Hotel was under construction and several areas closed off both inside and out. However I never saw workers. Just torn up areas. Front desk was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Randy S
Joseph G, Front Office Manager at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Randy S. Thank you for choosing Fort Magruder Hotel & Conference Center for your travel needs. We really appreciate the kind review and feedback you gave about your most recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that you got a chance to do some site seeing while you were in Williamsburg. Hopefully during your next visit you...

Manassas, Virginia
Reviewed 17 October 2016

We were desperate to find hotel on short notice to attend W&M homecoming. Had stayed at FM in the past and it was quite nice. However this time, upon pulling into the parking lot, much of the property was fenced-off and it became obvious they were doing major renovations. Later found this was disclosed in fine print in reservation, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sxm10
Joseph G, Front Office Manager at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing Fort Magruder Hotel & Conference Center for your travel needs. Welcome back to the Fort! We are glad that you chose our property to accommodate you and your guest during W&M Homecoming. As you are already aware, we are currently doing major renovations to the property. I sincerely apologize that you where not...

Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

No amenities but the web site didn't say the restaurant and bar were closed. Ok room and very nice staff. No breakfast and poor restaurant selection in immediate area. Hotel carpet was very worn and had a run down look. But it is under renovation so they are moving in the tight direction.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott P
Joseph G, Front Office Manager at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Scott, Thank you for choosing Fort Magruder Hotel & Conference Center. We appreciate the feedback that you provided concerning your stay. As you know, we are currently renovating to improve the property for our guest. We ask that our guest be patient with us as we go through this transition. Please know that even though we are renovating, our...

Eufaula, Alabama
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Arrived at this facility for a conference but found that the rooms were both musty and poorly laid out. Bathroom was extremely small. Rooms were musty and there was mold in the bathroom. Key cards kept losing their information and WiFi authentication needed to be reset many times. Property was undergoing a long needed renovation but rooms provided were sub-standard....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dighistory
Joseph G, Front Office Manager at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Fort Magruder Hotel & Conference Center to hold your conference. We appreciate your recent feedback about your visit to the property. I apologize that you encountered some issues during your stay. Please know that we are working diligently with our staff to improve service and to give our guest the best experience possible. On...

Reviewed 6 September 2016

Part of the hotel looks great. The staff is friendly and they do their best to keep everything clean and in order. My toilet did not work so well in my room it sort of only flushed good at night. Weird. Pool and Hot tub made this the best stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brenda G
Joseph G, Front Office Manager at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brenda G, Thank you for choosing Fort Magruder Hotel & Conference for your travel needs. I want to sincerely thank you for leaving such a nice review of our staff and hotel. With renovations currently going on, we do our best to make sure each and every guest feels at home when they stay with us. I will make...

Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

This hotel has mold, i have two kida with asthma no way i was staying here! It stinks in here, soon as I entered the room it felt like bugs were crawling on me, the room was dusty dirty! I checked out within 15 minutes I will never ever book this hotel again...beware of this the mold! If I could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnetta M
Joseph G, Front Office Manager at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Johnetta M, Thank you for staying with us at Fort Magruder Hotel & Conference Center. It saddens me to hear about the issues you encountered during your stay. I have taken your concerns to the appropriate departments to ensure these issues don't happen to any other guest. Thank you for letting us know. I am not sure if you...

161 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (134)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (86)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.9 km away
Clarion Hotel Historic District
Clarion Hotel Historic District
#59 of 79 in Williamsburg
323 reviews
0.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens)
0.6 km away
Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#45 of 79 in Williamsburg
476 reviews
0.9 km away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#43 of 79 in Williamsburg
89 reviews
2.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Fort Magruder Hotel and Conference Center is beautifully set in a wooded area and landscaped around the site of an original redoubt from the Battle of Williamsburg of 1862. The Hotel is conveniently located only minutes away from Historic downtown Colonial Williamsburg, the College of William and Mary, 2 miles away from beautiful Busch Gardens and 3 miles away from Water Country USA. The four-story hotel comprises of 303 guest rooms and Suites and 26,000 square feet of meeting/exhibit space. The hotel offer an array of features and amenities including a heated indoor pool with hot tub, Fitness Center, Complimentary Business Center, Complimentary High-Speed Wireless Internet Service and Pet Friendly. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fort Magruder Hotel

Address: 6945 Pocahontas Trl, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4759 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Williamsburg)
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Price Range: ₹ 5,313 - ₹ 10,693 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Magruder Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Fort Magruder Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Williamsburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fort Magruder Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Fort Magruder Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check for mold in the shower before unpacking and secure your valuables”
 of 5 bubbles 566ziggyw, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the outdoor pool's courtyard.”
 of 5 bubbles lapearl521, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“get there early parking is limited”
 of 5 bubbles , 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Be sure to browse the property for the civil war memorabilia and visit the civil war redoubt in the center.”
 of 5 bubbles JTChase336, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Since its under renovation always best to ask to see your room first when checking in”
 of 5 bubbles JZRIV, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay