We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Clarion Hotel Historic District

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Clarion Hotel Historic District
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

331 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 330: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Don't use the luggage carts, they are terrible. They will dump your luggage and claim it's not their responsibility. Rooms aren't that nice, front desk is less than helpful and will laugh at you if you ask a question. Very unprofessional.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brenda S
nchalkley, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Historic District, responded to this review

Brenda, I am sorry for your stay. Five months ago when I investigated your claim, I found nothing to support your comments concerning our employees. I also did not have you registered here. I also am sorry that the insurance company investigation found the same results as I did. There was no basis for your claim. Thanks Neal

Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewed 1 week ago

They are very dog friendly. But they are all on a separate hallway, so they don't really bother other guests. The staff is friendly and helpful. Our two rooms were renovated and very nice. I think they may still me working on some rooms. We did not have a chance to use the pool, bar or restaurant, but they are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MGW_11
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We made a spur of the moment trip to Williamsburg and was looking for clean, comfy, reasonably priced lodging accommodations. The Clarion hotel fit our needs. There wasn't anything really exceptional about the hotel and it was a little dated, but the rooms were decent. We did switch rooms though, because there were several strands of long hair on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheTravelingMoma
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was a few blocks from the Historic District of Williamsburg. The management was gracious about answering questions. The main negative was an invasion by several roaches we saw in our room. Pest control is necessary in this climate. The hotel accepts pets. The hotel has an indoor pool which provided a needed diversion when heavy rain kept us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Camille P
nchalkley, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Historic District, responded to this review

Thank for the review. I am sorry about the problem and I have called the monthly person that handles pest control. He has handled the problem. I am glad that everything else was up to standard. Neal

Kemah, Texas
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is not expensive. When logging into the free WiFi (a plus), the Clarion website popped up, and rooms seemed to be going for $47-$55 a night. Positives: nice indoor pool and hot tub, free coffee from a coffee machine in the lobby at all hours, a microwave in the lobby, not that far from Colonial Williamsburg, on premises...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2littletime2seeitall
nchalkley, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Historic District, responded to this review

Thank for the revie. I am sorry for TV problems but Cox Cable has fixed the feed problem by installing a new fiber line. We thanks you for the visit and yes we do provide a great celan room at a reasonable price point. Thanks, Neal

Woodbridge, Virginia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We recently spent a night at the Clarion. It is an easy walk to the historic district. The room was comfortable and clean. A fridge was available, although we didn't use it. The hotel allows guests to bring their pets and many do. It is by no means a luxury property but, for the price. it is an excellent value....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LarryAkey
nchalkley, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Historic District, responded to this review

Thanks you for a great review. We have been doing a complete remodel scheduled to be done by March 1st. All areas of hotel will be touched and redone. We are one of the few pet friendly hotels left in town and we believe no one should be left behind - even a loved one like our pets. WE are...

Hampton, NH
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Walking distance to Colonial Williamsburg is the only positive to this hotel. Dirty lobby and hallways. Room was not vacumed for 3 days. Coffee setup also never cleaned or supplies replaced. Window not secure. Pool area very dirty, open drain at one end of the pool. TV was out for 2 days and staff just shrugged and blamed the cable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank skoorb7
nchalkley, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Historic District, responded to this review

I am sorry for the visit to our hotel. The cable was due the the provider Cox Cable - I pushed cox for 2 days several times a day until they finally fixed the feed problem coming in from the service - this was not hotel and I am sorry the front desk did not supply all the details -...

East Haven
Reviewed 11 December 2016

Check in was bad. We arrived early and were told room would be ready around two. When we came back around 3, room still not ready.(they pointed out that check in was 4). Finally got room. Bathroom tile needs re-grouting or replacement. Vanity top was mended but not very well. Accidently caught my finger on it the last day but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mesoso
nchalkley, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Historic District, responded to this review

I am sorry your visit was not up to your expectation. We are in the middle of a remodeling the bathrooms over the next 30 days. Your bathroom issues will be corrected. The entire hotel will be remodeled during January and February. Thanks, Neal

Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Came to Williamsburg to shop and enjoy the festivities. Hotel is older, tired... Meet on the first floor with housekeepers complaining and cursing a monster themselves. Room is small and tight. Old! Pool area OK. Hottest looks like a science project. Needs cleaning! Paper thin walls. Loud! LOUD IN THE HALL! Parking lot is poorly light. It will take a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tweetyishe
nchalkley, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Historic District, responded to this review

I am sory we did not meet your needs - the hotel is currently under renovations and will be completed in Spring. Right now thinks are a little messy due to construction. I will talk with housekeeping and get that straight right away - I am sorry for their actions and will correct. Thanks Neal

Deal Island, Maryland
Reviewed 30 November 2016

I like the hotel overall, but there were negatives. 1, Pets are permitted, which means loud dogs barked every time the elevator dinged. The pool was a great size, but the hot tub needed a good scrubbing. There's no microwave in the room, which was a bummer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kari_Alice
nchalkley, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Historic District, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. We are pet friendly and I am sorry the dog kept bothering you. Next visit if you let front desk know we will notify the guest and require them to keep dog quite and that usually cures the situation. We have Microwaves on the list to do during the remodel stage in Spring to Summer. I...

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.3 km away
Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area
0.6 km away
Rodeway Inn Historic
Rodeway Inn Historic
#41 of 76 in Williamsburg
67 reviews
1.2 km away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#51 of 76 in Williamsburg
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
3.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn
0.1 km away
Bluegreen Vacations Patrick Henry Sqr, Ascend Resort Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Clarion Hotel Historic District is located just steps away from where it all began. The hotel is within walking distance of Colonial Williamsburg; two miles to Busch Gardens Europe and Water Country USA; only minutes to Jamestown and other area attractions. The College of William and Mary is less than two miles. Williamsburg Premium Outlet is less than five miles. Whether visiting the colonial capital for sightseeing, golfing, or shopping, the Clarion Hotel Historic District is the perfect choice for your accommodations. Guest rooms have coffee makers, spacious work desks, hairdryers, irons, ironing boards, voice mail, cable television and include free local calls. Select rooms also have microwaves and refrigerators. Guest amenities include an indoor heated pool, hot tub, exercise facility, free wireless high-speed Internet, free parking, free coffee, free daily newspaper and onsite security. We are pet-friendly and a non-smoking hotel. Daddyo's is our full-service restaurant and lounge. In addition, we have 3000 square feet of flexible meeting/banquet facilities and a dedicated catering staff to ensure your meeting or banquet is destined to make history! Just choose from one of our pre-planned meeting or banquet packages and we will take care of all the details! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Historic District

Address: 351 York St, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4516 (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton Williamsburg Historic District)
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Price Range: ₹ 3,618 - ₹ 7,782 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Choice Hotels so you can book your Clarion Hotel Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Historic District
Clarion Hotel Williamsburg
Sheraton Williamsburg
Williamsburg Four Points
Williamsburg Sheraton
Four Points Williamsburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clarion Hotel Historic District staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Clarion Hotel Historic District staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The room across from the ice machine was noisy all night”
 of 5 bubbles camillep238, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The loudness was only related to the dogs, it would be fine otherwise.”
 of 5 bubbles Kari_Alice, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“rooms on higher floors are quitter.”
 of 5 bubbles 378stephs, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't get a ground room, sounded like a party in the parking lot in the middle of the night.”
 of 5 bubbles dstutelberg2016, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“there is only one elevator. Ask for one near it.”
 of 5 bubbles AlienSong8, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay