We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway

Save
Share
331 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2922
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Traveluro
Travelocity
Comfort Inn
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (156)
360
Panoramas (23)
Room & Suite (176)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 10/12/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway
Updated 10/12/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 74 hotels in Williamsburg
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Welcome to the new Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway! Get in touch with a slice of history while basking in southern hospitality at the Comfort Inn(R) Williamsburg Gateway hotel in Williamsburg, VA near Colonial Williamsburg and Busch Gardens. Our non-smoking family hotel in Williamsburg puts guests within steps of popular attractions like: Busch Gardens, Water Country USA, Williamsburg Premium Outlets, William and Mary, and Williamsburg Winery Get going with a great breakfast. Start your trip to Williamsburg with our free hot breakfast offering everything from eggs, waffles and meat to healthy options like yogurt and fresh fruit. Soak up the sun on our patio deck or take a dip in our oversized seasonal outdoor pool. You can also break a sweat in our 24-hour fitness center or take care of family needs in our guest laundry facilities. All guest rooms offer a coffee maker, desk, sitting area, microwave, refrigerator, iron and board. Some rooms feature a sofa sleeper, in-room tea and coffee and kitchenette.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Kids stay free
Children's television networks
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Modern
Languages Spoken
English
1226Reviews42Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 750
  • 350
  • 89
  • 25
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Krystal wrote a review 26 Jun
Washington DC, District of Columbia3 contributions3 helpful votes
My card was charged too much at check in, and when I attempted to explain it to the clerk she continued to tell me it was $100 for incidentals when it was actually another $500. Hoping to see if those charges fall off. On my second night I was awaken out of my sleep at 4am because the police was apprehending and detaining a couple in the hallway. This entire fiasco lasted until 6am… so needless to say I didn’t get any sleep. They are shouting and talking loudly the entire two hours. I asked the front desk about compensation due to the inconvenience but they acted clueless. Outside of those two incidents everything was okay. I probably wouldn’t stay here again since I didn’t feel like my time, and money, or comfortability was respected
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Go634086 wrote a review 18 Jun
1 contribution
Pleasently surprised. Only stayed one night but splurged for the suite. Kids got their own bedroom and bathrooom. Even has tv rooom with microwave, small fridge and breakfast table with 4 chairs. We were able to tuck our kids in and relax while the slept. Nice perk after a long day if driving and walking around Jamestown!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Naresh Naran, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway
Responded 1 week ago
Go634086: Thank you for your review. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and you had a suite that you all could relax. We hope to see you again soon. Have a great summer. We appreciate the "shout out " to go for the suite". Regards Naresh GM
Read more
Lynne wrote a review 14 Jun
Fredericksburg, Virginia55 contributions23 helpful votes
Stayed here last June when we celebrated our anniversary. Our regular hotel was full. Clean room, quiet, perfect location-close to restaurants, the outlets, the historic area--great stay! Maid service was available if requested, otherwise you could pick up clean towels, etc. at the desk. Very friendly desk clerks.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Naresh Naran, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Labassist: Thank you for your review. Happy Anniversary! - Thank you for kind words. We will pass on your compliments and comments to our staff. We hope to see you again. Regards Naresh N General Manager
Read more
nute26 wrote a review 10 Jun
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania113 contributions105 helpful votes
Place is very clean and a nice place to stay. However, the check in is horrible!!! Arrived and went in to register and the desk Clark was on the phone, I assume on business, at least I hope so. After nearly 15 minutes he hung up. This is uncalled for!! He could have asked his phone party to wait. Next I was told they needed my credit card, even though I paid for the room when I booked it. I asked why and was told it was needed for the $50 miscellaneous damage fee. WHAT, I’ve traveled all over and never been charged for something like this! I was told I would get it back upon check out. Time will tell!!! As in nearly every place I stay all your information is entered on booking, not this place, everything was put in at the time of registration. All in all, from the time I went thru the door until left it was at least 25-30 minutes. Unheard of! Life is short, enjoy everyday.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Naresh Naran, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear nute26: Thank you for your review. It is great you hear that you found our hotel "very clean and a nice place to stay". We do apologize that you found your check in process "horrible". We so authorize $50.00 for every guest at check in. The only way to authorize, is to request your card at check in, this is for any incidentals. During your check in and our front desk requesting your card, was minimal. You had insisted to call your bank to verify your authorization, this now did take time, since you were insisting to call them, hence it took "25-30 mins". Upon check out your $50.00 authorization was dropped off. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We wish you the best for your future stays. Regards Naresh General Manager
Read more
MikeAllenNashville wrote a review May 2022
Nashville89 contributions24 helpful votes
In the area for an couples trip. Booked a 3 night stay based on TripAdvisor reviews & a very reasonable price. We were pleasantly surprised how clean & well kept the facility was & were very pleased with the room. The staff was friendly & welcoming. Breakfast was enjoyable & consistent each morning. Would not hesitate to recommend to family & friends. I believe the recent bad reviews posted are for another location just down the street.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Naresh Naran, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear MikeAllenNashville: Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you had enjoyed your stay with us and that you had found our hotel to be clean and well kept. We will pass on yur compliments to our staff, especially our breakfast hostess. We appreciate your referrals and look forward to your return. Regards Naresh GM
Read more
MykeWinstonSalem wrote a review May 2022
Winston Salem, North Carolina46 contributions26 helpful votes
The woman who checked me took 15+ minutes to get it down even with me booking on the Choice app which helps speed the process up and was rude to me the whole time. There were people dealing drugs outside all day long. The breakfast area was full of non guests, I spoke to a few of them and they told me they come there every day just to eat. The front desk staff were extremely unfriendly.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Stay away, got to the Comfort Suites across the road
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Naresh Naran, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear MykeWinstonSalem: Thank you for your review. MykeWinstonSalem, we do belive that your review was for another hotel. We donot have any activity in or around our property nor do we allow any "non guests" in our breakfast area. Please doublecheck your reservations and receipts from the hotel you had stayed. We hope that you have better luck in your future stays Regards Naresh GM
Read more
Ronald P wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Horrible hotel. Booked last minute for son’s graduation from William & Mary,. Our other accommodations fell thru. I booked thru Expedia, went to check in and there is blood all over in the lobby. Also lady at desk could not find reservation. Hotel lobby furniture was filthy, so I knew the rooms would be dirty. Teenagers walking around barefoot outside and inside. Lady told us our reservation probably was at the other Comfort Inn, which was a momentary relief. Found this to be untrue. Calls the hotel back, oh we do see your reservation now, even though we told her we just booked the 1st time. Went back because we were desperate at this point & police & ambulances all over. I refused to stay there. By Gods grace, Doybletreehad rooms left. Canceled with Expedia immediately.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Naresh Naran, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway
Responded 4 weeks ago
Ronald P: Thank you for your review. It was great to hear that you booked with expedia at our hotel, and as you know that the booking was for the Friday 20th not the Thursday 19th. We could see how that would have been fustrating. During your 20 min visit of our hotel, one of our school tour group had a child cut themselves and the child ran to the front desk for help. Our front desk staff was quick to respond and call 911, as we do for all emergencies, and immediately gave her attention to the child. Once the emergency crew arrived, she began to clean the "trail" of blood according to our protocol. Cudos to our staff in reacting swiftly and making the guest our priority. During all this, she was also attempting to assit your reservation needs. We do apologize that you had to view our emergency vehicles and our front desk agent in action. It was great to know that you had found accomodations at another hotel at the last minute. We wish you the best in you future hotel stays Thank you Naresh
Read more
George W wrote a review Mar 2022
Avon, Ohio16 contributions1 helpful vote
Very well run hotel. All areas extremely clean and well maintained. Staff from front desk, supervisors, and breakfast attendant very nice and welcoming. Daily maid service was appreciated. Maid was very observant when straightening up the room. She notice a little blood on a pillow case and changed the case out when making the bed. Would highly recommend this Inn.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Naresh Naran, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway
Responded 26 Mar 2022
Dear George W Thank you for your review. We appreciate your kind words and compliments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and our staff gave you that personal touch. We will pass on your comments to our staff. We hope you have a great rest of the year and we hope to see you again soon. Regards Naresh N General Manger
Read more
DBiggs wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
I had a wonderful visit of four days. All of the people were so pleasant and helpful. I was there to help a friend through surgery. The hotel was extremely clean, no odors, and fairly newly renovated. The hallways were clean and the breakfast room area was very clean. The breakfast was more than adequate. They very graciously supplied everything that we needed. I would absolutely choose this hotel again. It also is extremely convenient to everything in the Williamsburg area. The beds were very comfortable and the room spacious. The bathrooms were immaculate. It has been a long time since I’ve had such a nice visit in a hotel. Thanks to the staff!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Naresh Naran, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway
Responded 13 Feb 2022
Dear DBiggs3612: Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that your friend is doing well after the surgery. It was great to hear that your found the hotel clean. It will be our pleasure to have you visit us again. Look forward to seeing you soon. Regards Naresh N General Manager
Read more
A R wrote a review Jan 2022
Durham, North Carolina23 contributions10 helpful votes
We stayed for quick trip to Jamestown/CW/Yorktown in January. These folks wanted our business. The front staff of Gillian & Michele were professional & genuinely courteous. There was a miscomm on our end what type of room we had wanted w one person & turns out the one we really wanted was more expensive then we had thought. Michele was able find a room & rate that made everyone happy. They listened to us, we were not rushed. Later that evening my phone signed onto wifi no problem but my laptop would not. Michele helped me get signed in so I could get wifi working. The bed was very comfortable & we slept great. We expected w covid to have a plain breakfast but we were pleasantly surprised w a nice hot breakfast w eggs, meat, waffle maker, etc. Several fruits & a nice lady stocking & helping patrons. Nice bathroom, lots of hot water & the tv channels were great & picture quality nice too. We'd give it 6 stars for the value for what we paid & great customer service. Bravo!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Naresh Naran, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway
Responded 13 Feb 2022
Dear AR: Thank you for your review. We are please that you enjoyed your stay with us and our staff could correct your accomodation and were able to assist you in your laptop issues. It was great to hear that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary hot breakfast. We hope to see you again soon. Regards Naresh N General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$115 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
days inn historic area hotel williamsburg, days inn colonial, days inn williamsburg virginia, days inn historic williamsburg, williamsburg days inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Days Inn Historic Area
LOCATION
United StatesVirginiaWilliamsburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
116
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway
Which popular attractions are close to Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway?
Nearby attractions include Silver Hand Meadery (1.1 km), Whitley's Peanut Factory (0.8 km), and Pirate's Cove Adventure Golf (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le Yaca French Restaurant, Sal's By Victor, and Amiraj.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Williamsburg.
Are any cleaning services offered at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Colonial Williamsburg (1.4 km), Bassett Hall (2.7 km), and George Wythe House (1.7 km).
Is Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.