We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Breakers Resort Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Breakers Resort Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

367 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 364: English reviews
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

First, I requested a room on a top floor in my reservation. I did not get it. Ok, not a big deal. So i was put on the bottom floor right in front of the door to the outside. This hotel needs A LOT OF WORK!! The painting of this hotel is horrible!! I went to check my room and... More 

Helpful?
Thank India B
breakersvb, Manager at The Breakers Resort Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not have a good experience but several issues need to be addressed. You made your reservation a few hours before you arrived and requested an upper story room. We were almost completely sold out and yours was the last room available of the type you booked. We simply didn't have any higher rooms like you... More 

Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the second time we've come to the beach area to visit family and stayed at the Breakers. We visit the area frequently and usually try to stay oceanfront.This is one of our favorite hotels, for the location, cleanliness and affordability. The rooms are great, the balconies are perfect, and it's nice to have a small fridge and microwave.

Helpful?
Thank Susan K
breakersvb, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort Inn, responded to this review

Hi there! Thank you for your kind review! We appreciate you staying with us time and again. Our staff looks forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Virginia Beach! Cordially, The Breakers Resort Inn More 

Lorton, Virginia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I double checked (4 times) to make sure the reviews listed are for the same place I stayed in last month. First, the good. The picture window beachfront room I stayed in provided a beautiful view of brilliant sun rise and sun sets. Now the rest: it's an older facility that is decaying. All the carpeting I saw definitely needed... More 

Helpful?
Thank throckmortonSanaa
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Breakers Inn view is amazing. You are right on the center of the boardwalk. Steps from the beach. Hotel staff is super friendly. Hotel is an older property but well maintained. Rooms are spacious and love the furnished kitchenette. We are coming back in three weeks. Quick dive to Dam Neck

Helpful?
Thank Sheila S
breakersvb, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort Inn, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are fortunate to have such a wonderful location with gorgeous views of the boardwalk, beach, and Atlantic Ocean. Our staff works diligently to ensure you have the best possible experience while staying with us. We are so pleased you noticed! We look forward to welcoming you back in... More 

Maryland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2016

We stayed at the Breakers for 8 nights over Labor Day weekend. Unfortunately a tropical storm came up the coast and most of the American Music Festival was cancelled. But that didn't stop us from having a great vacation! We loved our oceanfront room and balcony. We ate breakfast in the hotel cafe many days. Jimmie is a riot and... More 

Helpful?
Thank mindyroo
breakersvb, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort Inn, responded to this review

Hi there! Thank you so much for such a kind review. It means so much that you return to us year after year. It would be most difficult to do what we do without repeat guests like yourself! We look forward to welcoming you back next year! More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Hotel staff great & worked with me to book a suite and connected room for four adults and six teenagers. Smallest hotel on boardwalk and older and family owned, but all was well. Minor complaint in only one elevator for guests and staff. Plenty of parking, easy in and out. Sadly, we picked the wrong time of year (2nd week... More 

Helpful?
Thank NickieD21
breakersvb, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort Inn, responded to this review

Hello! We are pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us! Whenever possible, we can make arrangements for a two room suite to adjoin a standard unit. We are so pleased we were able to accommodate your family! Myrtle Beach is approximately 4 and a half hours down the coast from Virginia Beach, so their water temps may warm... More 

Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2016

This hotel was great! We got the King w/Jacuzzi. The room was very clean. Bathroom was a little small but that's nothing. It was oceanfront. So the view was incredible. Located close to the pier and the carnival across the street. Plenty of restaraunts to choose from. The staff was very friendly. Oh I almost forgot about the café inside... More 

Helpful?
Thank Yvette J
breakersvb, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review! Happy anniversary! More 

Rhodesdale, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Booked an oceanfront king Jacuzzi room (stayed in 803). Room was clean and sufficient. Bed was comfortable. Jacuzzi tub was nice. Check in was no problem. This room has an obstructed view of the ocean; there is a wall on the south side so your view is 50%. Parking can be tough, especially in a larger vehicle. Two nice things:... More 

Helpful?
Thank mwk1450
breakersvb, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort Inn, responded to this review

Hi there! Thank you so much for your kind words and choosing to spend such a special occasion with us. Congratulations to you both on another wonderful year together, and we hope to welcome you back to Virginia Beach again soon! More 

Berlin, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2016

If you book this hotel for a suite...do NOT take room 801. The fridge smells like a dead fish. Tried to clean it with sliced lemons, baking soda and vinegar. Put coffee grounds in there too. Could not utilize what I was paying for. It rained when we got there, the ceiling was leaking. Called the front desk, came right... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kim H
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2016

The Breakers is a small family owned Hotel, we had a great stay here. Our room/suite was clean and comfortable. The hotel staff was super friendly (front desk and housekeeping)! I believe all rooms have oceanfront views with a balcony. Small ocean front pool. They have bikes available for guest to use. I was a little concerned booking at a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Scorpio7073
breakersvb, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words! We are pleased you appreciate we are still one of the few non chain family owned resorts on the Virginia Beach Ocean Front. We do our best to insure our guests enjoy a special and memorable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Breakers Resort Inn the next time you visit... More 

354 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (110)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (25)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (240)
Viewed
Beach (28)
Viewed
King Room (44)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Standard Room (49)
Viewed
The Hotel (50)
Viewed
Two Room Suite (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
14.0 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center
Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beac...
#47 of 108 in Virginia Beach
267 reviews
1.5 km away
Schooner Inn
Schooner Inn
#49 of 108 in Virginia Beach
392 reviews
2.4 km away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#27 of 108 in Virginia Beach
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
#30 of 108 in Virginia Beach
921 reviews
0.3 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia ...
#25 of 108 in Virginia Beach
672 reviews
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of Virginia Beach, The Breakers Resort Inn is convienient to shopping, dining, nightlife and attractions. Our friendly staff will ensure your stay with us is a memorable experience. We offer all oceanfront rooms and suites that your family will enjoy, as well as our King rooms with in-room Jacuzzi for a romantic couple's get a way. We look forward to welcoming you to The Breakers Resort Inn when you vacation in Virginia Beach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Breakers Resort Inn

Address: 1503 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3420
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Price Range: ₹ 4,582 - ₹ 8,276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Breakers Resort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Virginia Beach
Breakers Hotel Virginia Beach
The Breakers Resort Inn Virginia Beach
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Virginia Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#24 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#29 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Breakers Resort Inn staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 month ago
3 months ago
Philippi,WV
10 months ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Breakers Resort Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The suites are on the corners, so that was a bonus. Our room was on the opposite side of the hotel from elevator which was good too.”
 of 5 bubbles NickieD21, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Better Views from higher floors, but ask about that south wall.”
 of 5 bubbles mwk1450, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Stay away from Suite 801.”
 of 5 bubbles A6190UKkimh, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are oceanfront”
 of 5 bubbles Scorpio7073, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are ocean front so any room will do.”
 of 5 bubbles Annmcdo, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay