We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Royal Clipper Inn and Suites

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Royal Clipper Inn and Suites
Royal Clipper Inn and Suites
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

444 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Royal Clipper Inn and Suites
See the most recent reviews
Showing 434: English reviews
Virginia
Reviewed 12 August 2016

Plus: Hotel is clean, fridge, blow dryer (wasn't in great shape but at least they had one), able to have packages delivered from amazon, across the street from beach, and there are choices of restaurants nearby Cons: Pool max is 12 (yes 12), a/c wasn't the best but this place is like a motel more than a hotel, yes you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mommy-Traveler-1967
DannielleQ, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Clipper Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we greatly appreciate your time in writing this review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our great location across from the beach as well as all our amenities. Unfortunately our pool is not the largest so we can only have as many people as the inspectors say we can, for this I apologize. I...

Harrisonburg, Virginia
Reviewed 9 August 2016

I have stayed in this motel twice. Both times, the rooms were clean. Granted, it's a small motel, so the bathrooms are small, and the beds are only doubles (king is an option as well), but for the price, I think it's great. Staff was very friendly and let us check in when we got there at 11:30am, as our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy R
DannielleQ, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Clipper Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a nice review! We greatly appreciate you taking time to leave us feedback. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our staff and our rooms. We are a smaller property, however we always do our best to provide you with a wonderful experience here at the Royal Clipper. We hope...

Maryland
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Room was clean, comfortable, reasonably priced and one block away from the beach. I will stay there again. My only complaint: the elevator. Elevator was dirty and smelly. They can easily fix that if they wanted to.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank esco79ph
DannielleQ, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Clipper Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor! We greatly appreciate your feedback as a guest. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with our convenient location across from the beach and affordable rooms. We have spoken with our housekeeping supervisor about the elevator and taken care of the issue. Thank you for choosing to...

Mason, Ohio
Reviewed 28 July 2016

The room was clean and it was close to the beach which was a plus.They make your bed everyday if you want and give you new towels but they don't change the sheets until you leave! I am use to a place where they change sheets every time they make the beds. The pool is way too small for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank crowleyboys
DannielleQ, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Clipper Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank your time taken to write this review, as we appreciate all the feedback. I am sorry that our housekeeping did not exceed the level of service you would have liked. We will work with our housekeeping department to resolve this issue. Unfortunately the pool is smaller than most, but being right across the street from the beach we find...

Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Royal Clipper this past week for a Dance Convention and want to say it was a great location on the strip and the staff was just as helpful and pleasant and nice as can be. This hotel is not on the beach nor have an ocean view but......the ocean is about 20 steps across the street and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beverly M
DannielleQ, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Clipper Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review and kind comments! Guest feedback is greatly appreciated. Our staff aims to go above and beyond what is expected from customer service professionals and we will pass your comments on to them. Our location across the street from the beach is very convenient and because it is not one of the oceanfront high rise...

Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

Vacationed here with my girlfriend's family, who had a time share, on the beach near 5th Street. It was a gift and we were booked through AAA, whom said this Inn was a 3.5 Star location.....not(more of a 2-2.5)! Early check in, was not an option, as we arrived 4 hours early due to traveling from a few states away....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
DannielleQ, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Clipper Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. Your feedback as guest is greatly appreciated. I would like to apologize for the billing issues you encountered as there seems to have been some sort of miscommunication from AAA. However we do not recommend booking though a third party booker as it can complicate billing issues more. When booking directly...

Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 5 July 2016

Clean room, but small (full beds only). Staff very friendly and responsive. Full time staff is excellent, but some of the housekeeping staff skip rooms / tasks - We had to call to get room cleaned on more than one occasion. Convenient Location across street from beach / boardwalk. All in all, we will be back as the value for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kenneth P
DannielleQ, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Clipper Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. Guest feedback is always very appreciated! I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us at our convenient location as well as found our staff tobe kind. I see you mentioned our beds beings smaller, however we do offer rooms with one king size bed as well. We have brought the issue of housekeepers...

Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

It's kinda of a you get what you pay for. I will say the room was clean but staff the first evening/night was rude. We had an efficiency for 6 but they only have us 6 pillows and told is we couldn't have more and our toilet broke that first evening and the guy on shift said he would call...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sara N
DannielleQ, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Clipper Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. Your feedback is very much appreciated. I apologize that you had an unpleasant encounter with one of our team members and we have had a meeting with our staff to remind them this is not acceptable. We are glad you enjoyed our location right across the street from the beach that helps...

Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

The elevator had some trouble. The pool is way too small. The bathroom is way too small. There's no kitchen. My mother and I had a little trouble finding the elevator and the Loby. They should have a bigger pool and make the "Lobby" more noticeable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kayla R
DannielleQ, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Clipper Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We greatly appreciate your time in writing this review! We have checked with or maintenance department to confirm that any issues you encountered with the elevator have been fixed. Unfortunately the pool is smaller than most as we are conveniently located across the street from the beach and most of our guests spend their days...

Stanardsville, Virginia
Reviewed 24 June 2016

Another great vacation on the VA Beach boardwalk at 36th street. The Royal Clipper is exactly what our family wants--year after year! We have no regrets, as we get good value for our money. The music at 31st Street was within walking distance and very enjoyable. We look forward to coming back next June!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark M
DannielleQ, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Clipper Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor! We greatly appreciate your kind comments. Our rooms and suites are certainly affordable at our excellent location right across the street from the beach. We thank you for your continuous patronage and we hope to see you next year!

147 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (67)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (72)
Viewed
Amenities (3)
Viewed
Double Room (15)
Viewed
King Suite (28)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
The Hotel (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
3.7 km away
Schooner Inn
Schooner Inn
#49 of 109 in Virginia Beach
393 reviews
1.9 km away
19 Atlantic Hotel
19 Atlantic Hotel
#60 of 109 in Virginia Beach
319 reviews
1.4 km away
Ocean Suites
Ocean Suites
#64 of 109 in Virginia Beach
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Oceanfront Inn
The Oceanfront Inn
#19 of 109 in Virginia Beach
449 reviews
3.3 km away
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#35 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,834 reviews
18.0 km away
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Norfolk
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Nor...
#39 of 109 in Virginia Beach
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Royal Clipper Inn and Suites

Address: 36th Street & Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach > Northeast Virginia Beach
Price Range: ₹ 4,839 - ₹ 13,912 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Clipper Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Royal Clipper Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Clipper Hotel Virginia Beach
Royal Clipper Motel
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Clipper Inn and Suites staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Toano, Virginia
over a year ago
Osgood, Indiana, United States
7 months ago
Elkton, Maryland

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Clipper Inn and Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms in front corner of the building had a scant view of the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles PatPW5, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“One can always check the room out before accepting”
 of 5 bubbles billwC2769NT, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are good and one block from the ocean.”
 of 5 bubbles markmL2391VX, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Choose 3rd thru 5th floor 308 or up”
 of 5 bubbles nkchs1946, 15 May 2016 | Read review
“Higher floor and towards the end by the street...you get an ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles OceanBrze, 22 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5