We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dolphin Inn

Booking.comUS$ 201*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Dolphin Inn
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

316 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Dolphin Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 313: English reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile

I was worried after I booked hotel. I didn't read reviews before hand.I read them after and was so worried. The room was super clean. We got ended up with a king size bed and living area. Thank goodness pull out couch so my son had the whole living area to himself. Room was on 1st floor so we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie F
GM0047, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience, and I am so sorry to learn that we failed to meet your expectations of quality service and accommodations. We value your opinion and suggestions for improvement as these comments help us to improve upon the guest experience at our hotel. We greatly appreciate your time in bringing a number of important matters to...

Reviewed 9 June 2016 via mobile

Had mixed emotions about this Hotel but it was clean and had some new furniture and they are in the process of renovations great view from rooms they are actually oceanfront apartments which makes it even better with a family lots of room and they provide daily housekeeping.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tangee T
GM0047, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

We are driven by the motivation of giving our guests the best service there is to offer, and it gives us great joy to know that we have done a good job in attending to your needs. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and sharing to us your positive experience regarding the appreciation you have for our reliable...

Frackville, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 12 May 2016

the suits are big enough for family with 4 to 5 people. suits are really spacious and comfortable . You can see ocean from your suits , balcony just on board walk . And many shops and restaurants on walking distance. suites are not updated but roomy and clean. Very nice staff.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kvesuwala
GM0047, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your review and giving us an honest look at the guest experience in our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed the value and the convenient location of our hotel! We are delighted by your compliments, rating and review of our high housekeeping and hospitality standards. Your thorough review is greatly appreciated! We are...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 21 April 2016

The suites are spacious, comfortably accommodating a family of six, with three beds and a sleeper sofa. Full kitchen is a big plus. Huge bathtub! Room décor is not high-end, but very functional. Rooms are clean. Rooftop indoor heated pool is very small, so don't expect privacy. Overall, a good value, especially for large groups.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank P. M
GM0047, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to recognize our staff for their exemplary work in providing clean and comfortable experience for our valued guests. Our staff is highly trained to give you an exceptional experience, and to provide our customers the best we can offer in a reasonable price. I am glad that we were able to meet your...

Reviewed 8 April 2016 via mobile

"Hotel has a tendency to lose reservations." Harsh words. According to several of our "secret spies" this is exactly what they have had problems with when staying in this particular hotel. But word from management during a walk through of one of their rooms is there are several renovations being completed and the hotel is taking a turn in management...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Aubrey S
GM0047, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for reporting this incident you had in the hotel. We are already making reports about this so the management will be informed by this news. We are very sorry about your disappointment but rest assured, your concerns will be highly appreciated to better our services to our dear customers. We hope you can consider us again after the...

South Hill, Virginia
Reviewed 4 April 2016

It's cheap, but there is a REASON it's cheap! STAY AWAY- GO NORTH, pay more money, whatever you have to do to avoid the disappointment we experienced!! Pulling in, it's SCARY! The parking area is DIRTY, the check in area is shady! You get a bad feeling right away...listen to your instinct! We got an email ONE DAY before check-in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Beth F
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

I am terribly sorry to learn that you experienced so much difficulty during your stay. It is through feedback like yours that we are able to quickly address housekeeping and maintenance issues. The fact that we've failed in this regard is very disheartening. On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for choosing our hotel and hope you give...

Staunton, Virginia
Reviewed 14 March 2016

Absolutely worst experience with Customer Service I have ever experience. I booked a room with this hotel through Expedia for a Saturday night and requested early check in. As advertised, I paid for a suite room, which is supposed to include a Jacuzzi tub. When we arrived and checked in, the room was completely disgusting. There were stains all over...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank falln2piecez
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Your review is greatly appreciated, though it is very disappointing to learn of the bad impression we made with the state of our accommodations. I am sorry for any rudeness that you encountered with this situation and I assure you that your comments have been addressed with our entire staff and management team to ensure that no similar incident occurs...

Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewed 28 February 2016

Trust me....don't go there. The website picture looks nice right...LOFL. After you check in and you park up on the upper lot, you have to dodge the construction dumpster, the trash, and the cones. THEN you have to step over the scrap materials , prices of sheet rock, tools , and hold your breath for the sheet rock dust will...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jerry H
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the housekeeping issues that you encountered during your stay in our hotel. We thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we want to assure you that the housekeeping issues which you have brought to our attention are being addressed with renewed efforts to improve upon our policies to ensure that...

Broadway, Virginia
Reviewed 25 February 2016 via mobile

Construction debris in hallway. Dried vomit on balcony, mysterious white stain on sofa, blood or worse on the doorframe to the bathroom. Whole place reeked of various kinds of smoke! Left immediately!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Carol G
GM0047, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience, and I am so sorry to learn that we failed to meet your expectations of quality service and accommodations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I hope that you...

Yorktown, Virginia
Reviewed 24 February 2016

This is not the place that I would spend a family vacation at but for a quick weekend getaway it was fine. It is an old hotel and it shows but we had a clean room and the staff were very nice and helpful. I would stay here again for another weekend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LouMacnabb
GM0047, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

I am so glad to hear from you and to discover that you enjoyed your stay with us so much.It is very rewarding to hear your perspective of our hotel and we appreciate that you have acknowledged our efforts to provide a clean, comfortable, and hospitable experience. On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for your business and...

151 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (143)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.0 km away
Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfron...
#73 of 109 in Virginia Beach
64 reviews
0.2 km away
The Breakers Resort Inn
The Breakers Resort Inn
#38 of 109 in Virginia Beach
383 reviews
0.3 km away
Capes Hotel
Capes Hotel
#33 of 109 in Virginia Beach
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villa...
#63 of 109 in Virginia Beach
290 reviews
0.4 km away
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#57 of 109 in Virginia Beach
185 reviews
0.2 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia ...
#26 of 109 in Virginia Beach
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Spacious Comfort Right on the Beach! This Virginia Beach, boutique hotel offers you and your family uncomplicated and uncompromised comfort and warm hospitality at a truly great value. Located at the very heart of the 3-mile long boardwalk, this all suite, all oceanfront property provides space and amenities at an unbeatable location. The Dolphin Inn is the perfect place to experience your special Virginia Beach vacation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dolphin Inn

Address: 1705 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3424
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Price Range: ₹ 9,632 - ₹ 36,264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dolphin Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Virginia Beach
Dolphin Virginia Beach
Dolphin Inn Virginia Beach Va
Hotel Style:
#50 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dolphin Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Dolphin Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't give your hard earned money to this place!”
crystalw232, 11 May 2017 | Read review
“No good rooms here!”
nanaof3, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Possibly the worse hotel I have been to...EVER”
seashelly321, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Beach front Rooms have the perfect view, but over priced for a "Motel". Not the best quality. Motel needs upgrading badly.”
plogan0854, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Perfect for a family of 4 or more”
buttonluver7, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 201* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$ 203
PricelineUS$ 201
Hotwire.comUS$ 203
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates