We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Founders Inn and Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Founders Inn and Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,033 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Founders Inn and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,018: English reviews
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Reviewed 15 August 2015

This is the 3rd year I have been back for my Graduate Residency at Regent and I thoroughly have enjoyed my stay every time! Hejasmine is the best at having a room comfortable and ready after a long day at school.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry S
Reviewed 13 August 2015

We stayed 1 night on our way to the Outer Banks and found this beautiful Inn to be located on impeccably landscaped grounds. Our room had a feel of southern charm and was, for the most part, very clean. The only unclean part was the room fridge which was full of bottles and food ~( I am sure it was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anne S
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Anne S, Thank you for your kind review. I am so happy that you were able to enjoy our ammenities. I do hope that you you will come back and stay again. Sincerely, Ellen Ruane General Manager

New Providence, New Jersey
Reviewed 12 August 2015

It's a fantastic property with nice rooms and a friendly staff. The hotel has many dining options very close by which is another big plus. You're looking at about a 15 minute drive to the boardwalk from this location. Overall, I'd recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quality hotel at a good "non-boardwalk" price.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank baez578
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear baez578, Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. When visiting Virginia Beach again I hope you will choose to stay with us. Sincerely, Ellen Ruane General Manager

Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewed 12 August 2015 via mobile

The rooms here are nice, the grounds are beautiful, the front desk staff needs some training and a bit of hopitality training.lots of people waiting to check in but no rooms released until 4, even though they weren't sold out, and they weren't considerate or helpful at all.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Deborahk68
Reviewed 11 August 2015

We booked this hotel because it was close to the fields on a weekend sporting event. What a fabulous find. Outstanding hotel with great ammenities. Fantastic outdoor pool area with large waterslide perfect for after games and keeping the kids cool. Indoor pool for those rainy days. Above average gym. Immaculate grounds rival disney land. A great stay!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kimberlyaeb
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Kimberlyaeb, Thank you for your kind review. I am happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the pools and workout center. I hope that you will stay with us again when in the area. Sincerely, Ellen Ruane General Manager

St. Albert
Reviewed 11 August 2015

The Sunday Brunch lived up to the hype for sure. Delicious cheeses, seafood, breads, and everything in between. We have four small children, and they were welcomed wholeheartedly at the brunch. The property was perfect: beautiful and tranquil with a nice family feel too.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robin S
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewed 9 August 2015 via mobile

Again, I sound like a broken record, a wonderful visit!! The Staff remembers us, since we come here all of the time. They comment about the Kids and make sure to check on us. My Husband surprised me for my Birthday! Great present!! My Kids love the Indoor and Outdoor pools and the onsite playground. By the way, the food...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elizabeth M
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Elizabeth M, I am so happy that you were able to celebrate your Birthday with us! I hope your Birthday was wonderful. Sincerely, Ellen Ruane General Manager

Reviewed 9 August 2015 via mobile

This is our second visit to this Inn and we have thoroughly enjoyed our stay each time. Upon check in the staff at the front desk were pleasant & extremely professional. The lobby was a large area & was nicely decorated. It made us feel like we had walked into the foyer of a stately mansion. The room was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donald B
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Donald B, Thank you for your kind review. I am happy to hear that this is your second visit. Please return and bring your pups! We love having furry four legged family members join us! Sincerely, Ellen Ruane General Manager

Chesapeake, Virginia
Reviewed 9 August 2015

We had a fantastic time! This was a new experience for my husband, friends and I but would certainly do it again! The atmosphere was good the service from Nayeli was impeccable and the beverages and food was amazing! Great time had by all:)

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank cddjam4
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear cddjam4, I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed the beer pairing dinner. I will pass your kind words onto Nayeli. I hope that you will return to the Swan Terrace Grill again. Sincerely, Ellen Ruane General Manager

Reviewed 9 August 2015 via mobile

I've never written a review before but felt I needed to after our visit to the Founders Inn and Spa. The hotel is pretty from the outside but once you enter it is old and musty. The carpet in our room was duct taped in place, we had black mold in between the shower tiles and cracked tiles on the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 2Newport

888 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (284)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (96)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (112)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (542)
Viewed
Amenities (152)
Viewed
Colonial Queen (38)
Viewed
Double Queen (53)
Viewed
Fireplace Suite (48)
Viewed
Parlor Suite (68)
Viewed
Pool (21)
Viewed
Dining (55)
Viewed
The Hotel (107)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (62)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
20.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
973 reviews
6.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#3 of 109 in Virginia Beach
942 reviews
20.0 km away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
556 reviews
20.0 km away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
299 reviews
20.0 km away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The timeless Founders Inn and Spa is a Virginia Beach resort that pampers guests with the comforts of home, concierge attention and hi-tech conveniences. Select guest rooms with fireplaces and views of the serene lake and lovely Colonial garden are especially unforgettable. The Founders Inn and Spa features a wealth of excellent amenities and guest services including comfortable rooms and suite accommodations, in-house restaurants, a spa and fitness center, a shuttle service, pet-friendly rooms, complimentary wi-fi, a business center, special event spaces and meeting venues, to name a few. Whether it is a business stay, a family vacation, or a life event, we are looking forward to a chance to serve you at The Founders Inn and Spa near Norfolk, Virgnia. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Founders Inn and Spa

Address: 5641 Indian River Rd, Virginia Beach, VA 23464-5247
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Price Range: ₹ 6,467 - ₹ 13,683 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Founders Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Founders Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Founders Hotel Virginia Beach
Founders Hotel Virginia Beach
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Virginia Beach
#18 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#23 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Founders Inn and Spa staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Spring Hill, Florida
3 months ago
St. Thomas
29 days ago
20 days ago
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
2 months ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from The Founders Inn and Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upstairs rooms facing the gardens would be nice.”
 of 5 bubbles EdieB708, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room overlooking the garden if possible. The others look out on the parking lot.”
 of 5 bubbles , 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The suites are very nice!!”
 of 5 bubbles Journalin, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Even though there is not a microwave in the room, one is available by the vending machine.”
 of 5 bubbles 25carola, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose the James River Building and a room at the rear of the building and offer the quietest setting.”
 of 5 bubbles Dmonday, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay