We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Founders Inn and Spa

TravelocityUS$ 115*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 120*
US$ 115*
Great Deal
US$ 119*
US$ 119*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Founders Inn and Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,073 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Founders Inn and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,055: English reviews
Newberg
Reviewed 2 November 2015

Service was great, staff was excellent. I flew overnight, and was able to check in at 10 AM since there was a room available. I didn't go in the Spa, but the work-out facilities were great. Good beer in the Hunt Room!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank patrickkJ635SO
Melissa G, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us! I hope that you are able to take advantage of the wonderful treatments in The Flowering Almond Spa during your next visit.

Hinckley
Reviewed 2 November 2015

Bathrooms could use some updating (fresh paint and tile), otherwise a very nice room. The spa and the grounds are what make this place shine. Beautiful area foliage and fairly well maintained. Nice staff.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 576kathleend
Melissa G, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

We could not agree with you more regarding the bathrooms. We are starting our bathroom remodel in December and hope to have it finished by March. We welcome you back to the property next year so you can see the finished product.

Belton
Reviewed 2 November 2015

Beautiful location and really nice hotel. Enjoyed the grounds and the spa setup of the workout room and pool. Room was nice and simple. Base price was good and didn't involve numerous upcharges like some hotels do. Pool hours were a bit unusual for a hotel (open early morning but closing at 9:00 pm).

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 591martym
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear 591martym, Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I do hope that you will stay with us when in the area again. Sincerely, Ellen Ruane General Manager

Marion
Reviewed 2 November 2015

I didn't feel the front desk staff was really helpful in trying to find a package for me which was delivered to the hotel. Also, several items ordered from Swan Terrance picked up and taken back to the room were not correct.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank E7157WZjustinh
Melissa G, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

I am sorry that there was confusion with the front desk when you were trying to locate your package. We do have a secure room in our shipping department so our guests packages are safe and secure until they arrive. I will make sure the front desk staff is reminded on this procedure and location.

Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewed 2 November 2015

Nice bathroom shower stall, quiet hotel, excellent location just 5 minutes from my sisters house. Beds lumpy need to be updated. This hotel is beautifully decorated during the holidays. Staff is helpful.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank T M
Melissa G, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Virginia Beach. We are glad you enjoyed the holiday decorations and we are still busy decorating for the next few weeks. I hope you are able to come back soon and see the finished product.

Stafford
Reviewed 31 October 2015

I would not return despite the beautiful location and grounds because the room was dirty. Dyfuvuvutzdfxcgvhbuhitdttgfyguguvjyfydyfyxfycugugggfddtdhchvuvuvuguufyydffyfyffugjhuudtdydtyfyyfydtstdyydtdffhff

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank theresas22
Melissa G, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that the room was not up to your standards when you arrive at The Founders Inn. We pride ourselves with offering a clean hotel and I am sorry that we fell short with your room. Please know that this is not the norm, and we hope you come back and give us another try.

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewed 31 October 2015

We were told we would be in a king bed...per our contract. We were put in a full size bed and was told it was a queen. Staff had attitudes and told us our contract did not say that...they couldn't find the contract conveniently. We will never do business here again!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank unhappypatron2015
Melissa G, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

You are correct that your group should have been given king beds. The group contact brought this to our attention and all future events have been fixed. I am sorry that you did not receive a king bed during check in, but the situation has been corrected moving forward.

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 30 October 2015

We have stayed here several times and love it more every time. The staff is absolutely wonderful and very helpful, rooms are clean and very comfortable. Our children love how the main building "smells!"

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawn S
Melissa G, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Virginia Beach. I will be sure to let our housekeeping department know they did a good job cleaning the main building.

Fredericksburg
Reviewed 29 October 2015

Expected the rooms to be more updated but they were fair. The service was good and the check in/out process was great. I was originally given two rooms with one bed each but called to request double beds in each room and was quickly accommodated. Nice stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank CPClarke
Melissa G, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at The Founders Inn and Spa. I am so happy to hear that we were able to accommodate your room request and we look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 28 October 2015

Overall the place is very beautiful. The campus is exquisite the room is clean/spacious and the spa is fascinating. However, the downsides were the room service (which was ok but one night no one ever came) and the restaurant which was HORRIBLE!! In fact, if it was not for the restaurant, this would be a 4/5 star review. In conclusion,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HisTyNess
Melissa G, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you did not have the best experience with our restaurant. I am not sure if it was the food quality or level of service, but either way, that is not the norm for us. I hope you give us another chance in the future.

922 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (311)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (100)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (126)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (542)
Viewed
Amenities (152)
Viewed
Colonial Queen (38)
Viewed
Double Queen (53)
Viewed
Fireplace Suite (48)
Viewed
Parlor Suite (68)
Viewed
Pool (21)
Viewed
Dining (55)
Viewed
The Hotel (107)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (69)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
20.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
20.1 km away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,815 reviews
20.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
573 reviews
20.0 km away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
338 reviews
6.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#4 of 109 in Virginia Beach
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The timeless Founders Inn and Spa is a Virginia Beach resort that pampers guests with the comforts of home, concierge attention and hi-tech conveniences. Select guest rooms with fireplaces and views of the serene lake and lovely Colonial garden are especially unforgettable. The Founders Inn and Spa features a wealth of excellent amenities and guest services including comfortable rooms and suite accommodations, in-house restaurants, a spa and fitness center, a shuttle service, pet-friendly rooms, complimentary wi-fi, a business center, special event spaces and meeting venues, to name a few. Whether it is a business stay, a family vacation, or a life event, we are looking forward to a chance to serve you at The Founders Inn and Spa near Norfolk, Virgnia. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Founders Inn and Spa

Address: 5641 Indian River Rd, Virginia Beach, VA 23464-5247
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Price Range: ₹ 7,204 - ₹ 13,830 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Founders Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Founders Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Founders Hotel Virginia Beach
Founders Hotel Virginia Beach
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Virginia Beach
#18 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#23 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Founders Inn and Spa staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Spring Hill, Florida
7 months ago
St. Thomas
4 months ago
4 months ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from The Founders Inn and Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great customer service! They do Birthday's and have summer passes for the pool”
104justinef, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Pet friendly with quiet comfortable rooms, Wi-Fi, and in room coffee and refrigerators.”
jrclabgrandma, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“building 4 is close to the lake”
60tracies, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“There are multiple buildings, we were in the building near the spa and pool and it was quiet.”
richardandkristy2012, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upstairs rooms facing the gardens would be nice.”
EdieB708, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$ 115* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$ 119
Booking.comUS$ 119
getaroom.comUS$ 120
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates