We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Founders Inn and Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Founders Inn and Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,054 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,038: English reviews
Start your review of The Founders Inn and Spa
 Click to rate
Durham, North Carolina
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Inn is very unique in that it is old. The rooms were nice and clean. There is certainly nothing spectacular about this hotel, but we were pleased with our stay. I would have no problems staying here again, the staff were all pleasant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank richardandkristy2012
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We spent one night at the Founders Inn. The staff were pleasant and accommodating, the rooms were clean and furnished nicely. The beds were comfortable and we both slept well. There is good security, including locked entrance and exit doors that require key card entry. The rooms are comfortable and climate controlled. We would definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rocktown82
Melissa G, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Rocktown82, Thank you for your review and we are so glad you had a restful and pleasant visit with us. We look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Melissa Georges Director of Sales and Marketing

Riverhead, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

The grounds are beautiful. Good news-they need to work on some simple things to get a better grade. However, I can't in good conscience give better than average. 1-Filter area in room (HVAC)-Filled with dust. Although I didn't see the actual filter, the metal grate around it was full of dust. 2-Overall cleanliness of the room was a High Poor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RobinNY1
Melissa G, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

RobinNY1, Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. Naturally, I am sorry to hear that you did not have the best stay with us. You made every attempt to communicate your frustrations while you were here and we failed to address them. It does not help after the fact, but I take your feedback very...

Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed one night at the inn. We were visiting family and did not try any the spa. I would defiantly return to the hotel. It is decorated in colonial theme. It was dated, but, I liked it. The gardens and fountains were beautiful ( even though it rained during our visit). Our room was clean. Beds were comfortable. Walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hikerchik13
Melissa G, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Hikerchik13, Thank you for being our guest! I do hope that you return and you are able to stay longer and take advantage of all of our amenities (especially The Flowering Almond Spa). We look forward to your next visit to Virginia Beach. Sincerely, Melissa Georges Director of Sales and Marketing

San Diego, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

Wife and I stayed the two nights of 3/12 and 3/13. We had room 3310 in building 3 that had a ground floor exit near the pond that held a giant swan. The gardens surrounding the pond are beautiful with seating in many areas within the gardens. Our room on the 3rd floor had a dormer window and was of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank proverbs119
Melissa G, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

proverbs119, Thank you so much for being our guest and I certainly hope that you and your wife will return in the near future. We are so happy that you enjoyed your guest rooms and had excellent nights sleep. Abby is always keeping us on our toes and apparently she wanted to get inside the James Building. She is very...

Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a wonderful hotel well-placed in Virginia Beach. It's across the street from some eateries and very close to Regent University. Apparently its namesake is based upon the founding fathers of this great United States. The grounds and lobby are spectacular! The room is comfortable with a big screen television, mini refrigerator, air conditioning, and a queen bed. It's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PTRBIGEBA364WC
Melissa G, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

PTRBIGEBA364WC, Thank you for giving us a try! We are so glad that you found us and we hope that you bring the Mrs. with you on your next visit. Sincerely, Melissa Georges Director of Sales and Marketing

Westfield, Indiana
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Unimpressive rooms. Unimpressive staff. Amazing grounds. I've stayed at this hotel/resort in the past. The grounds are amazing. The buildings are impressive and historic. That's were it stops. The room was clean and basic. The front desk staff was either ill informed or not willing to go the extra step in anticipating a customers needs, regarding dining options (specifically Thursday...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelinTodd
Melissa G, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Travelin Todd, I am sorry to hear that you did not have the best stay with us. Thank you for the information regarding our front desk staff and I will use this information to better teach them to anticipate customers needs and go an extra step. This will be used as a training example for them later this month. Sincerely,...

Chesapeake, Virginia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The property has pretty much anything you could want, spa, restaurants, indoor and outdoor pool, Jacuzzi, fitness center etc. The room was very clean, and the fireplace was a nice touch. The room was too large...now I know that might seem like a strange thing to complain about, but it was big to where even with many pieces of furniture...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hanzo581
Melissa G, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Hanzo581, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and we are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay. I hope you will visiting us again in the summer and the property will be very lively and the outdoor pool will also be open. Sincerely, Melissa Georges Director of Sales and Marketing

New Haven, Connecticut
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is one of my favorite hotels! It's grand entrance is so impressive, it leads out to beautiful former gardens, rocking chairs and lawn games. The rooms are cozy and sweetly decorated. The night I was there they had milk and cookies in adorable glass containers in the lobby. The restaurant is excellent with an amazing breakfast! They easily accommodated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TerrisThreadArt
Melissa G, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

TerrisThreadArt, We are so glad to hear that we are one of your favorite hotels. That is such a compliment. We hope that you will be our guest again in the near future. Sincerely, Melissa Georges Director of Sales and Marketing

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Looked long and hard for a property with a full kitchen and good room for a girls weekend. Called this property and was assured the townhouse unit was good sized and fully equipped kitchen. The unit is advertised as two full beds and a sofa bed. The trip took a turn for the worse when my traveling companion got sick...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruce W
Melissa G, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Bruce W, I am not sure if this review was truly intended for The Founders Inn and Spa hotel. We do not have townhouses. Sincerely, Melissa Georges Director of Sales and Marketing

913 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (302)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (96)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (122)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (542)
Viewed
Amenities (152)
Viewed
Colonial Queen (38)
Viewed
Double Queen (53)
Viewed
Fireplace Suite (48)
Viewed
Parlor Suite (68)
Viewed
Pool (21)
Viewed
Dining (55)
Viewed
The Hotel (107)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (69)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
20.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
20.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
20.0 km away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#11 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 km away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
324 reviews
20.0 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
567 reviews
6.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#4 of 109 in Virginia Beach
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The timeless Founders Inn and Spa is a Virginia Beach resort that pampers guests with the comforts of home, concierge attention and hi-tech conveniences. Select guest rooms with fireplaces and views of the serene lake and lovely Colonial garden are especially unforgettable. The Founders Inn and Spa features a wealth of excellent amenities and guest services including comfortable rooms and suite accommodations, in-house restaurants, a spa and fitness center, a shuttle service, pet-friendly rooms, complimentary wi-fi, a business center, special event spaces and meeting venues, to name a few. Whether it is a business stay, a family vacation, or a life event, we are looking forward to a chance to serve you at The Founders Inn and Spa near Norfolk, Virgnia. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Founders Inn and Spa

Address: 5641 Indian River Rd, Virginia Beach, VA 23464-5247
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Price Range: ₹ 6,806 - ₹ 13,809 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Founders Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your The Founders Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Founders Hotel Virginia Beach
Founders Hotel Virginia Beach
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Virginia Beach
#18 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#23 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Founders Inn and Spa staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Spring Hill, Florida
6 months ago
St. Thomas
3 months ago
2 months ago
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
5 months ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from The Founders Inn and Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are multiple buildings, we were in the building near the spa and pool and it was quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles richardandkristy2012, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upstairs rooms facing the gardens would be nice.”
 of 5 bubbles EdieB708, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room overlooking the garden if possible. The others look out on the parking lot.”
 of 5 bubbles , 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The suites are very nice!!”
 of 5 bubbles Journalin, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Even though there is not a microwave in the room, one is available by the vending machine.”
 of 5 bubbles 25carola, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5