We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Founders Inn and Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Founders Inn and Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,072 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,054: English reviews
Start your review of The Founders Inn and Spa
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Mechelle Smith with The Flowering Almond Spa was GREAT! We had a joint birthday party for our boys and it turned out great. Mechelle and the entire staff are very nice and the customer service was amazing! Thank you Mechelle for the smile on our kids faces.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Justine F
Melissa G, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Justine F, Happy birthday to your boys! We are so glad that the event turned out so well. Mechelle is very good making these events successful and we hope this will become an annual event. Sincerely, Melissa Georges Director of Sales and Marketing

Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights at The Founders Inn, and enjoyed every minute of it. The property and buildings are all beautiful, very nice change from your typical commercialized hotel. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful in every way. The food at the 2 restaurants on site was very good with extremely polite and friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michelleme2017
Melissa G, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

michelleme2017, Thank you for being our guest and for staying with us for 4 nights. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed every minute of it. We pride ourselves on being an independent hotel and I am glad that you noticed the difference. We do hope that you will come back in the future. We do offer complimentary...

Mullica Hill, New Jersey
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Just found this hotel through the internet. Everything was great from the price, the service, the champagne and chocolate covered strawberries delivered to the door, the gorgeous grounds, clean rooms, easy wifi, just an overall great experience!! The restaurants were very good as well!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M B
Melissa G, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

M B, We are so glad that you found us! Thank you for being our guest and we look forward to your next stay. Sincerely, Melissa Georges Director of Sales and Marketing

Cary, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed at the Founders Inn several times and have enjoyed the facilities. It is near Regent University and is very convenient for attending University functions, Several weeks ago I had the breakfast buffet in the dining facility. It was a wonderful experience and the staff service was superb. If you like colonial motifs and a warm atmosphere, try...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WA0LSH
Melissa G, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

WA0LSH, Thank you for being such a loyal guest. We are so glad that you enjoy your time with us and keep coming back. We look forward to your next visit hopefully in the near future. Sincerely, Melissa Georges Director of Sales and Marketing

Lake Placid, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

A two day stop over on our trip to OBX. After check 'BOOKING.COM'. my husband came across the place. When we pulled in after a twelve hour drive, we were sure we were in the wrong place. A beautiful resort with great rooms, great food, beautiful grounds, and Abigail Adams the mute goose. She greets you on the grounds, let's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jrclabgrandma
Melissa G, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

jrclabgrandma, We all like good surprises so we are thrilled that you found us on your way to OBX. We are an ideal stopping location especially for those traveling with dogs. We are glad you found us and we look forward to being your stopping point again in the future. Sincerely, Melissa Georges Director of Sales and Marketing

Fitchburg, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 week ago

My new husband and I booked one night here on our way to staying in the Virginia Beach area. Although this hotel is not near the best, we LOVED LOVED LOVED the beautiful landscape and history and character associated with this gem. The restaurant was great. The grounds were beautiful. The beds were perfect. Nothing fancy here- but truly a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie T
Melissa G, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Julie T, Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to share your experience with us. We are so glad that you found us and hope that you will visit us again the next time you are in Virginia Beach. Sincerely, Melissa Georges Director of Sales and Marketing

st augustine
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went to brunch today with a party of 5. Spent $50+ per person and $25 for a 7 year old...the children's activities were very crowded....waited in line for almost an hour for balloons....30 minutes for face paint.....then when we were seated in the restaurant for 3pm reservation, we were taken to a table with a dirty table cloth....I asked that...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank widowStAugustine
Melissa G, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

widowStAugustine We are genuinely sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your Easter Brunch experience with us. There is no excuse for us seating you at a table with dirty linens and it should have been immediately changed. The service should not have been that slow either and we are sorry that you had to wait so long for...

Kettering, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We only stayed for one night as a couple. Room was really nice if a bit on the small side. The hotel interior/public rooms are very nicely furnished but a bit impersonal and not cosy. We didn't use the restaurants but looked in and also felt they lacked warmth & character. The gardens are beautiful although we didn't see the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulbyatt
Kane24, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Paulbyatt, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am sorry that you did not get to experience the great service we offer in our restaurants and Abby the Swan was not around. I do hope that you come back to visit us in the future. Sincerely, Melissa Georges Director of Sales and Marketing

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Room not cleaned during the day, no towels, soap, tissues etc. Response from management, none. Hotel manager could not come out to apologize. Oh well, looks nice on the outside. Housekeeping left for the day. Sticking to large hotels chains in the future. Shameful.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank joanne0005
Kane24, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Joanne0005, We are so sorry that this happened to you. This is definitely not the norm for our housekeeping staff and it should not have happened. We typically do have housekeeping staffed all of the time and I am not sure what happened during this specific instance. Sincerely, Melissa Georges Director of Sales and Marketing

Norfolk, Virginia, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited founders Inn for the second time with a friend, we got a Facial and Spa pedicure. The Spa manager ( Mechelle) is amazing at accommodating us and making us feel special! Our pedicures where great, destiny was my therapist and she was awesome! I got my facial with Brooke, she was amazing! It's been a long time since I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grisseth R
Kane24, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Grisseth R, We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at our spa. We will make sure Mechelle and Brooke are aware of your feedback too. We look forward to serving you again. Please make sure to check our website for monthly spa specials too. Sincerely, Melissa Georges Director of Sales and Marketing

922 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (311)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (100)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (126)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (542)
Viewed
Amenities (152)
Viewed
Colonial Queen (38)
Viewed
Double Queen (53)
Viewed
Fireplace Suite (48)
Viewed
Parlor Suite (68)
Viewed
Pool (21)
Viewed
Dining (55)
Viewed
The Hotel (107)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (69)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
20.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
20.1 km away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#12 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,815 reviews
20.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
572 reviews
20.0 km away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
338 reviews
6.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#4 of 109 in Virginia Beach
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The timeless Founders Inn and Spa is a Virginia Beach resort that pampers guests with the comforts of home, concierge attention and hi-tech conveniences. Select guest rooms with fireplaces and views of the serene lake and lovely Colonial garden are especially unforgettable. The Founders Inn and Spa features a wealth of excellent amenities and guest services including comfortable rooms and suite accommodations, in-house restaurants, a spa and fitness center, a shuttle service, pet-friendly rooms, complimentary wi-fi, a business center, special event spaces and meeting venues, to name a few. Whether it is a business stay, a family vacation, or a life event, we are looking forward to a chance to serve you at The Founders Inn and Spa near Norfolk, Virgnia. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Founders Inn and Spa

Address: 5641 Indian River Rd, Virginia Beach, VA 23464-5247
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Price Range: ₹ 7,196 - ₹ 13,749 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Founders Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Founders Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Founders Hotel Virginia Beach
Founders Hotel Virginia Beach
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Virginia Beach
#18 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#23 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Founders Inn and Spa staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Spring Hill, Florida
7 months ago
St. Thomas
4 months ago
3 months ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from The Founders Inn and Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great customer service! They do Birthday's and have summer passes for the pool”
104justinef, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Pet friendly with quiet comfortable rooms, Wi-Fi, and in room coffee and refrigerators.”
jrclabgrandma, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“building 4 is close to the lake”
60tracies, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“There are multiple buildings, we were in the building near the spa and pool and it was quiet.”
richardandkristy2012, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upstairs rooms facing the gardens would be nice.”
EdieB708, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5