We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Frederick House

Save
Traveller (41)
Room & Suite (16)
Dining (8)
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Hotel_Review_Price_Refresh
Watch prices for this hotel.
We’ll alert you of any changes.
Sign up
Overview
  • Excellent72%
  • Very good18%
  • Average6%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“small hotel”(20 reviews)
“b b”(71 reviews)
“apple raisin”(8 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Suites
Pool
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (297)
There are newer reviews for Frederick House
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
296 results
Traveller rating
209
55
18
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
209
55
18
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall hotelb bapple raisincoffee mugsquichemenu printedlarge bedroomthanksgiving weekendwafflesprivate entrancethe american shakespeare centerwithin walking distanceeach morningblackfriars playhouseson's weddingbreakfast was deliciousmain building
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 296 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2017

This "small hotel" is a collection of four buildings on New Street in Staunton. The individual character of the buildings is one of the strong points, but be aware that the hill is steep and walking between them can be challenging. You can drive, but...More

3  Thank LionandProf
Response from Brooke W, Owner at Frederick HouseResponded 16 November 2017

Thank you for your in depth review of Frederick House. I wanted to touch on several of the things that you mentioned just to clear some stuff up. We are not a standard chain hotel, which is why some things are done differently here. Unfortunately...More

Reviewed 17 July 2017

Frederick House provided a quiet refuge for our group as we attended the Red Wing Roots Music Festival at Natural Chimneys Park in nearby Mount Solon (exactly 30 minutes away). First note for travelers to Frederick House, be sure to let them know 24 hours...More

Thank Erin R
Response from Brooke W, Owner at Frederick HouseResponded 13 October 2017

Thank you so much for your mostly positive review! I wanted to touch on the issues that you mentioned though. I am truly sorry that you feel bad about arriving after 6pm and I hope that that wasn't caused by the reaction of any of...More

Reviewed 12 July 2017

Sometimes you don't want to write a review about how beautiful the rooms are and how great the proprietors are, and how close this marvelous place is to town so you can walk everywhere...because you don't want everyone to know. The Frederick House carries out...More

1  Thank James1907
Response from Brooke W, Owner at Frederick HouseResponded 12 October 2017

Thank you so much for your glowing review. We have enjoyed having you as a frequent guest and look forward to hosting you more in the future!

Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

Such a nice place! This is not an upscale and fancy place, so if you want that you shouldn't stay here. But if you don't require that, I would recommend this one! We stayed in the young house which is an old Victorian house. It's...More

Thank Helena G
Response from Brooke W, Owner at Frederick HouseResponded 12 October 2017

Thank you so much for your positive review! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here. One of the benefits of having 5 separate historic houses is that each house is unique. Overall, as you mentioned, we aren't fancy and upscale in the...More

Reviewed 23 May 2017

Stayed with extended family for my daughter's graduation from Mary Baldwin University. Wonderful hospitality, owners were responsive in meeting complex extended family needs. Spacious, comfortable rooms, well decorated and laid out. Cool old home with amazing front porch that enable the family to gather for...More

1  Thank W9573KDcarrieb
Response from Brooke W, Owner at Frederick HouseResponded 26 June 2017

Thank you for your wonderful review of the Frederick House. We're happy that you loved the Patrick House porch! We truly enjoyed hosting you and your family and we hope to see you again in the future :-).

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Details
Price range
US$ 147 - US$ 217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 147 - US$ 217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (41)
Room & Suite (16)
Dining (8)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Clay48
23 March 2017|
Answer
Response from Brooke W | Property representative |
Hi there! I apologize for the delay in answering this question. Frederick House recently changed ownership and we must have overlooked this question. For future reference though, all of our pillows are hypoallergenic. No... More
0
Votes
ColonialDame2014
27 June 2015|
Answer
Response from JoeHarman | Property representative |
Aioli is adjacent to Frederick House. It is open Tuesday through Saturday at 5:00 for dinner. They serve Mediterranean Tapas and also have a full menu and daily specials. The phone number for reservations is 540-885-1414... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Room 16 was great for a family - beds for 4 and you can spread out."
Read review
"Check out their website for availability and a view of the rooms."
Read review
"There are a few large suites, and a family suite with a sitting room and 2 bedrooms. Ask if you require more..."
Read review
"Upper floors have great city views."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing