We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Frederick House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Frederick House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

279 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 278: English reviews
Start your review of Frederick House
 Click to rate
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Every February, my sister and I meet in Staunton for the Historic Foundation's Winter Wine Festival. We were attempting to book our accommodations last minute and there was no vacancy at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel. Disappointed, we started looking at other options. I stumbled across the Frederick House Hotel and began to warm up to the thought of staying somewhere...

Thank Emily A
FrederickHouseStVA, Manager at Frederick House, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review. We look forward to hosting your sister and you again, and not only at the Historic Foundation's Winter Wine Festival. Come see Staunton during our beautiful summers and enjoy wonderful food like Aioli, Zynadoa, and Emilios; concerts like Heifitz International Music school's summer concert series or the Staunton Music Festival; performances at the American...

Dallas, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 27 January 2017

This B&B type Inn is interesting in ambiance and the breakfast menu. The suite was spacious and comfortable. There were bugs in the room which we were told were normal for this time of year. When I said I hope I'm not taking them home with me, the manager quipped: "You can send them back". The breakfast menu is on...

Thank SeamusOmaoflhbhail
JoeHarman, Owner at Frederick House, responded to this review

Box elder bugs are a problem when cooler weather is approaching. They are attracted to our location because of the seeds of the Trident Maple trees that shade the stairs to one of our parking lots. We like the Trident Maples because of the shade they provide, their attractive shape, and beautiful fall color. Using pesticide would require multiple treatments...

New Jersey
Reviewed 18 January 2017

We stayed at Frederick House for Thanksgiving weekend. Our suite was fantastic. Very large with comfortable beds and accommodations. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite which was much larger than we anticipated and felt like home. It is full of European charm and character. The caretaker was wonderful and took great care of us. They have a terrific breakfast,...

Thank Lyn Q
JoeHarman, Owner at Frederick House, responded to this review

It is always gratifying for us the learn that a guest has stayed at Frederick House and fully enjoyed the experience we envision for them. This is true of any innkeeper. We and all innkeepers are in business to please our guests. This was our goal thirty four years ago when we began and remains our goal every day. There...

Bel Air, Maryland
Reviewed 28 October 2016

We were here in mid-October to catch a play at the American Shakespeare Center (ASC), tour wine country and hike in the Blue Ridge mountains. The Frederick House is a great place to do all of this. We even saved money by getting our ASC tickets through the hotel. We were in Bowers 21. This was a very large bedroom,...

Thank jerrys01
JoeHarman, Owner at Frederick House, responded to this review

I am pleased you enjoyed your visit to Staunton and Frederick House. I asked some other guests who frequently stay in that room. They like the hard shower. We have many different shower pressures depending on the room and different darkening capabilities. Remind us next time about your concerns so we can assist you with your room choice. We like...

Safety Harbor, FL
Reviewed 25 October 2016

After a long day of traveling and visiting Montichello, we arrived at Frederick House. We got there late and they kept in contact with us regarding our arrival. Brian and Eta were wonderful. Brian escorted us to Patrick house down the street and even helped carry our luggage to the second floor. It was a crazy weekend with an event...

Thank flsky
JoeHarman, Owner at Frederick House, responded to this review

Thank you for your enthusiastic comments about Frederick House. We are pleased that you enjoyed the services of Brian and Eta our managers who are taking seriously the responsibly for the welfare of Frederick House guests. We hope you will come again and have time to see a performance at Blackfriars Playhouse. Contact us in advance of your visit so...

Woodville, Virginia
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We stayed in the Patrick House Room 27 on 8/31/16. Large suite with pocket doors, canopy bed, decorative fireplace, 2 televisions, beautiful decor. The mnager and his wife were very friendly and accommodating. Highly recommend. Delicious breakfast.

Thank namealreadytaken2015
JoeHarman, Owner at Frederick House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind and thoughtful response. The fireplace mantle is solid walnut. Someone had removed the original mantle from that suite. I found the mantle you saw at Worthington Hardware in Staunton. It was covered with many coats of dirty paint. I took the mantle apart into its individual pieces to remove the paint. It is a perfect...

Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewed 25 August 2016

We were on our way home and decided to stop for the night in Staunton, Va. I will admit that we wanted to stay in the history downtown area so we can park and walk. We wanted to stay at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel but they were fully booked and suggested The Frederick House. We only really needed to spend...

1Thank Linda B
JoeHarman, Owner at Frederick House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased you found your room clean, the bed comfortable, breakfast satisfying, and your hosts cheerful and inviting. Your suggestions prompted us to take a closer look at your room. We have replaced the shower head and the shower candy. We hope you will return to try another of...

Hagerstown, Maryland
Reviewed 20 August 2016

We had a suite in the same building that has the breakfast room. I cant remember the name. The room was very clean; however there were several issues. The television was old and small , so small that you couldnt see the printed details on the screen during the Olympics because they were hidden by the edge of the tv....

Thank Bigeye149
JoeHarman, Owner at Frederick House, responded to this review

The approach Evy and I have toward the business we created 34 years ago is, "Tell us what you want. If we can, we will achieve it for you." In one aspect of your recent stay we failed. It is totally possible for us to provide you with an iron and ironing board where you would like to use it....

Front Royal, Virginia
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

Frederick House was a clean comfortable and relaxing B&B. We enjoyed staying in the Cochran House. It was quite and relaxing. Location is great to walk to downtown to restaurants,shopping and theaters. Close to Woodrow Wilson House and Baldwin Wallace Collage

Thank Butlers-bounty
JoeHarman, Owner at Frederick House, responded to this review

We are grateful for all reviews. We like to encourage guests to let us know while they are here about their experience at Frederick House. Staff is always available. Guests can use phone in room to contact management about any problems or special requests. Our experienced servers can discuss our menu with you at breakfast. If you have special requests,...

Front Royal, Virginia
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

For three nights we stayed at the Frederick House in Staunton Virginia. We stayed in the Cochran House, Room 32, second floor. The husband and wife managers were efficient, warm and caring. Our room was superb. Bed was comfy, linens were extra soft. Room was meticulously cleaned. Housekeepers were kind, professional and joyful. Room was quaint with bright yellows, white...

Thank jeandave2015

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (41)
Room/Suite (12)
Dining (8)
Bathroom (3)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
View from Room (1)
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (5)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Staunton hotels
0.2 km away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
0.4 km away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
4.6 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
186 reviews
4.2 km away
#3 of 15 in Staunton
749 reviews
0.3 km away
Berkeley House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Frederick House is a small hotel in downtown historic Staunton, across from Mary Baldwin College, convenient to restaurants, shops, galleries, and Blackfriars Playhouse where exciting performances of plays by William Shakespeare occur 52 weeks each year. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Frederick House

Address: 28 N New St, Staunton, VA 24401-4306
Region: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Price Range: ₹ 5,563 - ₹ 11,126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Frederick House 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Frederick House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frederick House Hotel Staunton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Frederick House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Frederick House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't miss the breakfast. Depending on which building you're in you may need to walk to it but it is definitely worth it!”
 of 5 bubbles 97lynq, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Take a suite in the Patrick house if available.”
 of 5 bubbles sncathome, 7 Nov 2015 | Read review
“The Inn's website gives a pretty good description of the rooms so there's a good choice to accommodate your taste.”
 of 5 bubbles RicVafoodie, 16 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Patrick House was great. Room 35 has nice windows.”
 of 5 bubbles jess65456, 12 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Ask, ask, ask Evy or Joe. They aim to please”
  • Womack 14 sitting room
 of 5 bubbles drdblu, 22 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5