We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Smithfield Station

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Smithfield Station
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

394 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Smithfield Station
See the most recent reviews
Showing 394: English reviews
Virginia, United States
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Excellent room, great view of the marina and wetland grasses. Room was very clean. Bed was probably the most comfortable hotel bed we have ever had. I would definitely go back. The attached restaurant was good and the breakfast provided was very good. We definitely recommend staying here. Oh, I forgot to tell you that there were TWO comfortable chairs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John H
Seeingmyfamily, Guest Relations Manager at Smithfield Station, responded to this review

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a great night sleep. We do get a lot of compliments on our beds and agree they are very comfortable. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and certainly hope you will return very soon.

Bowie, Maryland
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Stayed in older building 3 floor hick no elevator, room small but clean, coffee maker dirty,freinds stayed in newer building much nicer.Buffet was not worth the money.in a pinch ok not much choice out there.Downtown very nice and charming.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank skulig3
Houston, Texas
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

I came into town for a wedding and chose Smithfield Station on the recommendation of the bride. Looking at the hotel online it was absolutely beautiful and I was very excited. I booked many months in advance and prepaid my room which I had booked directly through the hotel with only stair access. A couple months before the wedding I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roflMOUSE
Reviewed 15 October 2016

What a wonderful experience! To actually stay in a lighthouse, to be surrounded by the river and just how peaceful it was to sit for hours on the deck around the lighthouse. We stayed in the Captain Todd Suite, the lower level of the lighthouse with the king size Murphy bed and fireplace. Because of Hurricane Matthew, our first night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
Seeingmyfamily, Guest Relations Manager at Smithfield Station, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with us. Yes hurricanes do present a challenge. Out staff understands the needs of our guests especially when weather presents a challenge. Thank you for mentioning that they took care of you and that you enjoyed your stay regardless of "Matthew". It appears that your stay with us was a...

Jersey Shore, NJ
Reviewed 7 October 2016

We stayed here for a weekend. We had one of the balcony rooms on the river, in the restaurant building. The room was good size, comfortable bed, nice balcony with a great view. Only negative was the musty smell. Continental style breakfast was included with the room on Saturday morning but not Sunday because they are open that day to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ayla13
Seeingmyfamily, Guest Relations Manager at Smithfield Station, responded to this review

We appreciate your review of your stay with us. Yes...we do occasionally get flooding. With a hurricane off the coast it does cause flooding during high tides. We try and position our parking lot so no one is inconvenienced . We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and please come back again soon

Virginia Beach
Reviewed 5 October 2016

The view was great from our balcony, the room was very clean and nice, the staff was friendly, the food at the restaurant was excellent and the Sunday brunch was outstanding. It was a pair of eagles flying around while we were setting out on the balcony. We attended the bacon, bourbon, beach music fest which was just a short...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charles B
Seeingmyfamily, Guest Relations Manager at Smithfield Station, responded to this review

So glad you chose to stay with us as one of our Festival guests. They are such a great time. Thank you for reviewing your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again

Reviewed 4 October 2016

My second stay at Smithfield Station was almost as nice as my first one. I had the same room with a huge balcony and a spectacular view of the river. The restaurant was nice, as last time. Unfortunately, they were all out of their "signature dish" (baby black ribs) for two of the three days that I stayed, which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas Xavier F
Seeingmyfamily, Guest Relations Manager at Smithfield Station, responded to this review

We are glad that you chose to return to our hotel. Repeat guests are great. We do work very hard to make your stay with us memorable and appreciate your return. We apologize for the internet being slow. We did a recent upgrade and have found little issues with it since. Thank you for your review of our property and...

Mechanicsville
Reviewed 24 September 2016

Lovely accommodations on the pagan river with private balcony. Food was delicious. Restaurant on premises with excellent seafood, steaks and prime rib. Has a pool that was closed because it was after Labor Day.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie L
Seeingmyfamily, Guest Relations Manager at Smithfield Station, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted that you had a great time and we certainly hope you will visit with us gain very soon

Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

Our first stay was in December 2013 and it was great. Fast forward to 2016 and wow, how things have changed. The lobby was still gorgeous. But then once in the elevator and that's were it ends. The elevator left much to be desired (dirty) and carpet needed to be vacuumed badly. The hallways weren't much better. Once we got...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VCJD
Gloucester, Virginia
Reviewed 7 September 2016

We were on a boat pierside during Hurricane Hermine. It was quite an adventure and the staff was amazing, making sure the restaurant and bar were open for their guests since the roads were not. The day before the Hurricane we wanted to explore town so one of the owners dropped us off and left us with his cell for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gymsme1
Seeingmyfamily, Guest Relations Manager at Smithfield Station, responded to this review

Yes we have lots of experience with weather!!!! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us even in a tropical storm. Thank you for your kind remarks about our staff we work very hard to make your stay exceptional. We certainly look forward to you returning very soon.

233 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (201)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
View from Room (36)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
4:37
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (76)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smithfield
3.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Smithfield
38.4 km away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
32.6 km away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 75 in Williamsburg
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.9 km away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
29.1 km away
Wedmore Place
Wedmore Place
#14 of 75 in Williamsburg
357 reviews
0.8 km away
The Smithfield Inn Bed and Breakfast, Restaurant and Tavern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
The Restaurant at Smithfield Station
The Restaurant at Smithfield Station
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family owned boutique hotel on the banks of the Pagan River in Downtown, Historic Smithfield. 44 well appointed rooms including a Chesapeake Bay Style Lighthouse you can spend the night in. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Smithfield Station

Address: 415 S Church St, P.O. Box 486, Smithfield, VA 23430-1703
Region: United States > Virginia > Smithfield
Price Range: ₹ 8,574 - ₹ 14,073 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Smithfield Station 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Smithfield Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smithfield Station Hotel Smithfield
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Smithfield Station staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Smithfield Station staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in the main building because of inclement weather, were happy we did!”
 of 5 bubbles timmX3341KR, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The lighthouse has two suites -- first floor, and second floor. There appear to be a few free-standing suites outside .”
 of 5 bubbles 282kenp, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Love the rooms with a balcony to sit and overlook the marina, river, & marsh!”
 of 5 bubbles kingfather, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The lighthouse is the best pick for couples.”
 of 5 bubbles fire2storm, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“a room type for everyone”
 of 5 bubbles candlejack, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5