We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hampton Inn Salem East - Electric Road

Save
Share
1886 Electric Road, Salem, VA 24153
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Price Match Guarantee
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
$135
View deal
Booking.com$135
Travelocity$135
Hotels.com$135
Priceline$135
Traveluro$144
Hampton$135
View all 19 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (104)
Room & Suite (80)
Dining (5)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 10/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hampton Inn Salem East - Electric Road
Updated 10/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 15 hotels in Salem
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice

Finding an ideal family-friendly hotel in Salem does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Hampton Inn Salem East-Electric Road, a nice option for travellers like you.

Rooms at Hampton Inn Roanoke/salem Hotel offer a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a refrigerator providing exceptional comfort and convenience, and guests can go online with free wifi.

24 hour front desk is one of the conveniences offered at this hotel. A pool and free breakfast will also help to make your stay even more special. If you are driving to Hampton Inn Roanoke/salem Hotel, free parking is available.

For those interested in checking out Salem Civic Center (1.4 mi) while visiting Salem, Hampton Inn Salem is a short distance away.

While you’re here, be sure to check out some of the Asian restaurants, including Szechuan Chinese, Sakura Japanese Steak & Seafd, and China Wok, all of which are a short distance from Hampton Inn Roanoke/salem Hotel.

There is no shortage of things to do in the area: explore popular history museums such as Salem Museum.

Hampton Inn Salem East-Electric Road puts the best of Salem at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Kids stay free
Children's television networks
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Highchairs available
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee
747Reviews5Q+A57Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 483
  • 177
  • 56
  • 20
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
ModernWanderers wrote a review Jul 2022
Fairfield, Connecticut1002 contributions215 helpful votes
Not happy with where we were initially staying in downtown Roanoke, we made a last-minute booking here, based mainly on previous reviews and location. Our stay was very comfortable and we’d definitely return if ever we found ourselves in the area again! Staff were super lovely — from the front desk to housekeeping to breakfast. Location was superb — literally 5-15 minutes from anything and everything! Perfect for our visits to the ballpark to watch the Salem Red Sox matches that weekend. Our room — and all the common areas — was super clean, and the room spacious with everything we needed. The hotel itself was super quiet (we were given a room right next to the ice machine which always worries me … but we couldn’t hear it at all!) and we slept incredibly well all four nights we were there. The air-con was perfect too! (note that we didn’t opt in for daily housekeeping so can’t speak to this, but when we asked for clean towels and additional supplies, they were incredibly friendly and accomodating!) Breakfast wasn’t too bad — a help-yourself buffet with numerous options (would be great to see some healthier cereals and fruits available). My hubby loved the biscuits and gravy (and then the biscuits, whipped cream and strawberries!) and the breads were fresh. A couple of negatives (but nothing overly concerning): - when I checked in, staff didn’t check my ID (“I believe you’re who you say you are”) and simply handed me a key, without providing any information on breakfast, the gym, the pool … or anything else. I ended up going back downstairs to ask for these details once I’d settled into the room. - at one point my room key stopped working; when I went downstairs to the front desk to ask for it to be fixed, they simply asked for my room number (no ID or name or anything) and gave me the new key — that’s always a concern for me and safety in general! - the common areas are super warm (no air-con) 🥵 NOTE: others have commented on the lack of parking, but we never had an issue.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
GSJOnthetown wrote a review May 2021
Royersford, Pennsylvania10 contributions6 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
The hotel is clean and comfortable. The beds could have been a little more comfortable and the temperature of the rooms didn’t go below 67, my husband would prefer 65. Other than that, we had a great stay. The breakfast had a lot to offer and the woman who ran that area was very helpful. We would stay there again when we were traveling.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
infinitiboys wrote a review Jun 2022
Cincinnati, Ohio107 contributions34 helpful votes
I stay in a lot of Hampton Inns, across the country. This one may be the best! Always a fair rate. Always great service and people. Always a great room. The AC worked very well. The bed was comfy. The shower had great pressure. A perfect stay. The hotel is also close to several dining options. Great breakfast also.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Scott wrote a review May 2022
Montgomery, Illinois6 contributions3 helpful votes
It's a hotel adjacent to a hospital, straightforward, good snack options, and very comfortable. The room was larger than I expected and I slept great on the bed. The trip was for work so I didn't care about location of things to do nearby.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
urbanguy wrote a review May 2022
Richmond, Virginia4325 contributions420 helpful votes
+1
We came early (about an hour before the 3 pm check-in time). Melissa "worked" with me and called me when our room was ready. After that, check-in just took a few minutes. It's a large hotel with limited parking in front. Thus, they have an "overflow" parking lot behind the hotel (which we didn't have to use). If you park there, there's a walkway that connects you to the hotel. Our room was a comfortable 2-queen bed room. As nice as the room is, it is poorly lit: 2 small overhead lights just inside the doorway, a light between the beds, and a desk lamp. The bathroom was sizeable. Plenty of counterspace. Definitely, though, a lack of towel bars, just hooks. The shower was great--pressure and heat. The breakfast was what I've come to expect of a Hampton Inn: 2 or 3 hot dishes (we had egg white frittata, seasoned potatoes, and bacon), some sweets, waffle maker, fresh fruit, and much more. The coffee was really good.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
D9079TSsarahw wrote a review Mar 2022
Dallas, Texas2 contributions
The Salem Hampton Inn seems to be an old hotel but very clean and nice. I was pleased that they served a hot breakfast with many choices. It was very good. The beds were excellent. The room was very clean.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Sarah V wrote a review Mar 2022
Charlottesville, Virginia1 contribution
GET ALL THE NAMES YOU CAN WHEN BOOKING OR DEALING WITH THIS HOTEL. Management was very rude, didn't offer any options to help, desk staff NOT being held accountable, charged me twice and will not refund my one night stay. Spoke with manager who also offered NO help and hung up the phone on me. BEWARE!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: get new staff that know how to deal with people
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bob Smith, General Manager at Hampton Inn Salem East - Electric Road
Responded 15 Mar 2022
Ms. Vaughn, You booked 2 nights through a third party as a Traveling Team member and you were charged for 2 nights accordingly. All changes must be made with the third party. At the end of the day yesterday the third party refunded your 1 night admitting their error. We are accountable in that we pay fees to the third party based on reservation nights and all changes must come from the third party after you contact them and they, in turn, contact us. I will not tolerate vulgar language towards my staff or myself and that's why you were abruptly disconnected from our call.
Read more
BKmoody wrote a review Mar 2022
Cleveland, Tennessee71 contributions10 helpful votes
Our very first impression was that both the outside and inside of this hotel were well kept. Our room was clean and bright, however, the bathroom floor had been cleaned only in the high traffic areas and not in the corners or along the fixtures. The staff was friendly and welcoming especially the nice lady keeping the breakfast area clean!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
movemymom wrote a review Jan 2022
Richmond, Virginia1 contribution
This is the cleanest and friendliest place you’ll ever stay! Enjoy hospitality at its finest! The front desk will greet you, their staff will feed you and keep your room clean and safe. We’ll be back in the near future.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Patrick Y wrote a review Jan 2022
Richmond, United States5 contributions1 helpful vote
Nice rooms with plenty of room all the conveniences. Hotel with a nice breakfast with both hot and cold options. Quick grab and go as well as set down and enjoy your meal options. Friendly staff that are easily accessible and quick to help. Good location. Restaurants close by. Access to local
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$118 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hampton inn roanoke/salem hotel salem, hampton inn salem, salem hampton inn
LOCATION
United StatesVirginiaSalem
NUMBER OF ROOMS
112
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hampton Inn Salem East - Electric Road
Which popular attractions are close to Hampton Inn Salem East - Electric Road?
Nearby attractions include Launching Pad Trampoline Park (0.8 km), Thunder Valley Family Entertainment Center (0.6 km), and Buy The Season (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hampton Inn Salem East - Electric Road?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Hampton Inn Salem East - Electric Road?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hampton Inn Salem East - Electric Road?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hampton Inn Salem East - Electric Road?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hampton Inn Salem East - Electric Road?
Conveniently located restaurants include Jersey Lily's, Szechuan Chinese, and Lydia's Italian Kitchen.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hampton Inn Salem East - Electric Road?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hampton Inn Salem East - Electric Road?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hampton Inn Salem East - Electric Road offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Hampton Inn Salem East - Electric Road?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Dilly Dally (Salem, VA) (3.1 km).
Is Hampton Inn Salem East - Electric Road accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.