We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Claiborne House Bed and Breakfast

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rocky Mount
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Claiborne House Bed and Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

117 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 117: English reviews
Virginia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was a good room. Hosts very much involved with the guests. Accommodated dietary issues for breakfast . There was a mini frig in dining room with drinks/goodies tea/coffee, flavored seltzer. Wish they had some bottled water. Cookies were very good. Overall an enjoyable stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MommaChiara
Shellie L, Owner at Claiborne House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you MommaChiara for taking the time to review us. You were a delightful guest, come see us again soon. We used to have a big water cooler that we rented but was rarely used so they took it away. Since we are a certified green lodging with Virginia Green we don't stock individual water bottles as a pledge to...

Chesapeake, Virginia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My new husband and I were married there this May and it was simply amazing. They did everything made all the arrangements and everything. The owner also did the photography for the ceremony and the pictures are absolutely beautiful! They owners are such nice and amazing people I would recommend this place to everyone I know!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fabash0802
Shellie L, Owner at Claiborne House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

We're blushing, thank you lovebirds, you made our May shine! Come see us when an anniversary rolls round, we would love to see you again. We appreciate your patronage and we wish you ever ounce of joy and happiness that life can offer. Many blessings, Shellie and Tony PS Photography when a couple are glowing and in love is a...

Savannah, Georgia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The innkeepers Shellie and Tony were an absolute delight and truly know how to make their guests feel right at home. We stayed 3 nights and the breakfast each morning was delicious, and you could feel the love. Shellie, your pecan pancakes were amazing!!!!!! Looked forward to the coffee and great conversation with other guests. Our room and bed were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mandi_Huff
Shellie L, Owner at Claiborne House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for the sweet review, which makes sense because you were such a sweet couple. Three days was not enough, come back and see us again soon. Spring flowers in these Blue Ridge Mountains will knock your socks off! We appreciate your husband's service and pray for him and you, the families of law enforcement. God bless, Shellie &...

Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

Beautiful home surrounded by a lush, flower filled grounds that really puts you in a peaceful state of mind. The rooms are very clean and beautifully decorated. Our bed was so comfortable! The innkeepers are amazing. Special treats like candy and cookies are constantly tempting you when you're not enjoying one of their beautiful breakfast creations. I'll be back just...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ed B
Shellie L, Owner at Claiborne House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

These words mean a whole lot coming from a Chef, thank you for staying with us and sharing our little part of the world. We have many great shows within walking distance of The Claiborne House B&B, we hope to see you again soon on the porch! God bless, Shellie & Tony P.S. Please be sure to follow our quirky...

Reviewed 30 May 2016

Stayed here this past weekend and it was a very good experience. I found this place on Trip Advisor because of the many positive reviews and it did not disappoint. The inn keepers were very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was delicious. They gave us a packet with so many ideas of places of visit. We were able to see so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian T
ClaiborneInnkeeper, Owner at Claiborne House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Brian thank you so much, you two were lovely guests! We were so happy you enjoyed your weekend getaway, and that you were able to explore the area. Have an awesome summer, thanks for being an integral part of the great breakfast conversation and fun at The Claiborne House. Many blessings, Shellie & Tony, your innkeepers PS Come back any...

Lynchburg, Virginia
Reviewed 27 May 2016

I am so thankful I chose the Claiborne House for our stay in Rocky Mount. We arrived early and was allowed to check in early. Our room was very clean and comfortable. We had plans to go to Harvester to see John Anderson which was only a few blocks from Clairborne House so we could walk and feel safe. Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary0120
ClaiborneInnkeeper, Owner at Claiborne House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Wonderful guests thank you for the lovely review. Hearing about your flight over Smith Mountain Lake and all the surprises you had planned for your special getaway really made our day! There is so much to see and do in these Blue Ridge Mountains and foothills. We may be putting a fly-fishing package together with a Smith River outfitter (down...

Nathalie
Reviewed 23 May 2016

This is a nice B&B experience!! Very nice room with a laid back atmosphere. It's within walking distance of the Harvester so it worked well for us as we were seeing a show. The breakfast was over the top!!! We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 24gregoryd
ClaiborneInnkeeper, Owner at Claiborne House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, and a fantastic one at that! We think you are the bee's knees, by the way. The "special gift" you left in the room did not go unnoticed, it made Missy chuckle. Come back and see us soon, the porch will be waitin'... God bless, Shellie & Tony

Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewed 6 March 2016

We stayed overnight after a concert at the Harvester Performance Center. The B&B is within walking distance to the venue. This was our first time at a B&B. The innkeepers and staff were very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was delicious - fruit and yougut and French toast, strawberrires and sausage. The inn had a lot of character and our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa G
ClaiborneInnkeeper, Owner at Claiborne House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to review us Vanessa. Allow us to deliver breakfast to your room when you stay in the Sierra Suite next time, it is a great way to wake up and start the day. We have super guests, and appreciate your kind words and supporting family owned and operated businesses....

Michigan
Reviewed 19 December 2015 via mobile

Never having been all that excited about B&B's, I have to write this review for all others, who think, now, like I did then. We had heard about Claiborne House from friends, and decided to overnight there on our way from northern Michigan to the east coast, this past November. Shellie and Tony, the innkeepers, could not have been more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mummzie
ClaiborneInnkeeper, Owner at Claiborne House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

What can we say other than "Thank you!" I never knew people from Michigan were so marvelous. Your state tourism ads crying out "Pure Michigan" sure have been calling our names, you are on our list of must visit places. We appreciate the time and thought put into this review, and we thank you for supporting small family owned American...

Manassas, Virginia
Reviewed 13 October 2015

Staying at the Clairborne was a lovely experience. Upon arrival we were greeted with brownies and a choice of beverages. The room was large and comfortable. Breakfast each morning was delicious and also allowed us to meet other guests. We would highly recommend a stay at this B&B. . The breakfast was outstanding each morning,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gwilli6629
ClaiborneInnkeeper, Owner at Claiborne House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time from your busy schedules to pen a few words to help us stay booked. Family owned and operated businesses appreciate it more than you will ever know! We are thrilled you had a pleasant stay and look forward to seeing you here on the porch another time. We have now added Dish - satellite...

98 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
1:59
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (33)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rocky Mount
2.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rocky Mount/Smith Mtn Lake
2.1 km away
Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake
29.0 km away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#3 of 40 in Roanoke
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
26.8 km away
Halesford Harbour Inn
Halesford Harbour Inn
#1 of 1 in Moneta
66 reviews
30.9 km away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
GreenLeadersGold level
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are the start of The Crooked Road Music Trail! Centrally located btwn Roanoke/Blue Ridge Parkway and Smith Mountain Lake. Enjoy your morning cup from the l30-foot porch with views of The Blue Ridge. Walk to the Harvester Perfomance Center in downtown Rocky Mount! Tap yer toes in Blue Ridge Country Virginia! Private baths, Central HVAC, Cable TV and WIFI in all of our guest rooms! Let us cook you breakfast here at The Claiborne House B&B ... more   less 

Additional Information about Claiborne House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 185 Claiborne Ave, Rocky Mount, VA 24151-1412
Region: United States > Virginia > Rocky Mount
Price Range: ₹ 8,357 - ₹ 8,357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Claiborne House Bed and Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in the Cascade Room...very nice!”
 of 5 bubbles Mary0120, 27 May 2016 | Read review
“They are all different. Check out their website for photos of each!”
 of 5 bubbles VaStateParks, 21 Aug 2015 | Read review
“My room was up the stairs and to the left. Very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 490stefaniec, 12 Aug 2015 | Read review
“in winter the electric fireplace is nice in the Cascades room.”
 of 5 bubbles VirginiaTraveler014, 10 Jan 2015 | Read review
“We stayed in the Blue Ridge Room and simply adored it!”
 of 5 bubbles 176tiffanys, 1 Dec 2014 | Read review
5 of 5