We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

King George Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roanoke
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
King George Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

204 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for King George Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 204: English reviews
Long Valley, New Jersey
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We were on our way to Ga and booked a room at the King George Inn as our halfway stop. LUCKY FOR US. The Inn was still decorated for Christmas and was so welcoming. We stayed in the King George room which was beautiful and had a good night's sleep in the king sized bed. Breakfast was one of Lynn's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jean D
kinggeorgeinn, Owner at King George Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your gracious TA response...we'll watch for you. Lynn and Jim

Candler, North Carolina
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Such a beautiful home! Large and well-proportioned but made so very cozy by the warmth and graciousness of its owners, Jim and Lynn Hunt. Our stay was perfect in every way and the festive Christmas decorations all around the house really put us in the holiday mood. Breakfast was scrumptious! (Lynn - I found the special yogurt and brought some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrice G
kinggeorgeinn, Owner at King George Inn, responded to this review

thank you for the lovely review. It is most appreciated. We wish you a wonderful holiday season and a Merry Christmas. Sincerely, Lynn and Jim Hunt

New York City, New York
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

Me and my coworker Laura stopped at the King George Inn while on a road trip from New York to Nashville. Lynn and Jim were amazing hosts, kind and hospitable. The food was delicious and the rooms were very cosy and comfortable. I strongly recommend it!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louis L
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I have to say that this was a fantastic B&B! My husband and I stayed with Lynn and Jim through the thanksgiving holiday and we had a wonderful time. They have a beautiful B&B that feels like home and we felt like family from the moment we walked in. We have never been to Roanoke and didn't really know anything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rollie S
kinggeorgeinn, Owner at King George Inn, responded to this review

We were proud to host this newly wed Marine couple in our home and say a prayer of Thanksgiving for their service to our country. We wish them much happiness a safe return.

Johnson City, Tennessee
Reviewed 3 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our way back from Washington, D.C. The historic inn has been beautifully restored and decorated by the owners. The owners recommended an excellent neighborhood restaurant and served us an outstanding eggs benedict breakfast. Our room was lovely and comfortable. The rooms do not have televisions which we didn't miss but some might.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judy C
Whitetop, Virginia
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Have you ever had the experience of arriving at a beautiful bed and breakfast and feeling yourself exhale as soon as you pull in the driveway? That's the pleasure we have each and every time we arrive at the King George Inn; be it for a night or a long weekend. We are always greeted by Innkeepers, Jim and Lynn,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VASusie58
kinggeorgeinn, Owner at King George Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sue and Thomas, Thank you so much for your gracious review. We always look forward to your visits and an update on your busy schedule. We wish you much happiness in your new home and a wonderful holiday season. Thanks again for your kind words...they are greatly appreciated. Kind regards, Lynn and Jim Hunt

Centreville, Virginia
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I was disappointed from walking in the door and getting the look of "Why are you here, you're not welcome." When I said I had a reservation I was told that I did not and even when I showed them my printed reservation I was told I didn't have it and that I cancelled. Lynn was very condescending especially when...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Wendy H
kinggeorgeinn, Owner at King George Inn, responded to this review

Dear Wendy, Sometimes crazy things happen. The fact that a "Wendy" called and cancelled the reservation left no doubt in my mind to eliminate that guestroom. Apparently it wasn't you. However, we did have another room available for you of which you choose not to take. We would have loved to have had you join us and our other guests,...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Found this on TripAdvisor - chose it based on photos and reviews. The B&B is located in a historic neighborhood right outside of downtown Roanoke. Our room, Queen Victoria, was very large with a good size bathroom with all the original fixtures. I had a restaurant picked out but our hostess, Lynn, suggested the Wildflower Cafe around the corner -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David K
Manchester
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed here for one night after driving from Washington via the Shenandoah NP. Greeted warmly by Jim and shown to the King George Room. It was spacious and welcoming after our long journey. Large bathroom with wonderfully fluffy towels. Comfortable bed. No tv in the room, but no problem in a B&B. Jim recommended Wildflour for dinner. The restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zandc
kinggeorgeinn, Owner at King George Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your gracious review. Its because of imput like yours that continues to keep our friends from the UK returning again and again. The Roanoke region of Virginia is truly a magical place and we're so pleased you were able to experience it, as well as the King George Inn.. Sincerely, Jim and Lynn Hunt Innkeepers

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed here on a Sunday for 1 night as we made our way down the Blue Ridge Parkway and choose here as it was not overly far from the access point. On arrival we were greeted by Jim and shown to our room - the Queen Victoria. It is a large room with a 4 poster bed. The bathroom is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wilton2

70 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
1.7 km away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.4 km away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#3 of 40 in Roanoke
709 reviews
1.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
5.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
5.9 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newly restored, 1900's Georgian Colonial. Four spacious suites with private baths and sitting room. Art Gallery and original art throughout mixed with vintage furniture and Persian rugs. The Inn is located in historic old Southwest with a perfect view of the Mill Mountain Star. Close to downtown, museums, restaurants, the Blue Ridge Parkway and the Appalachian Trail. A gourmet breakfast is served on your time schedule...come see us, we'll leave the star on for you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about King George Inn

Address: 315 King George Ave SW, Roanoke, VA 24016-5212
Region: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Price Range: ₹ 8,022 - ₹ 9,694 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from King George Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The King George suite is particularly lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles katielo2016, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We looked at all the rooms, and I think they all were nice. We chose ours because it also had a sofa bed.”
 of 5 bubbles 707jackief, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Quiet street at night with heavy curtains in front rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles winnilady2, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I believe the King George Room has the best lighting”
 of 5 bubbles Ladybugs77, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are comfortable but some have king and some have queen beds”
 of 5 bubbles 1Helpfulperson, 3 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5