We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Super 8 by Wyndham Roanoke VA

Save
Share
6616 Thirlane Rd I-81, I-581 Exit 2S, Roanoke, VA 24019-2906
Hotel direct offer!Stay Twice & Earn a Free Night
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Wyndham
Booking.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (46)
Room & Suite (38)

About

#29 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Super 8 by Wyndham Roanoke VA is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Roanoke, offering a budget friendly environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

Guest rooms offer a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and air conditioning, and Super 8 by Wyndham Roanoke VA makes getting online easy as free wifi is available.

You can also take advantage of some of the amenities offered by the motel, including 24 hour front desk. In addition, guests can enjoy free breakfast during their visit. As an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

While you’re here, be sure to check out some of the seafood restaurants, including Harbor Inn, Peter's Seafood, and Long John Silver's, all of which are a short distance from Super 8 by Wyndham Roanoke VA.

There is no shortage of things to do in the area: explore popular historic sites such as St. Andrew's Roman Catholic Church.

Enjoy your stay in Roanoke!

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Vending machine
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
24-hour front desk
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Hotel links
Special Offer:Stay Twice & Earn a Free Night
476Reviews2Q+A32Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 53
  • 95
  • 121
  • 89
  • 118
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Stephanie W wrote a review 4 Jul
Cripple Creek, Virginia3 contributions
We booked the motel online thinking the Wyndham name would ensure a pleasant place to stay the night. We walked in to check in and the very best thing about the motel and the stay was the employee that assisted us. She got us registered quickly and offered to assist us in getting our baggage up the steps. As we climbed the steps to the 2nd floor, the smell of cigarette smoke was extremely strong. The rooms we passed all had no smoking signs on or beside the door. There were a couple of people there that we passed that appeared to have an altered mental status by their own choice. The room appeared to have clean sheets and towels, but that was about the nicest statement I could make about it. The nasty smell from the hall did continue into the room but not as strong. There were burn marks on the furniture and the chair in the room was filthy with stains. Thank goodness we had folding chairs in the vehicle with us. I was glad that I had a can of spray Lysol and I sprayed the bathroom, door handles, carpets, furniture, refrigerator and lamps before we settled down for the night. The window screen was broken and had half covering the window. The lampshade was destroyed. There were not enough outlets in the room and the hairdryer did not work at all. The floor in the bathroom in front of the bathtub sunk about 1/16 of an inch when it was stepped on. The air conditioner unit made a dripping noise the entire time it ran. The window in the room above us was broken and another window appeared to be cracked. When guests on the floor above us walked, it sounded like they were wearing concrete shoes and performing an Irish Riverdance. After speaking with several local residents, we were told this business is frequented by law enforcement for the activities that take place there. I would never recommend this establishment to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, General Manager at Super 8 by Wyndham Roanoke VA
Responded yesterday
Dear thelady923, Thank you for pointing out the issues with housekeeping so that we can work to improve upon this aspect of the guest experience at our hotel. Our housekeeping staff is held to a very high standard and we appreciate that you've informed us of a need to address housekeeping policies and procedures. We also appreciate your time in pointing out the facilities in most need of attention as we work towards updating and improving upon our accommodations. We are so sorry that you smelled smoke in your room. Unfortunately, despite our efforts to ensure that nobody smokes in non-smoking rooms, it does occasionally happen and we hope you’ll accept our sincerest apologies for the smell of smoke that you experienced. We are working to take care of all of the issues that you addressed and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
Read more
Dan C wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
This is the absolutely most disgusting hotel I’ve ever stayed at. And I mean that. The staff is uncaring and ignorant. Worst is the smell. You can’t even sleep it smells so bad. Dirty bathrooms,floors and sheets. I wondered if anyone actually cleans anything. Nothing could be plugged into the outlets. Plugs just would fall out. People drinking on the parking lot. Years ago I’ve stayed in 29.99 hotels that were much nicer. After this I will avoid any Wyndham brand!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, General Manager at Super 8 by Wyndham Roanoke VA
Responded 10 May 2022
Dear Y29827Gdanc, We are gutted to know that your recent stay at our property was not up to the mark. On behalf of our entire staff, please accept our sincere apologies. We take feedback very seriously, and please be ensured that we will work on your concerns diligently so that no other guest experiences what you did especially with the cleanliness and with the condition of the hotel. We have briefed our housekeeping staff, and we will ensure a more stringent approach from here on, especially when it comes to enhancing our regular quality checks. We would hate to lose a valued guest like you and we sincerely hope you will give us another chance to host you better.
Read more
henrymitchellramirez wrote a review Apr 2022
Alexandria, Virginia1 contribution
I made the reservation because I was moving from Tulsa OK to Alexandria VA. I was leaving on the 16th and booked the room for the 16th, we had the plan to arrive that evening and it was gonna be 14 hours of driving. By 8pm that night we were in Nashville and couldn’t drive anymore, so I called to cancel the reservation. I spoke to a female who explained that she would cancel the reservation and leave a note for the manager so I could get a refund. The woman explained that it would take 12-24 hours to see the amount back in my account. I waited 2 days and called back asking about the refund where I was told they had no record of me calling and that I would not be receiving a refund, they were charging me for the room anyway. I was then told to call Wyndham Customer Service which I did. They explained that someone would reach out to me in a week. I received an email a couple of days after that explaining again that there was no record of me calling, no cancellation, and I’m not getting a refund. Now here I sit after emailing them proof with phone records showing when I called and for how long, they won’t email me back. I think this is absolutely ridiculous that I had to get my phone records to prove that I called and now nobody wants to reach out. I have NEVER in all my times staying at hotels ever had trouble like this. They’re making me out to be a liar and I have no reason to do that. Needless to say, even in a pinch I will sleep in my car before I will ever stay at a Wyndham location again. This location must be money hungry and greedy to do this.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, General Manager at Super 8 by Wyndham Roanoke VA
Responded 26 Apr 2022
Dear henrymitchellramirez, I am so sorry to hear that your most recent stay with us did not meet your expectations. Our primary goal is to provide all guests with an enjoyable experience and it is troubling to know that you faced such an unusual experience. We take this quite highly and your feedback will be shared with management so that appropriate steps can be taken. Thank you again for taking the time for sharing this experience and for your valuable business.
Read more
1963bob wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
I was yelled at and threatened after checkout! Had to call police after being threatened to have them called on me. Avoid this property! Not sure if all rooms were like mine but I had no lights; other than the bathroom, no cable to check weather/watch TV (TV worked) and there was a uddle of water on the desk in the room!!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, General Manager at Super 8 by Wyndham Roanoke VA
Responded 21 Apr 2022
Dear 1963bob, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am shocked to hear about the situations you encountered and would like to deeply apologize. I also would like to ensure you that comments like yours are not taken lightly and will be addressed immediately with our entire team. The description of your stay is highly unusual and does not represent the level of high standards we all aim to achieve. We do hope you allow us another opportunity on a future stay to show you, how we used your overall comments to improve.
Read more
eerol510997 wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
I didn’t like the hotel at all. Beds were very uncomfortable and flush wasn’t working properly. There was not much to eat at the breakfast. There was no trash can and towels in the room. I don’t recommend at all.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, General Manager at Super 8 by Wyndham Roanoke VA
Responded 15 Apr 2022
Dear eerol510997, Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your insightful comments. It saddens us to hear that we failed to meet your expectations and that you found your stay unsatisfactory, especially with the condition of your room, beds, and breakfast options. Please accept our apologies for any issues you had with your room; we will address the concerns you raised with our team and work together on making improvements. We're grateful for your comments and wish you the very best in your future travels.
Read more
dtidwe297961 wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
Room doors could easily be bumped open and the night door safety was broken. Employees didn't care. Seem to be very slack on property repairs. The employee that checked us in was nice but the other 2 front desk employees were rude & apathetic. Cheap & good location but don't leave anything of value in your room.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, General Manager at Super 8 by Wyndham Roanoke VA
Responded 21 Mar 2022
Dear dtidwe297961, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am shocked to hear about the situations you encountered and would like to deeply apologize especially with the condition of the hotel and the service. I also would like to ensure you that comments like yours are not taken lightly and will be addressed immediately with our entire team. The description of your stay is highly unusual and does not represent the level of high standards we all aim to achieve. We do hope you allow us another opportunity on a future stay to show you, how we used your overall comments to improve.
Read more
travisnels0n wrote a review Feb 2022
Hillsville, Virginia1 contribution
I do not want to complain, it was a cheap stay for a quick night's rest but the blankets on the beds had cigarette holes all over them, the bathroom tile was coming up, and the hallway smelled like danky weed. Again.. cheap stay and it all did not bother me too much, but not a place I would ever bring my family. When I went to check in the lady behind the desk was in the back on a obviously personal phone call and I waited for like 15 minutes before I just called the desk. Not sure I would ever stay here again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Super 8 by Wyndham Roanoke VA
Responded 22 Feb 2022
Dear Travis, It saddens us to hear about your experience, as we work so hard to meet the needs of our guests. Rest assured that our housekeeping team will be informed of your concerns, and we will make sure that action is taken immediately for the benefit of our future guests. We will also use your feedback to ensure we're always putting our best foot forward. Thank you, and we wish you nothing but the best ahead.
Read more
Roy L wrote a review Nov 2021
Mossy Head, Florida33 contributions6 helpful votes
We had booked online and even put that we needed a dowstairs room. Upon arriving they tried to give us a 3rd floor room. After stating that we needed a first floor room, the attendant told us he only had one room available and grabbed a spray bottle and ran to freshen up a room for us. We get to the room and there is no heat. So we got him to come down and check it and after a while he finally determined that it was broken. So he moved us into the room next door. (Magically he had another first floor room available when it was necessary) This ac/heater unit worked but was in the wrong case and the cover kept falling off, so I had yarn with me and we were able to tie it on. The refrigerator and the microwave were filthy and the freezer had mold in it. The toilet loudly hissed and sang after flushing till it filled back up again. The walls in the bathroom were filthy and just the overall room had not been cleaned properly. Breakfast the next morning was horrible. All they had were two types of cereal, some regular bread and frozen waffles, and bananas, milk and coffee. The waffles were old and chewy, the milk dispenser did not work properly so you had to open it up just to get milk, the syrup was almost empty, and there were no spoons for cereal. When I asked about some I was told that they did not have any because they were "in short supply." So luckily we had spoons with us and got them out of the car just to be able to eat the cereal. I would not recommend this hotel at all.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Repost
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Super 8 by Wyndham Roanoke VA
Responded 27 Nov 2021
Dear Roy, The issues you raise are important to us. Please accept our apologies for any confusion with your reservation as well as for any concerns about cleanliness and breakfast. Feedback like yours helps us improve, and we'll pass your comments along to our staff for further review. If you're in the area again, we'd be grateful for the chance to provide you with a more enjoyable experience.
Read more
OnAir1836 wrote a review Oct 2021
Charleston, South Carolina USA4 contributions
Super 8 should rename their motel after my review title. This chain was crap back in the day and unfortunately it still is. The manager was very nice but he is definitely behind the eight ball with this place.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Super 8 by Wyndham Roanoke VA
Responded 2 Nov 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback. We want every guest to have a clean, comfortable stay and apologize that your room did not meet your expectations. Please know we will be meeting with our team to see how the issues you have mentioned can be addressed. We wish you safe future travels.
Read more
Nathaniel wrote a review Oct 2021
New York City, New York5 contributions1 helpful vote
Another aging Wyndham property that is not maintained (filthy carpets, missing smoke detector in room). Front desk clerk not understandable with his mumbling, ESL, and massive glass screen. Some sort of domestic dispute in room across the hall brought 4 cop cars. Price was even high, so not even a good value with having to put up with all this this. I'm done with Wyndham. You never know what you're getting. At least they offered breakfast - first Wyndham with this that I've been at since covid.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Super 8 by Wyndham Roanoke VA
Responded 22 Oct 2021
Dear Nathaniel, Thank you for offering feedback about your recent visit to our hotel. It's good to hear you enjoyed our breakfast; however, we are sorry you were disappointed with our accommodations. While not a typical guest experience, your comments concerning upkeep and cleanliness are appreciated, and we will share them with our maintenance and housekeeping staff as we continuously work towards improving our facility and service. Kind regards and safe travels.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$57 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
super 8 roanoke hotel roanoke, super eight roanoke, roanoke super 8, roanoke super eight
LOCATION
United StatesVirginiaRoanoke
NUMBER OF ROOMS
61
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Super 8 by Wyndham Roanoke VA
Which popular attractions are close to Super 8 by Wyndham Roanoke VA?
Nearby attractions include O. Winston Link Museum (7.6 km), Black Dog Salvage (7.0 km), and Roanoke Valley Greenways (7.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Super 8 by Wyndham Roanoke VA?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Super 8 by Wyndham Roanoke VA?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Super 8 by Wyndham Roanoke VA?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Super 8 by Wyndham Roanoke VA?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Super 8 by Wyndham Roanoke VA?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bread Craft, The Regency Room, and Hollywood's Restaurant & Bakery.
Are pets allowed at Super 8 by Wyndham Roanoke VA?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Super 8 by Wyndham Roanoke VA?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St. Andrew's Roman Catholic Church (7.2 km) and Dilly Dally (Salem, VA) (7.8 km).
Is Super 8 by Wyndham Roanoke VA accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.