We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
3816 Franklin Rd SW, Roanoke, VA 24014-3044
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Book Direct For Lowest Price!
Expedia.com
$91
View deal
Free cancellation until 19/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
$91
View deal
Free cancellation until 19/08/22
Trip.com
$72
View deal
Travelocity$91
Hotels.com$91
Hurb$96
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (54)
Room & Suite (29)
Dining (8)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from Quality Inn Tanglewood
Updated 13/10/20

About

#21 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Franchise Hotel of Choice Hotels International QUALITY INN TANGLEWOOD Experience breathtaking mountain views, regional wildlife and one-of-a-kind shops during your stay at our hotel in Roanoke, VA. Amenities include: Free WiFi Free breakfast Business center Fitness center Manger’s reception Guest rooms feature: Microwave and refrigerator Flat-screen TV Coffee maker Iron and ironing board Work desk Surrounded by stunning views of the Blue Ridge Mountains and conveniently located off U.S. Route 220, our hotel is near many attractions, including: Virginia Museum of Transportation Center in the Square Mill Mountain Zoo Salem Civic Center Taubman Museum of Art Rest assured at the Quality Inn® Tanglewood that you’re getting real value during your stay. Our pet-friendly hotel is perfect for business travel, a weekend getaway, or a family vacation. Plus, you can earn rewards, including free nights and gift cards, with our Choice Privileges® Rewards program.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Hiking
Tennis court offsite
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
ATM on site
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Housekeeping
Seating area
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Radio
iPod docking station
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct For Lowest Price!

Location

Full view
49Car recommended
Grade: 49 out of 100
25Restaurantswithin 1 km
1Attractionwithin 1 km
205Reviews0Q+A40Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 49
  • 55
  • 39
  • 26
  • 36
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Mike R wrote a review 2 Aug
1 contribution
The hotel is right on a busy highway intersection in Roanoke and I was expecting a lot of noise, but I was pleasantly surprised that it was not bad at all. Cleanliness was good except for one misstep: the toilet in my original room was splattered with urine and on the floor. Management quickly gave me different room. I will chalk that up to a housekeeping mistake. They have a reasonable hot breakfast which seems unusual in these times at a budget hotel. The bathroom had 2 shower stalls !!?? For the price, I was happy with my stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, General Manager at Quality Inn Tanglewood
Responded 3 days ago
Dear mikeNightRanger, It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you have rated our hospitality and accommodations so highly! Our staff is highly trained to give you an exceptional experience, and we are very pleased to learn that we achieved this goal during your recent stay. We only wish to give nothing but the best service to our guests and to know that we have accomplished such a goal gives us great joy.
Read more
Alicia T wrote a review Feb 2022
Wytheville, Virginia27 contributions3 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
As a woman traveling alone with a toddler, I felt safe here and appreciated being out of the rougher areas. The man who I assume was the manager was very kind. He offered my daughter a piece of candy upon our arrival and departure and helped me carry my items to my room when he saw me struggling with them. The room was very clean with a microwave, refrigerator, and all basic amenities. This is not a “fancy” hotel, but if you are looking for a no-frills motel with a free breakfast and comfy beds, this is a great deal.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Quality Inn Tanglewood
Responded 22 Feb 2022
Dear Alicia, We are thrilled that we managed to impress you during your visit with us at Quality Inn Tanglewood. Thank you for your kind compliments on our attentive staff and clean, comfortable accommodations. The next time you are looking for an excellent stay, we hope you will come back to see us again!
Read more
dandec80 wrote a review Jul 2022
Tampa, Florida4 contributions
A clean hotel for a one nighter when traveling. Economical price and basic accommodations. We had a handicap room (didn’t need) which provided more room around the furniture and a larger bathroom. Shower only. Probably used less so ok by us. Free breakfast was standard fare, but there’s a Duncan Donuts around the corner. Parking outside room. Staff was friendly and helpful. Better than sleeping in the truck.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, General Manager at Quality Inn Tanglewood
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear dandec80, Thank you for providing us with feedback from your recent stay. It's great to hear that you found us clean, pleasant and convenient place to stay. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.
Read more
sarah f wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Quietest hotel I have stayed at. Staff was very helpful. Location is very convenient near the mall and several nice restaurants. Also within 10 minutes of Roanoke Memorial Hospital. Bed and pillows are very comfortable. Towels are soft.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, General Manager at Quality Inn Tanglewood
Responded 24 Jun 2022
Hi sarahfT3994FT, Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your wonderful experience with us. We are so encouraged to always do good for our guests. We are really appreciative of your generous compliments about our location, comfortable beds and pillows, clean rooms, and our friendly staff. We take real pride in this hotel and in serving guests like you, and I’m extremely happy that you had such a pleasant stay. We look forward to having you with us again soon.
Read more
AGRisk wrote a review Jun 2022
Hattiesburg, Mississippi41 contributions10 helpful votes
Room was okay for overnight stay while traveling through Roanoke. Room was decent, but new sheets and towels are needed badly. Sheets were very thin and worn and towels were few. Room was cleaner than some we've stayed in, but bathrooms and carpet need an update. Shower head was nasty. Price was a bit high for the quality of hotel, charged us more for bottom floor, as king bed wasn't available except on 2nd floor. No elevator. Wouldn't recommend if you have kids traveling with you. Older hotel with outside doors.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, General Manager at Quality Inn Tanglewood
Responded 22 Jun 2022
Dear 30angier, Thank you for staying at our hotel and for taking the time to write a review. Although your overall visit was pleasant, we apologize for the difficulty you experienced with our service. Your sincere feedback, including the comments about what we did right and areas where we can improve, helps us better our customer service. We have shared your concerns with the appropriate individuals, and we have taken action to ensure a better experience for future guests. We appreciate your patience and hope to see you again soon.
Read more
SpyderWitch wrote a review Jun 2022
Baltimore, Maryland432 contributions206 helpful votes
My husband and I have stayed here multiple times. Clean hotel. Within walking distance of an okay restaurant. Easy to get to if you are traveling. Dependable hotel. Not fancy but it is a good option if you are in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, General Manager at Quality Inn Tanglewood
Responded 14 Jun 2022
Hi SpyderWitch, We appreciate your candid feedback. We are glad to know you found the location of our hotel convenient and found us clean place to stay. We have shared your feedback with our staff to ensure we continuously work on bettering our services. We will do our best to make sure your next stay with us is completely satisfactory. We look forward to hosting you again in the future!
Read more
Extraordinary213912 wrote a review Apr 2022
Pigeon Forge, Tennessee1 contribution
Have stayed here numerous times. Always clean. Great staff. Always friendly and attentive. Good hot breakfast. Traffic can be noisy so you might want to request a room on the back if that's an issue for you. Safe area.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, General Manager at Quality Inn Tanglewood
Responded 29 Apr 2022
Hi Extraordinarry213912, It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you have rated our hospitality and accommodations so highly! Thank you so much for your compliments on our staff, breakfast and we were able to meet your expectations of cleanliness and service in our hotel. We have shared your feedback with our staff to ensure we continuously work on bettering our services. We will do our best to make sure your next stay with us is completely satisfactory. We look forward to hosting you again in the future!
Read more
amosapparel wrote a review Apr 2022
Orange, Virginia209 contributions44 helpful votes
I'm a choice hotels premium member and often pay for non-business hotel stays with points as I did with this reservation. I arrived with my wife and daughter and as I was checking in, the female owner came out of the back office and told me I had to pay $15 in cash because I had an extra person. I explained to her I was paying with points and that my points covered the room up to 4 people and she said oh, no no no, that we must pay and I said no because I knew the entire room was covered with these points, she refused to work with me and when I told her I was sure she was wrong she got extremely rude with me and said she didn't like it when points were used and if I didn't want t pay I could leave but I would not get my points refunded. Well, I didn't agree, so I called choice hotels and spoke with a customer relations rep. who confirmed I was right and that the room was covered with my points up to 4 people, I return to let her know this and she immediately said we don't have a non-smoking room for you and was rude all over again. I spoke with Choice and they refunded my points and helped me book another room for my family in one of their other local hotels, checking in at the new hotel was perfect... All in all, the owner was rude, lied to me, didn't know her job, and in my mind tried to steal $15 from me. I would sleep in my car before I stayed in this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, General Manager at Quality Inn Tanglewood
Responded 21 Apr 2022
Dear amosapparel, I am so sorry to hear that your most recent stay with us did not meet your expectations. Our primary goal is to provide all guests with an enjoyable experience and it is troubling to know that you faced such an unusual experience, especially with your reservations. We take this quite highly and your feedback will be shared with management so that appropriate steps can be taken. Thank you again for taking the time for sharing this experience and for your valuable business.
Read more
Mandee wrote a review Mar 2022
Roanoke, Virginia2 contributions2 helpful votes
I stayed here a few times in the past for different reasons. Most recently I was the victim of domestic violence and needed a room just for one night for my young child and I while my family made arrangements for us to come stay with them. Upon arriving I got a nasty look in the parking lot from a woman I assume is the owner. When I walked into the lobby a nice young man was checking me in then this woman came in noticed on my ID that I was local and refused to let me pay for a room. I think we were discriminated against because my friend who gave us a ride was driving his old work truck. She assumed I must be trouble because of the kind of vehicle I arrived in. So rude how she immediately stopped the transaction while it was already in place. I've spoken to corporate and usually when friends or family come to town I recommend this establishment. No longer. Rude, judgemental and inconsiderate when all i wanted was a safe place for me and my child to sleep for the night.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, General Manager at Quality Inn Tanglewood
Responded 21 Mar 2022
Dear mandeeNoke, Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am really saddened by the way you described your overall experience at our hotel and want you to know that our team will research your comments and make the necessary arrangements in order to keep these issues from happening again with future guests. Thanks for letting us know, we hope to host you on a future visit.
Read more
Peter D wrote a review Dec 2021
Hillsborough, North Carolina8 contributions5 helpful votes
The good part is the beds seemed clean, overall the room was comfortable and the TV worked. The bad part is that it is right off the highway so it is noisy. Also, the mirror light over the sink flickered very brightly until we finally just left it on all night. The tub felt dirty and the shower curtain was way overdue to be replaced as it was pretty moldy. The to go bagged breakfast was ok, seems many hotels are now using covid as a way to reduce these costs. Fitness equipment was poor, an upgrade is needed here or just close it.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Quality Inn Tanglewood
Responded 16 Dec 2021
Dear Peter, We're saddened to learn you did not enjoy your stay despite our comfortable beds. Please accept our apologies for any issues with noise and cleanliness, as well as for any disappointment with the breakfast and gym. We'll pass your comments along to our staff for further review, and we hope you'll consider staying with us again should you be back in the area.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$70 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
quality inn tanglewood hotel roanoke, quality inn roanoke, roanoke quality inn
LOCATION
United StatesVirginiaRoanoke
NUMBER OF ROOMS
58
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Quality Inn Tanglewood
Which popular attractions are close to Quality Inn Tanglewood?
Nearby attractions include Carmike Cinemas 10 -Roanoke (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Quality Inn Tanglewood?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Quality Inn Tanglewood?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Quality Inn Tanglewood?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Quality Inn Tanglewood?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Quality Inn Tanglewood?
Conveniently located restaurants include Montano's International, The Great 611 Steak Company, and Ben Gui Sushi.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Quality Inn Tanglewood?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Quality Inn Tanglewood?
Yes, a clothes dryer and a washing machine are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Quality Inn Tanglewood?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Quality Inn Tanglewood?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St. Andrew's Roman Catholic Church (5.9 km).
Is Quality Inn Tanglewood accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.