We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Roanoke-Tanglewood-Rt 419&I581, an IHG Hotel

Save
Share
4468 Starkey Road Southwest, Roanoke, VA 24018-0611
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!IHG One Rewards Members Save More 
Booking.com
$99
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/08/22
Expedia.com
$99
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
ZenHotels.com
$96
View deal
HolidayInn.com$99
Hotels.com$99
Lol.travel$110
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (90)
Room & Suite (43)
Dining (6)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Roanoke-Tanglewood-Rt 419&I581, an IHG Hotel
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#16 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Enjoy Your Stay in Roanoke, VA at Our Hotel! Nestled in the heart of Virginia's Blue Ridge Mountains, the Holiday Inn® Tanglewood - Roanoke has a picturesque location in Roanoke's upscale south side. We are located off Route 220/I-581 and close to I-81. This central and safe location makes us attractive to guests working in and visiting Downtown Roanoke and Historic Grandin. The Salem Civic Center, Moyer Sports Complex, Berglund Center and Carilion Hospital are all within minutes of our hotel making local travel a breeze. Discovery awaits as we are just two miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway, minutes away from shopping, breweries, and a plethora of local dining favorites. For those looking to further explore, the Taubman Museum, Mill Mountain Star, Zoo, and the famous Blackdog Salvage are worth a visit! Guests can travel a short distance to the D-Day Memorial, Explore Park, Virginia Tech University, VMI, Washington, and Lee, Liberty and Ferrum, and Martinsville Speedway!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Secured parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Chinese, Hindi
Hotel links
Special Offer:IHG One Rewards Members Save More 

Location

Full view
49Car recommended
Grade: 49 out of 100
25Restaurantswithin 1 km
2Attractionswithin 1 km
554Reviews5Q+A91Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 222
  • 156
  • 102
  • 45
  • 29
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Danielle wrote a review Jul 2022
40 contributions24 helpful votes
In dire need of updating, the beds hard and uncomfortable, there were hardly any vending machines, only drinks no snacks. The staff was very nice, I would definitely skip the breakfast.. I wouldn’t recommend the stay here, look for a different hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Roanoke-Tanglewood-Rt 419&I581, an IHG Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi daniNnj19, Thank you for your stay and patronage of Holiday Inn Roanoke-Tanglewood-Rt 419&I581. Our hotel is the best place to enjoy a quality where you can relax and enjoy your vacation. I saw your comments and am sorry for these issues you had in your visit. I know that when you are reserving, there is an option, and you choose us because we are different. I distributed your message to our managers and took the necessary steps to stop this from happening. We hope you allow us to host your next travel. We know you won't regret this decision. Warm wishes, Oscar C. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
trigirl24920 wrote a review Jun 2022
Tampa, Florida25 contributions17 helpful votes
Older hotel but clean. We had a hotel room with no free breakfast. Front staff seemed unattentive. She was busy checking messages on her phone but was accommodating when we asked to see a hotel menu for the dining room options. TV didn't work but after a phone call, the staff corrected the issue. Evidently, there was a bad storm the prior week which knocked out some of the TVs. We ordered a pizza from the hotel which was good but there was only one guy serving the bar and restaurant area and we were told we had to wait. The next morning, we went out to a small restaurant and had a nice breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Art Morris, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Roanoke-Tanglewood-Rt 419&I581, an IHG Hotel
Responded 26 Jun 2022
I am glad to hear we were able to fix everything so you could enjoy your stay at the Holiday Inn Tanglewood. Our hotel is going to go through a huge remodel later this year where every aspect of the hotel is getting updated. We hope you visit us again after our remodel so you can check out our new look.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Peter V wrote a review Oct 2021
St. Petersburg, Florida1 contribution1 helpful vote
My wife and I stayed Saturday night October 23, we were in room 437, directly across the hall from us in room 4 38 is a hospitality suite for a Shriners party going on.when we arrive to our room there were drink glasses on the floor in the hallway. We had driven 10 hours that day and we’re tired, we called the front desk twice about the noise they said they would take care of it, the noise continued up until close to 1 o’clock in the morning. When we booked the room they did not tell us that there was a party going on across the hall that started after we had checked in to our room this was very disappointing. Upon checking out the following morning with little sleep we complain to the desk clerk and all he did was offer us to breakfast coupons. The room taxes including was $218 a night we felt that we should have been copped half the price of the room for all we had to go through. I will never stay in this hotel again it is the worst Holiday Inn I’ve ever stayed at in my life. We have always had good experiences with Holiday Inn, that’s why we stopped here and boy did it let us down they do not have free breakfast because there was a restaurant on site that’s why we were offered the breakfast coupons the front desk did agree to take $25 off our bill. They clearly do not care about the hospitality of their customers.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Art Morris, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Roanoke-Tanglewood-Rt 419&I581, an IHG Hotel
Responded 8 Nov 2021
I am so sorry to hear about your experience at our hotel. We should have notified you about all of our events, we have them posted next to the front desk each day. We would love to have you visit us again to show you the best experience possible that you should have received on your first visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
katie O wrote a review Oct 2021
Annapolis, Maryland2 contributions1 helpful vote
We came back to Roanoke for a funeral. Booked several rooms here because it’s familiar, we used to always stay at the Tanglewood Holiday Inn and it was always fine. Not anymore. Carpets are all disgusting. The hallways and rooms reek of pet urine? (I hope) Even wearing face masks it was overwhelming. Beds are uncomfortable. Bathrooms very worn and dingy. Front desk understaffed- it took us more than 20 min to get to the counter. Housekeeping staff was the only redeeming aspect of our stay. We won’t be back. This property is NOT what it used to be.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Roanoke-Tanglewood-Rt 419&I581, an IHG Hotel
Responded 31 Oct 2021
Hi MD2NC2PA, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for posting a candid review. I was very concerned to read your comments regarding the carpet cleanliness, bed comfort, bathroom condition, and customer service. I understand your dismay and I am sorry. This is not the joy of travel for all experience that we wanted for all our guests. I will make sure to share your comments with our team for the necessary improvements needed on our end. I appreciate you as our guest and I still hope you would give us another chance in the future. Orlando A. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dmitry Y wrote a review Aug 2021
Queensbury, New York6 contributions4 helpful votes
We love to stay in Holiday Inns, and we always use their hospitality on our family trips. Just the right level of amenities for the right price for us. And always - very clean. But this one was far bellow expectations. Really dirty place. It started with the lobby (littered floors crying for vacuuming, smell of mold everywhere). Same - in the hallways. Maybe a bit better in the room, but we found a plastic bottle on the floor, between the beds. The bath tub was just disgusting, with dirty floor, the plug completely pulled out of it's place and freely lying on the floor, revealing its rusty dirty disgusting insides. I had to manually push it back to be able to use the tub. The pool - another disappointment. We came to swim and were happy to see no other people present - but soon realized why. The water was incredibly dirty, with litter lying on the bottom, floating on the surface, sitting on the sides of the pool, on the stairs, everywhere. We didn't dare to go in. Next morning - another disappointment, with the breakfast. Again, we didn't see anybody seating and eating breakfast - obviously for a reason. The breakfast was for extra charge. Not a lot, but why? It's been always included in all Holiday Inns we so far visited. Yes, they say it on the website, we didn't notice. But still, too bad. The price wasn't any cheaper than in other places. We only stayed two nights, luckily, and moved forward. Now we are staying in Holiday Inn in Goodlettvile, TN. And this one is excellent. As they usually are. As they should be.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Check the room before you unload your stuff, you might need to request a room change.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Roanoke-Tanglewood-Rt 419&I581, an IHG Hotel
Responded 4 Sep 2021
Hello 72dmitryy, Thank you for your stay. We wanted to provide dependable service and accommodations and have a lasting impression of our brand, and it is clear that we fell short in your case. What you have described is not what we expect from any of our hotels. Issues with the cleanliness of your room and the pool area gave a negative impact on your stay. Your thoughts have been shared with the housekeeping team and this will be addressed rightly. Unlike for our Holiday Inn Express brands, breakfast is not complimentary for our Holiday Inn hotels. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and hope you will allow us to serve you again in the future. Warm thoughts, Deborah R. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
wvdeedee wrote a review Nov 2020
Ravenswood, West Virginia14 contributions7 helpful votes
Super friendly staff, rooms were clean, bed and pillows comfortable. Also, the add on full breakfast for 2 for club members was a great value and nice surprise. Only complaint we had was that the a couple of the staff we encountered were consistently wearing their mask not covering their nose. Also, breakfast took longer than anticipated but was excellent. Dinner was also very good.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Brian wrote a review Oct 2020
Martinsville, Virginia1 contribution
The Holiday Inn near the Tanglewood mall has a great staff. The staff was friendly and helpful. The power went off to the microwave, tv, and fridge and they had it up and running in 10 minutes. I very much enjoyed my stay and would recommend this place to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Nikki K wrote a review Oct 2020
2 contributions
If I could give more stars I would! The hotel staff -from management to those helping with the event, they were all so accommodating, helpful, and nice! I was provided everything I asked for and more. The location was perfect and easy for the guests, the space was great for providing space and adequate distancing. Overall I am beyond pleased and look forward to working with them again!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: enhanced room views are nice
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Holly H wrote a review Aug 2020
United States12 contributions3 helpful votes
Had to move rooms because first rooms air conditioning didn’t work but the front desk promptly helped. Unfortunately didn’t get to use the pool but wished we could have. Room could have been cleaner but overall was a decent stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Roanoke-Tanglewood-Rt 419&I581, an IHG Hotel
Responded 7 Oct 2020
Hi hollyhD9423NB, Thank you for your visit. Our hotel provides an environment of peace and tranquility. I reviewed your comments and I'm sorry for the trouble with the AC and the room upkeep. I forwarded your comments and took action to prevent this from happening again. I invite you to stay on your next travel journey. Regards, Oscar C. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steve_Bowman wrote a review Jul 2020
Abingdon, Virginia7 contributions2 helpful votes
We booked thru Priceline for 7/3 to 7/5/20. Hotel was updated, room was clean, & well stocked. All employees we met were nice, friendly. Jen, the night clerk was awesome. I have neck issues & pain. At 2 a.m. she went out of her way to bring me extra pillows. At 4 a.m. I had an upset stomach & heartburn. I called & asked about possibly getting some milk. She had two cups ready AND 4 tums pills in a container! I let the hotel manager know the next morning how caring she was & she needed a raise!! The second night we passed in the hall & she asked if I was feeling better. She is very thoughtful. Thank you Jen.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote1 Repost
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$107 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn roanoke - tanglewood hotel roanoke, holiday inn tanglewood, roanoke holiday inn
LOCATION
United StatesVirginiaRoanoke
NUMBER OF ROOMS
196
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Roanoke-Tanglewood-Rt 419&I581, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Roanoke-Tanglewood-Rt 419&I581, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Carmike Cinemas 10 -Roanoke (1.0 km), Star City Mystery Dinner Theater (0.05 km), and Glazed Bisque It (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Roanoke-Tanglewood-Rt 419&I581, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Roanoke-Tanglewood-Rt 419&I581, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Roanoke-Tanglewood-Rt 419&I581, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Roanoke-Tanglewood-Rt 419&I581, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ben Gui Sushi, Bellacino's Pizza & Grinders, and Texas Roadhouse.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Roanoke-Tanglewood-Rt 419&I581, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Holiday Inn Roanoke-Tanglewood-Rt 419&I581, an IHG Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Holiday Inn Roanoke-Tanglewood-Rt 419&I581, an IHG Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Holiday Inn Roanoke-Tanglewood-Rt 419&I581, an IHG Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Holiday Inn Roanoke-Tanglewood-Rt 419&I581, an IHG Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Roanoke-Tanglewood-Rt 419&I581, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Holiday Inn Roanoke-Tanglewood-Rt 419&I581, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Holiday Inn Roanoke-Tanglewood-Rt 419&I581, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.