We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Claypool Hill

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Claypool Hill
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

62 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Claypool Hill
See the most recent reviews
Showing 62: English reviews
Chicago
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This is my second stay here, first time it was fine, second time, not so much....this hotel clientele are mostly workers, so they check out pretty early and are gone all day, they don't realize others there on leisure may want some quiet and sleep in....so after 2 days of me being on the road straight with another full day...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ItsmeFifi
Kathy B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Claypool Hill, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. We understand that having a good night sleep is important and it sounds like we fell below your expectations. We are sorry for any inconvenience that the other guests around you were not quite. Also I do apologize for the housekeeping staff entering your room before 11:00am. I...

Falls Church, Virginia
Reviewed 19 June 2013

This hotel is in a very remote area, so hotel options are limited. Cleanliness is always my biggest concern at any hotel, and I can tell you this property is clean. We ran into a few other issues during our two night stay, however. We were given a room that had an air conditioner that made a lot of noise....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danner8
Kathy B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Claypool Hill, responded to this review

Thank you for the taking the time to let us know about your most current experience at our Holiday Inn Express & Suites located in Claypool Hill, Virginia. Our goal is to meet your needs from a clean comfortable room to friendly staff and I can see for the most part we did that. I will discuss with my housekeeping...

Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewed 12 June 2013

This was my first visit to this property (and my last), as it started off on a bad note. I had made a reservation through my corporate web site for a nonsmoking room at this property. After checking in, I made my way up to my third floor room, the first thing that struck me when I got off the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paintman0954
Kathy B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Claypool Hill, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. We understand that having a good night sleep is important and it sounds like we fell below your expectations. We are sorry for any inconvenience you experienced due to the front doors and the room above you. I am truly sorry for the misunderstanding about the reservations. I...

Kingsport, Tennessee
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Stayed here one night for the Varmint Half Marathon. The room was clean, but the a/c seemed to have some issues. It was extremely hot/humid in the room when I arrived. I had to keep the thermostat on 60 to make the room comfortable. I also stayed in the first floor and the guests above me were extremely noisy. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AmandaFromTenn
Kathy B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Claypool Hill, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry about the noise experience from the room above you during your stay. I understand the discomfort this caused you. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. As far as the...

Merritt Island, Florida
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Overall, the hotel "Ok" Rooms were OK, breakfast was OK, service was OK. I dropped the rating to "Poor" because the rate we reserved was not the rate that was presented upon check-in. This had to have been a purposeful change by the staff or management. I had to go and pull up my reservation and how them the reserved...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ken and Karen C
Kathy B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Claypool Hill, responded to this review

Thank you for the taking the time to let us know about your most current experience at our Holiday Inn Express & Suites located in Claypool Hill, Virginia. If the reservation you booked on line was at a different rate then you received at check-in I wish you would have brought that to our attention when you checked in. We...

Reviewed 12 April 2013

Stay here every time we come to visit family in area and are never disappointed. Staff is super friendly and extremely accommodating. Indoor pool, is a big draw for kids, although on our last visit the chlorine levels were extremely high. This caused some skin and eye irritation. Minimally equipped exercise room, but treadmills work well. Rooms are adequate. Certainly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Walaka
Kathy B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Claypool Hill, responded to this review

Thank you for the taking the time to let us know about your most current experience at our Holiday Inn Express & Suites located in Claypool Hill, Virginia. Our goal is to meet your needs from a clean comfortable room to friendly staff and I can see we did that. Regarding the pool’s chlorine levels. We stay in the guidelines...

Reviewed 2 April 2013

Having never been to Pounding Mills (or anywhere nearby) I didn't know what to expect from this small VA town. When we made reservations, it was hard to even find anyplace in this area. Thankfully, we found what appeared to be the nicest hotel in the area. The lobby was nice, we had two rooms with two double beds. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adna4f
Kathy B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Claypool Hill, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful comments regarding our Holiday Inn Express & Suites located in Claypool Hill, Virginia. We take pride in our hotel and I can see we met your needs from a clean comfortable room to friendly staff. I am glad you enjoyed the breakfast. It is nice to wake up to a hot breakfast, and the Holiday...

Richmond, Virginia, United States
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Nice hotel located just outside of Richlands, VA. Room was clean and comfortable. King size bed was firm. Nice breakfast in the morning. My one complaint was that the room A/Heater made a lot of noise and each time during the night it would kick on it would wake me up.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gregory C
Kathy B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Claypool Hill, responded to this review

Thank you for the taking the time to let us know about your most current experience at our Holiday Inn Express & Suites located in Claypool Hill, Virginia. Our goal is to meet your needs from a clean comfortable room to friendly staff and I can see we did that. The HVAC units are controlled by the air temperature and...

Ljubljana, Slovenia
Reviewed 31 October 2012

The property appears rather new and in good shape. The check-in was friendly, although the assigned room did not match my preference requested in the reservation (I am a platinum PC member), so I asked for another room. The room I got was also in good shape, but it was full of bugs. There were between 15 and 20 ladybugs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Slo-Lju
Kathy B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Claypool Hill, responded to this review

First of all I would like to thank you for being a loyal customer of the Holiday Inn Family of Hotels as a Platinum member. Our goal is to meet your needs from a clean comfortable room to friendly staff and I can see we did that for the most part accept for the lady bug issue. We have been...

Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Had some work in Cedar Bluff, and this came up on the map. So happy to be able to stay at an HIE. This hotel is one of the smallest HIE I've stayed in, but it has one of the largest breakfast areas. Unfortunately, I had to stay in a smoking room (all booked up), but was pleasantly surprised to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SLUdog99
Kathy B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Claypool Hill, responded to this review

Thank you for the taking the time to let us know about your most current experience at our Holiday Inn Express & Suites located in Claypool Hill, Virginia. Our goal is to meet your needs from a clean comfortable room to friendly staff and I can see we did that. Again thank you for the comments and look forward to...

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pounding Mill
0.4 km away
Super 8 Richlands/Claypool Hill Area
35.2 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 1 in Atkins
48 reviews
33.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lebanon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40.1 km away
Comfort Inn Grundy
Comfort Inn Grundy
#1 of 1 in Grundy
52 reviews
22.9 km away
Fincastle Motor Inn
Fincastle Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Tazewell
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Come enjoy the beautiful new Claypool Hill Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites located on US 460 & US 19. We are close to Fort Witten/Crab Orchard Museum, Southwest VA Community College, Richlands, and Grundy. Enjoy one of our mountain view rooms. We offer spacious King and queen double bedding along with 17 suites. Our feature king suite offers fireplace & hot tub. All suites have wet bar w/microwave, Refrigerator & sofa sleeper. All rooms have hairdryer, iron/board, coffee makers, speakerphones w/voice mail and high speed Internet access. Relax and unwind in our indoor pool, whirlpool. (Pool and whirlpool closed due to renovations) or exercise room featuring Nautilus equipment. We take pride in our guest service and quality. When staying in Claypool Hill, stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. We look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Claypool Hill

Address: 180 Clay Drive, Pounding Mill, VA 24637
Region: United States > Virginia > Pounding Mill
Price Range: ₹ 6,878 - ₹ 9,629 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Claypool Hill 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, IHG and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Claypool Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Claypool Hill Hotel Pounding Mill
Holiday Inn Pounding Mill
Pounding Mill Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Claypool Hill staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Claypool Hill staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms in the back offer views of the mountains - often magically misty”
 of 5 bubbles netherholt, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We were on the 3rd Floor, very nice!”
 of 5 bubbles babetravels, 15 May 2016 | Read review
“Save yourself and stay anywhere else!”
 of 5 bubbles srbelle24014, 5 May 2016 | Read review
“King room is a suite”
 of 5 bubbles VaCarol, 13 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Check your room out before you accept it. Ours smelled horrible.”
 of 5 bubbles 253maryannc, 26 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5