We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

603 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 595: English reviews
Coastal NC
Reviewed 29 June 2015

I expected more out of this property. The room furnishings were dated and reflected the quality one would expect in a Fairfield Inn. I hope the owners are in the process of updating the rooms; it is desperately needed. Free Wi-Fi was available but it was terrible (as you would expect from free Wi-Fi at a hotel). If you want...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bunky1998
Darnell S, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review

On behalf of Renaissance Portsmouth Hotel management and staff, please accept my apology for the missed opportunities you mentioned on your review. Our ownership group is currently in the planning phases for our hotel renovation. Its unfortunate you wont be back to see our finished product. But we would like to extend an invite in the event you change your...

Galt, California
Reviewed 28 June 2015

The hotel was just "OK". Pricey, but not much of a selection nearby. The mattress had seen better days, in-room coffee let us prepare one cup to share. The room was clean, view from 12th floor was very nice. Don't think I would stay there again. Wi-fi was free but I had to end up using my phone since the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fred D
Darnell S, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review

Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again and come visit us again soon!

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 27 June 2015

I was pleasantly surprised with my recent stay at the Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel. We arrived before noon and went to see if our room was available early. Although our room wasn't ready the front desk staff was very helpful in telling us where to park and a few local things to do while we waited for our room to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sparkles59
Darnell S, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing!! Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again and come visit us again soon!

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 26 June 2015

We recently stayed at the Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk for a friend's wedding weekend. The hotel was beautiful and overall it was a great experience, but at the wedding reception several iphone's were stolen towards the end of the night. I was disappointed that none of the banquet, clean up or hotel staff seemed to take it seriously. We realized the phones...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karen T
Darnell S, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback and truly apologize. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. I have personally presented the listed opportunities to my management team! Again our sincerest apologies!!

Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewed 22 June 2015

We were in town for a concert at the NorVa and really enjoyed our stay at the Renaissance! From the minute we drove up, until the time we checked out, we were pleased. Customer service is top notch and everyone is so friendly and accommodating. The hotel is simply beautiful and has stunning views. We were on the 12th floor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Calya W
Darnell S, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted you enjoyed our hotel!!! The water ferry is a delight for any family to experience. Next time you come to Portsmouth, please let me know! Would love to meet you and your family!!!

Reviewed 22 June 2015 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights, it is a beautiful hotel. All staff were friendly and welcoming. Stayed in 2 different rooms, as I wasn't sure how long we would be staying, so checked out and then rebooked. The harbor view is gorgeous. The rooms are attractive with nice towels and Aveda products. The hotel is large and the parking garage is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank StephanieSelene
Darnell S, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing!! Next time you visit our hotel, I would be delighted to let you sample one of our tasty appetizers!! Look for to seeing you again soon!!!

Westport, Ireland
Reviewed 10 June 2015

This hotel is a very good location to stay in Portsmouth as it is right on the harbour and also within walking distance of main street. Staff are very friendly and helpful with good knowledge of surrounding attractions

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank weise2014
Darnell S, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing!! Our staff takes pride in getting our guest to discover something new. Please let us know when you plan to return so we may share other hidden gems!!!

Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewed 9 June 2015

Friends booked a room at the Renaissance for us when we were visiting the area for a special occasion. The room was very spacious with well-chosen furnishings. Though we were not on one of the higher floors, the view of Norfolk was beautiful. The bed was comfortable, and the seating was adequate for a gathering of friends. The hotel’s public...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JamesIslandTraveler
Darnell S, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review. I have communicated the notes shared. We look forward to seeing you again!!!

Dublin, Ohio
Reviewed 1 June 2015

Hello I am a Lifetime Platinum Member with Marriott Hotels, meaning I have stayed over 1,000 nights with them. This is my first review I have ever written on trip advisor, as I have never been inspired to write one, until now. The front desk manager Darnell Smith was outstanding!! I was in a jam and he really went WAY...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maserati Mike R
Darnell S, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review and the very kind words!! I am proud to work for Marriott and provide stellar customer service to loyal members like yourself. Look forward to seeing you again soon!!

Tampa, Florida, United States
Reviewed 27 May 2015

The staff of this lovely hotel are by and far the best I've encountered in my travels. ive stayed at hotels with much higher caliber names and left disappointed, but not here. FromMichael, the bell hop who went above and beyond, to the cleaning staff who left thank you notes for the gratuity I left... The politeness and genuine happiness...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leah W
Darnell S, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing!!! I have shared this review with Michael personally!! He was smiling from ear to ear. Thank you for making his day today with such wonderful words!! Look forward to seeing you again soon!!!

275 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (229)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
View from Room (45)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
1.0 km away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
1.9 km away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
1.3 km away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
2.1 km away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
0.9 km away
Comfort Inn Olde Town
Comfort Inn Olde Town
#3 of 5 in Portsmouth
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Blending traditional elegance and modern style, our waterside Norfolk, VA area hotel in the historic downtown district of Olde Towne Portsmouth provides calming comfort and soothing relaxation. The Renaissance Portsmouth hotel boasts a hip location overlooking the vibrant, revitalized waterfront and offers stunning views of the Elizabeth River. Set above the harbor, the Portsmouth Ballroom's unique outdoor terrace, part of the 24,000 square feet of Norfolk area hotel meeting space, provides a stunning reception area sure to draw rave reviews from your guests. This updated luxurious Norfolk, Virginia area hotel also features 23 meeting rooms including a 70-seat Amphitheater. Savor the atmosphere of this waterside hotel in Portsmouth at Foggy Point Bar & Grill, presenting a selection of fresh seafood. Visitors to the area can enjoy the unique experience of taking the nearby water taxi across to many of the Norfolk business and visitor destinations including the Norfolk Naval facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel

Address: 425 Water St, Portsmouth, VA 23704-3801
Region: United States > Virginia > Portsmouth
Price Range: ₹ 7,202 - ₹ 12,505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Portsmouth Hotel & Waterfront Portsmouth
Renaissance Portsmouth Hotel And Waterfront Conference Center
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Cornwall, Canada
Weston, Missouri
6 months ago
10 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“consider booking larger king rooms or a suite and request water view. Choose higher level to fully enjoy view”
 of 5 bubbles CarpeDiem1765, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“High rooms have great views”
 of 5 bubbles O4993SOannes, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Definitely ask for a room with a view of Norfolk. The night lights are beautiful.”
 of 5 bubbles 910tanyaw, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a top floor water and city view”
 of 5 bubbles twotravelors42, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a river view.”
 of 5 bubbles Weckel, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5