We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mountain Lake Lodge

MountainLakeLodgeUS$ 167*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Mountain Lake Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

327 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Mountain Lake Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 325: English reviews
Altavista VA, United States
Reviewed 1 June 2016

The dirty dancing movie location was very historic and nice. The food was excellent but way over priced. Breakfast buffet $40 dollars, room really small no TV, no internet service that worked, no air conditioning. They cater to weddings and it shows. My wife is a big Dirty Dancing fan and it was really historic. The lake is nothing left...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Edward F
Heidi S, General Manager at Mountain Lake Lodge, responded to this review

Edward, Thank you for your comments. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay. We do try to set the proper expectation of the property in Our Mission video on the front page of the website https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fXVo77-7ueo We are very proud of our history and want to continue to preserve Mountain Lake Lodge for future generations; however, all...

Arlington, Virginia
Reviewed 31 May 2016

Overall, the lodge is nice but will probably not return. The lake has drained, so it's not as picturesque as I think it used to be. The amenities are not well kept. For example, the tennis courts are cracked, the hot tub is old and luke warm, the corn hole bean bags have holes in them, and the rooms are...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Fiona Y
Birmingham
Reviewed 25 May 2016 via mobile

An inviting location at 4,000 ft above seal level featuring old-world charm, this rustic stone lodge is the centerpiece of the mountaintop conservancy. Road Scholar program participants enjoyed their stay here for a week-long program - trail hikes on the Appalachian Trail. All meals were thoroughly enjoyed, including sack lunches for the trail hikes. No need for air conditioning here,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank samuelbM5790PJ
Manassas VA
Reviewed 18 May 2016

My wife & I spent 3 days here last month. It was right out of Dirty Dancing. We rented a cabin and really enjoyed the peace & quiet. There are some excellent hiking trails and they even have loaner copies of Dirty Dancing on DVD in the Lodge, Excellent romantic weekend. They also had an awesome seafood buffet on Friday...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ronsray
Fort Worth, TX
Reviewed 18 May 2016

This is a gem of a place tucked away the mountains near Blacksburg, VA (home of Virginia Tech). We went there just for lunch and a walk around the grounds. The beautiful grounds and the magnificent lodge give a real sense of old Virginia history. The real history of the place is fascinating. The lunch was excellent in a gorgeous...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Jody K
Reviewed 11 May 2016 via mobile

I ate here for Mother's Day. Had the Sunday buffet brunch. Only one word can describe it. Phenomenal. Will definitely be back for more. The staff there is so nice and willing to accommodate any complaint or question that you may have. Scenery here is also beautiful. Which adds on to how amazing it is. I was not disappointed at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Randi T
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 10 May 2016

I attended an event at the hotel recently. We approached from the mountain side (VA 613 from West VA) and learned that it was mostly a dirt/gravel/logging road. Unless you are prepared for a rough ride, enter from the VA 460 side. You'll approach up a windy, picturesque mountain road and arrive at the lodge after about 7 miles. The...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank J L
Lynchburg, VA
Reviewed 4 May 2016

This old lodge still has a lot of charm. I hope it survives in the future. The hotel is clean & the staff is friendly. Food was good. But... there is only one ice machine in the lodge. I was told "There's another one downstairs, but it's broken". That is sort of a theme of the property. There used to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Glennmeister
Heidi S, General Manager at Mountain Lake Lodge, responded to this review

Glennmeister, Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion about Mountain Lake Lodge. We sincerely appreciate your visit and hope to see you again! We have created a very informative video about our "special" lake on the front page of our website, www.mtnlakelodge.com. I understand how your initial impression would be that the lake is broken, but interestingly...

Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewed 29 April 2016

Mountain Lake Lodge is a beautiful facility with friendly staff and delicious food. We stayed in a small cabin and were very pleased with the amenities and quality of everything. So glad we decided to try the seafood buffet! Next time I hope to try all the fun activities they offer. A special shoutout to Michael, Julie, and Glenn for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank promiseoftheworld
Heidi S, General Manager at Mountain Lake Lodge, responded to this review

Promise of the world, Thank you for your comments about your recent visit to Mountain Lake Lodge! We look forward to introducing you next time to some of our amazing recreation at Treetop Base Camp - Bubble Ball, Archery Tag, & Treetops Adventure Course! I sincerely appreciate the shout out to our Tavern staff!! See you next time! Cheers! Best,...

Reviewed 29 April 2016 via mobile

The staff couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. I had never been there before, but felt like I was visiting old friends (staff) immediately. Not only was the service amazing, but this place was gorgeous beyond compare!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Seka23

340 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (313)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (139)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (114)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pembroke
22.2 km away
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
#8 of 9 in Blacksburg
205 reviews
16.9 km away
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
29.2 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Christiansburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 km away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#6 of 9 in Blacksburg
210 reviews
23.6 km away
Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg
16.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Harvest Restaurant
Harvest Restaurant
Cuisines: American
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The newly renovated historic Mountain Lake Lodge features 43 Rooms in Main Stone Lodge, 16 in Chestnut Lodge, 9 Mountain Homes in Blueberry Ridge, 8 historic rustic cabins and 9 Front Lawn Cottages on 2,600 acres of preserved mountaintop property owned by the Mary Moody Northen Endowment. Mountain Lake Conservancy, a non-profit organization founded in 1989, serves to protect the land and wildlife resources on the property for future generations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mountain Lake Lodge

Address: 115 Hotel Cir, Pembroke, VA 24136-3055 (Formerly Mountain Lake Hotel)
Region: United States > Virginia > Pembroke
Price Range: ₹ 10,472 - ₹ 19,974 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mountain Lake Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mountain Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Lake Pembroke
Hotel Mountain Lake
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mountain Lake Lodge staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question
Charlestown, Indiana, United States
3 months ago

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from Mountain Lake Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't travel here with children who need a crib.”
GigglesandGaggles, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We loved the main Inn, but they have cabins as well.”
Bethro23, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stay Away!”
howelldw, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The rooms in the main house are more like hotel rooms. Definitely choose a cabin or lodge.”
mbarbiaux22, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Even # rooms int the main lodge have great views of the property.”
I4610PTjohnb, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
MountainLakeLodge
US$ 167* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.comUS$ 188
TripAdvisorUS$ 167
PricelineUS$ 179
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates