We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mountain Lake Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mountain Lake Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

324 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 322: English reviews
Start your review of Mountain Lake Lodge
 Click to rate
Los Altos, California
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

My review is written from the perspective of a one night stay while visiting Blacksburg. I did not appreciate how remote this place was up a long windy mountain road. Unfortunately what I saw when I got there was nothing special compared to what I expected. The view was Ok but nothing spectacular. The accommodations were average if not somewhat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tarheeltraveler367
Heidi S, General Manager at Mountain Lake Lodge, responded to this review

Tarheeltraveler367, Thank you for your comments. I'm not sure from your note if you were able to see the views specifically from Bald Knob or from the Historic Golf Clubhouse. These are undeniably spectacular views. We are currently still preparing for the summer season and are disappointed that you felt "let down" with your recent stay. We hope that you...

Walcott, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here at the wife's request for two nights, presumably because of the Dirty Dancing connection. The main building exterior itself is beautiful and provides a grand back drop. Inside mind is quite drab and the standard rooms are greatly dated with no AC or TV. The decor and furniture are old and in need of updating. The bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dean A
Heidi S, General Manager at Mountain Lake Lodge, responded to this review

Dean A, We appreciate your feedback. We strive to provide every guest with a memorable stay, comfortable accommodations, fun activities for kids, farm to table - simple, fresh cuisine, and a "one of a kind" Dirty Dancing Film tour. The resort is most picturesque in the summer and fall seasons when the birds and flowers are the peaceful backdrop on...

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed 2 nights at Chestnut Lodge over the weekend to hike before touring Virginia Tech. The kids enjoyed exploring the property - playing chess, tether ball, pool, etc. The accommodations were outdated but we are used to national park lodging so MLL was nice in comparison. Front desk staff were not as hospitable or accommodating as I would expect....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vbwriter1
Waynesboro
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a great, fun, relaxing weekend! So exciting to see and hear about "Dirty Dancing" facts. We had a blast! The entire staff was very helpful and willing to answer any questions we had. The cabin we stayed in was great - a fire place (we had it going all weekend), a fun, fun time! Oh, don't forget to talk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angie E
Newport News, Virginia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in the lodge section for one night. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. They go out of their way to make sure you are taken care of and having fun. The rooms were quaint and clean and the beds were very comfortable. The restaurant had excellent food. Tavern was very laid back and we felt very much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Espresso12
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a fun place to stay. Located at the top of a windy road, Mountain Lake Lodge has been a fixture here for a long time. Sadly, the lake has mysteriously drained, but the property retains most of its charm. We stayed in the main lodge- rooms are small and quaint. Unfortunately the bed was lumpy, but I can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mari D
Heidi S, General Manager at Mountain Lake Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you, Mari, for staying with us and for your feedback. Yes, you are correct the gazebo and boat dock need a refresh. Both will be restored this May - just in time for our summer weddings and our themed Dirty Dancing Weekends. Thank you again for feedback. We look forward to seeing you again! Warm regards, Heidi Stone General...

Pembroke, Virginia
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Went for Friday evening seafood buffet. The service was wonderful and the dining room is very warm and inviting.I gave it four stars only because the crab legs didn't have much of a taste. The rest of the food was wonderful. All the GF choices were clearly marked. Have eaten there before and the food is always good. Beautiful place...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sara C
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

The entire staff has to be the best and most helpful staff in any hotel or resort I've visited around the world from Germany to Guam. Mike the bartender is very entertaining and hospitable, makes great drinks too. The food is soooo good. The breakfast buffet was wonderful and the homemade grilled pimento cheese sandwich and tomato soup was so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TracyM4
Barlow, Ohio
Reviewed 20 February 2017

This was the resort where Dirty Dancing was filmed. This is a beautiful resort with some amazing views, but the highlight was a spontaneous viewing of the film in the bar (arranged by Mike the bartender) with a bunch of other fanatics followed by a midnight bonfire. Mike the bartender was amazing, with tons of trivia and inside info. He...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richard W
Idaho Springs, Colorado
Reviewed 16 February 2017

This is an older lodge with rustic cabins. Normally there is a lake, but the lake was very receded. A staff member told us that this happens periodically and then it fills back up. I don't really understand the science of it. We were very surprised to find out that this is where dirty dancing was filmed. One of my...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cheryl M

340 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (313)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (139)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (114)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pembroke
22.2 km away
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
#7 of 9 in Blacksburg
200 reviews
16.9 km away
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
29.2 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Christiansburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 km away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#5 of 9 in Blacksburg
210 reviews
23.6 km away
Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg
16.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Harvest Restaurant
Harvest Restaurant
Cuisines: American
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The newly renovated historic Mountain Lake Lodge features 43 Rooms in Main Stone Lodge, 16 in Chestnut Lodge, 9 Mountain Homes in Blueberry Ridge, 8 historic rustic cabins and 9 Front Lawn Cottages on 2,600 acres of preserved mountaintop property owned by the Mary Moody Northen Endowment. Mountain Lake Conservancy, a non-profit organization founded in 1989, serves to protect the land and wildlife resources on the property for future generations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mountain Lake Lodge

Address: 115 Hotel Cir, Pembroke, VA 24136-3055 (Formerly Mountain Lake Hotel)
Region: United States > Virginia > Pembroke
Price Range: ₹ 5,316 - ₹ 14,780 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mountain Lake Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Mountain Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Lake Pembroke
Hotel Mountain Lake
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mountain Lake Lodge staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question
Charlestown, Indiana, United States
2 months ago

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Mountain Lake Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't travel here with children who need a crib.”
GigglesandGaggles, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We loved the main Inn, but they have cabins as well.”
Bethro23, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stay Away!”
howelldw, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The rooms in the main house are more like hotel rooms. Definitely choose a cabin or lodge.”
mbarbiaux22, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Even # rooms int the main lodge have great views of the property.”
I4610PTjohnb, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5