We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

948 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
See the most recent reviews
Showing 919: English reviews
Warkworth, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 June 2015

Stayed at the Copthorne again. It is looking a little tired in the rooms, but we go there for the scenery. Every time we get to the restaurant, we have a booking delay and although there are plenty of tables, the sheet is full. This last stay we waited 1 hour and 25 minutes to get our dinner. Granted they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KiwisNorthland
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Afternoon. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. Our spa pool is out of order for the foreseeable future. We are currently awaiting on the best course of action to permenently fix the current issue so to avoid any future down time. I am sorry that the experience that you had in our food and beverage...

Reviewed 28 June 2015

The Copthorne used to be our first choice for a place to stay in Paihia and so good we went for weekends away, even though we are local so it's sad to see it being run down like this. I booked in to take my daughter on a relaxing escape specifically for the rock pool spa and the buffet breakfast....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travelock
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Afternoon. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. The hotel spa is unfortunately still out of service due to an issue which is not a quick and easy fix. We as a hotel are wanting to correct this issue once and for all due to the previous down times we have experienced with this popular amenity....

New Zealand
Reviewed 24 June 2015

Took the opportunity to stay for a couple of nights using the Grabone deal which included the buffet breakfast. We upgraded to the seaside room which overlooked the bay and the pool- nice view despite the winter weather. The room was warm (once heater was on) and inviting which was appreciated when wet weather meant that we needed to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Todd_and_Car
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Afternoon. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager.

Perth West Australia
Reviewed 21 June 2015

Short stroll to small settlement of Paihia for local restaurants, shops and pier. We were on an APT tour of North and South islands and my pre tour research had me thinking not to expect too much from this hotel judging by the TA reviews. However I thought the hotel whilst not one of the best we stayed in on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tys0n
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Afternoon. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager.

Reviewed 19 June 2015 via mobile

We had a lovely room we got up graded we brought a grabone breaky and buffet and room bit disappointed they had no nite buffet meal deals were great thou had a awesomw steak umm melt in ur mouth it was yummy the only thing is the spa and pool were unavailable so disappointed but overall it was awesome Well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Morning. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. We are awaiting a plan on how we can resolve the issue with our spa but until then this facility unfortunately remains out of service. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly,...

Reviewed 7 June 2015 via mobile

The Bay of Islands is lovely. This resort is very spread out with a balcony on my room and patio on the grass it was lovely. But the heating didn't work and the service wasn't particularly noteworthy. Food was nice and it is a quiet laid back place

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ShelleyBlitz
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Afternoon. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. I am sorry for the issues you encountered regarding the heating in your room and that the service experience that you received was not up to our normal standards. I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in...

Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 June 2015

Although the staff were friendly, they were not speedy and appeared to be understaffed. Breakfast tables were not cleared quickly and with a full hotel, meant there were few options of places to eat. Absolutely stunning location, but rooms are desperately in need of a refurb.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lindynz
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Afternoon. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. We are currently undertaking a preventative maintenance program to help assist us in bringing our rooms up to standard. I am sorry that the experience that you had in our food and beverage outlets was not up to our normal standards. I hope that you enjoyed the rest...

Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 June 2015

We booked here for a family weekend away believing that because it was a Copthorne Hotel we would be treated to an above average room with high quality facilities that motels or other accommodation styles can’t offer. Unfortunately we were not given the room we had booked and instead got a family suite which was in a serious state of...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank DonellaTewhata
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Afternoon. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. We are currently undertaking a preventative maintenance program to help assist us in bringing our rooms up to standard. The original room that was booked and reconfirmed by myself was the standard garden view suite which you were allocated in. I am sorry that the experience that you...

Wollongong, Australia
Reviewed 28 May 2015

On arrival we were greeted straight away and really made feel welcome. Our room was nice and clean and comfortable. Enjoyed the meals served in the hotel restaurant. Great cocktail bar to relax in after a day of sight seeing.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 716jjf
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Afternoon. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager

Toronto
Reviewed 24 May 2015 via mobile

Very dated hotel in need of an upgrade. Most surprising for a resort/conference hotel they did not have any fitness facilities. We only ate breakfast at the hotel which was good. The location was a couple of kilometers to the main town which was a pleasant walk along the water front.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BLAB55
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Morning. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. We are currently undertaking a preventative maintenance program to help assist us in bringing our rooms up to standard. We are also looking into fitness facilities in our long term planing. I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us and hope to welcome you...

313 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (273)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (80)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (36)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (37)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitangi
1.1 km away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
1.5 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
2.4 km away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
2.3 km away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 44 in Paihia
420 reviews
1.4 km away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 44 in Paihia
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands

Address: Tau Henare Drive | PO Box 150 (Paihia), Waitangi 2150, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Waitangi
Price Range: ₹ 5,970 - ₹ 11,940 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Resort Bay Of Islands
Copthorne Hotel Paihia
Copthorne Hotel Bay Of Islands
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay Of Islands Waitangi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Javea, Spain
Javea, Spain
Auckland Region, New Zealand
5 months ago
Quincy, IL
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Has to be a water view”
 of 5 bubbles Trent53, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor room which opens into the lawn and the bay.”
 of 5 bubbles JDJarbadan, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Need a room with a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles JeffR605, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The site is top class”
 of 5 bubbles vgradowski, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Our room was on south side - was very lovely and sunny in the afternoon, evenings”
 of 5 bubbles LynetteD75, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5