We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

953 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
See the most recent reviews
Showing 924: English reviews
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 December 2015

This hotel is in a fantastic location and has real potential. However for a four star hotel it was no more than a two star service. staff lack training, for example despite booking the shuttle from the town centre they forgot to pick us up on two occasions. At the bar you have to wait as the bar is often...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank sheilaiwaskow
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Evening. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. We are currently undertaking a preventative maintenance program to help assist us in bringing our rooms up to standard. I am sorry that the experience that you had in our food and beverage outlets was not up to our normal standards. The hotel advises under its amenities and...

San Diego
Reviewed 15 December 2015

Located right at the Waitangi Treaty Grounds, a bit of a walk to town. The hotel was comfortable and the pools were beautiful but cold. The rooms were ok but lots of bugs, no screens on the windows (no screens anywhere in New Zealand) so you can't really open the windows and there is no A/C. Staff were friendly. Most...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CrazyCruzer
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Afternoon. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager.

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 December 2015

Great hotel and fantastic location. Sea views are great. But ask for one or you may end up without one. Staff all very friendly and helpful. We did not use hotel pool or restaurant, but both seemed very good. Would we go back, definitely. And we intend to do so.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bryan E
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Evening. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager.

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 14 December 2015 via mobile

Nice room, located right next to the Waitangi Treaty grounds which are well worth visiting - take in the tour and cultural visit. The hotel had poor wifi facilities for guests, only 30 mins free a day and with a few photo uploads to Facebook, that is gone in minutes, after that it's $50 for half an hour. I'm finding...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Scubajools
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Afternoon. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. We are reviewing our free wifi charges in the new year. The $50.00 charge entitles you to up to 5 days internet use with 1 hour being the minimum time period for $5.00. We regretfully have to restrict late check outs due to the tight turn around time...

Leicestershire
Reviewed 12 December 2015

We were expecting this hotel to be in Paihia, but it is actually in the grounds of the Waitingi Treaty grounds. The setting is beautiful and we had a room overlooking the bay with a balcony. Meals were on the expensive side, but there is no obligation to eat at the hotel. Although the hotel offers an hourly shuttle into...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fleckney
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Afternoon. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. The hotel is advertised as being on the Treaty Grounds and not in down town Paihia. The walk is also only around 20 - 30 minutes all on the flat. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the...

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 December 2015

Booked the Copthorne in late November 2015. We opted for a Superior Room with sea views. The lobby and welcome was very good. Our room was ground floor with a small deck accessed by a slider door. Then a short walk across grass to the sea. Our room décor was surprisingly 'average'. I think 'tired' would be the word to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keen72
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Afternoon. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. I am sorry that the room did not meet with your expectations. I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager.

Reviewed 1 December 2015

4 night business trip late November. Great stay made all the more pleasant by friendly,helpful staff. Room very clean and spacious with good facilities.Enjoyable stay and would happily be a location I would visit again in my own time and pay for myself...and that is not something I would say about some of the hotels I've had to stay in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graeme D
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Evening. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager.

Braunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 November 2015

We stayed here for two nights and it is a really magical place. It is situated outside the town near the Waitangi treaty area. We had a ground floor bedroom right on the law by the water. The bedrooms are spacious with good, modern facilities and a terrace. I think it had recently been refurbished. We ate in the restaurant,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn B
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Evening. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager.

Northcote Victoria
Reviewed 16 November 2015

The Bay of Islands is a beautiful area, and the promise of a 'resort' was enticing. Sadly, the Reception staff had cultivated an air of indifference which was initially disturbing. But the real revelation was the room. In a row of squat 'wings' reminiscent of a camp frequented by Girl Guides, and with an 'eau de cabbage' scent pervading the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank McAndrew_Clan
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Evening. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. I am sorry that the hotels look and feel did not meet with your expectations and that the interactions that you had with our staff was not up to our normal standards. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager.

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 November 2015

The Copthorne is quite accessible, 15-20 mins from the Bay of Islands airport in Kerikeri (but there aren't very many taxi's at the airport at all, may need to call one or prearrange). The hotel was light and airy upon arrival, and the check-in was quite quick and painless. I'd say the accommodation was clean and tidy, but is, if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darren N
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Afternoon. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager.

313 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (273)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (80)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (36)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (37)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitangi
1.5 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
1.1 km away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
2.4 km away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
2.3 km away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 44 in Paihia
421 reviews
1.4 km away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 44 in Paihia
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands

Address: Tau Henare Drive | PO Box 150 (Paihia), Waitangi 2150, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Waitangi
Price Range: ₹ 5,880 - ₹ 11,960 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Resort Bay Of Islands
Copthorne Hotel Paihia
Copthorne Hotel Bay Of Islands
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay Of Islands Waitangi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Javea, Spain
Javea, Spain
Auckland Region, New Zealand
5 months ago
Quincy, IL
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ocean view- if you want to have water views- totally worth it”
 of 5 bubbles jen101Auckland, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Has to be a water view”
 of 5 bubbles Trent53, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor room which opens into the lawn and the bay.”
 of 5 bubbles JDJarbadan, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Need a room with a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles JeffR605, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The site is top class”
 of 5 bubbles vgradowski, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5