We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Margrain Vineyard Villas

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Margrain Vineyard Villas
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

81 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Margrain Vineyard Villas
See the most recent reviews
Showing 80: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 10 February 2016 via mobile

This place is set over looking a meadow on one side and the vine yards on the other. all the cottages have different coloured roofs n a quirky high ceiling window which gives it a quirky appearance. Inside it's spacious including the bathroom. only down side with the bath room is since there is no partition for the shower the...

Thank Chathika R
MargrainVillas, Manager at Margrain Vineyard Villas, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for your review. It's great to hear that you appreciated the design and enjoyed the spaciousness of the Villas - the Villas were architecturally designed by Roger Walker, the quirky appearance is loved by many. Our complimentary in-room continental breakfast is very popular. I'm so glad you had great weather, and hopefully you were able to visit...

Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 February 2016

Stayed the long weekend in the Pinot Villa, which I think is the largest of the villas. Nicely furnished and comfortable with lots of space. Great balcony overlooking fields and orchard area (mandarin & grapefruit trees). Room has a breakfast area with microwave, fridge and toaster plus various supplied. Given the size of the place, it would really benefit from...

Thank Michael W
MargrainVillas, Manager at Margrain Vineyard Villas, responded to this review

Hi, and thank you for taking the time to post a review. I'm glad you had a comfortable stay, and enjoyed the spaciousness of the Pinot Suite, and views from the private balcony. We do have a room with a full kitchen, The Vineyard Suite, if you were wanting kitchen facilities. We have a regular rotating schedule for professionally cleaning...

Reviewed 26 January 2016 via mobile

I'm pleased I had read reviews from others, so was expecting what they are- or else we would have been disappointed. The Villas are very 'tired', and really need a tidy up. The windows were in poor repair and hard to manage. The continental breakfast on hand is a nice touch- There is only a fridge and a small dresser...

Thank NewZealandishome
MargrainVillas, Manager at Margrain Vineyard Villas, responded to this review

Hi, and thank you for your comments. It would be great if you could please contact us directly, to let us know which room you were staying in so we can look into any window maintenance required. We have checked all of the rooms but cannot find one that has an issue. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the complimentary...

Whanganui, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 January 2016

We were very disappointed in the upkeep and the cleanliness of this accommodation. Did not look like it had been vacuumed and the balcony was full of cobwebs. Parts of the bathroom needed some upkeep. This was not a cheap room so we expected a little more. Restaurant was amazing, only good thing going for it.

Thank jennyav2015
MargrainVillas, Manager at Margrain Vineyard Villas, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm sorry you were not satisfied with your room. It would be great if you could please contact us directly, to let us know which room you stayed in, so we can fully investigate. We have a continual ongoing maintenance schedule in place, and anything urgent that comes up requiring...

Reviewed 5 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights for a post Christmas break. The studios were spacious and clean with large bathroom (though no bath). There are no cooking facilities but fridge/kettle/plates etc supplied. Units are serviced but washing up liquid would have been useful. Rooms quite light as no blackout curtains and no curtains in skylight windows.

Thank Alison P
MargrainVillas, Manager at Margrain Vineyard Villas, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for your review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and the spaciousness of the Studio Villas. We hope to see you here again sometime in the future. Michelle

Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2016

Lovely, country style eaterie, with good indoor and spacious outdoor eating areas. Food was freshly made, interesting, homely with a twist, and very good value. We both had lamb burgers, which had a Moroccan flavour to them. The meat was very good quality, finely chopped meat (not ground mush), served in a large, fresh breadroll, with a generous salad. Good,...

Thank Sheila W
MargrainVillas, Manager at Margrain Vineyard Villas, responded to this review

Hi, and thank you for the lovely review of The Vineyard Cafe and Cellar Door at Margrain Vineyard, I have passed your kind comments onto the team. The burgers at the Cafe are very popular, as are the healthy options for children's meals. I'm glad you enjoyed the wine tasting, Margrain has a great selection. I hope you enjoyed the...

Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 January 2016

We stayed New Years Eve in a Gate house which was a good price for what we got - very cosy, lovely views and clean - the breakfast was generous. The next night we stayed in the Gatehouse suite - was great to have the extra space - was clean and comfy but overpriced. The reception seemed friendly enough. We...

Thank randl24
MargrainVillas, Manager at Margrain Vineyard Villas, responded to this review

Hello, and thank you for your review. The Gatehouse rooms are very popular with their great location on the vineyard, and next to the Cellar Door and Cafe. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay there, and the complimentary in-room continental breakfast. We look forward to seeing you here again soon. Michelle

Masterton, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 October 2015

Having read previous reviews after booking, I was very dubious to stay here, but had all fears put aside upon arrival. The villas are stepped back, so your verandah area is completely private - and the view is over lovely farmland. The villa was clean and tidy, and the bathroom has a huge open tiled shower (use the non-slip mat...

1Thank Ness21NZ
MargrainVillas, Manager at Margrain Vineyard Villas, responded to this review

Hi and thank you for your review. I'm so glad you had a great stay. It's great to hear you enjoyed the private balcony - they were designed to maximise privacy and the views over the Huangarua River Valley. The large wet-room style showers are very popular. We're excited that the wine tasting at Margrain's Cellar Door is now open...

Reviewed 5 October 2015 via mobile

Thanks Margrain Villas for a beautiful stay. The villa was very spacious and private and it was lovely to have percolated coffee with our continental brekkie out on our own private outdoor table. A serene setting in a great town for bike riding around wineries. Thanks and would highly recommend for anyone looking for good service and a relaxing weekend...

1Thank cuter15
MargrainVillas, Manager at Margrain Vineyard Villas, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for your lovely review. I'm glad you enjoyed the spaciousness and privacy of the Villas and balconies, and the complimentary continental breakfast. Martinborough is very unique in the way you can access so many wineries by bike (or foot) - it's great to hear you had such a relaxing weekend away. Thanks again. Michelle

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 August 2015

Definitely would not go back and do not recommend. Reminiscent of a backpackers. The negative: The room was very dated and needed a good clean. I would not walk barefoot on that carpet. The bed was terribly uncomfortable - two singles pushed together with soft, springy mattresses, which could do with replacing. Upon waking in the morning, in the light...

2Thank L33-bee

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (37)
Room/Suite (9)
View from Room (6)
Dining (1)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Bathroom (2)
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (4)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
View from Room (1)
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinborough
0.2 km away
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
#3 of 4 in Martinborough
124 reviews
1.0 km away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
178 reviews
14.3 km away
The White Swan
The White Swan
#1 of 3 in Greytown
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
The Claremont Motel & Apartments
0.8 km away
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
447 reviews
1.2 km away
Martinborough TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Margrain Vineyard Villas

Address: Cnr Ponatahi & Huangarua Rds | PO Box 97, Martinborough, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Martinborough
Price Range: ₹ 5,769 - ₹ 17,306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Margrain Vineyard Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Margrain Vineyard Villas staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Margrain Vineyard Villas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“light sleepers should ask for rooms away from the road”
 of 5 bubbles IndyG66, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Villas, but a free standing villa would be better”
 of 5 bubbles rebeccad989, 30 Mar 2016 | Read review
“The Gatehouses are a better room than the Villas but not as private”
 of 5 bubbles randl24, 3 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room at a different venue”
 of 5 bubbles L33-bee, 26 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Take ear plugs and eye masks! Villas with lower numbers are further away from the road, so it could be worth asking for Villa 1 or 2 when making your booking if road noise is something that keeps you awake.”
  • View of deck, featuring table and chairs
  • Sunset view from deck
  • View across bed, looking towards deck from front door
  • View over fields from deck
  • View from deck
  • Living area
  • Sunlight coming in curtainless windows at 6am
 of 5 bubbles SLKrivan, 21 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5