We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Margrain Vineyard Villas

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Margrain Vineyard Villas
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

80 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Margrain Vineyard Villas
See the most recent reviews
Showing 79: English reviews
Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 September 2016

We booked the Garden Room at the Gatehouse, near the cafe and the tasting room and we were not disappointed. We were greeted by a very friendly woman who gave us a map of the area and some information. The room was lovely and warm when we arrived and it had lovely view of the garden and a nice little...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise R
MargrainVillas, Manager at Margrain Vineyard Villas, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for your great review! It's wonderful to hear you had such a lovely relaxing stay in our Gatehouse Garden Room. They certainly are popular for their great value and great location right on the vineyard. I'm glad you had the chance to enjoy your complimentary wine tasting at our Cellar Door, and hopefully you'll be able to come...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Sadly we picked what turned out to be a miserably wet and cold weekend to visit Margrain. the manager was welcoming and helpful and the room toasty and warm. As it was one of the higher numbered chalets it was very close to the road and the road noise and lights where noticeable through the night. Light sleepers would be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IndyG66
MargrainVillas, Manager at Margrain Vineyard Villas, responded to this review

Hello, and thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm so glad you had a cosy and warm stay, despite a wet winter weekend! It's great that you were still able to walk into the Village Square, and that you enjoyed our complimentary in-room continental breakfast. We hope to see you here again soon, and we'll try...

Reviewed 25 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed in the townhouse right near the cellar door and cafe, it was modest but very comfortable and had a homestead feel. Had pay tv with a lot of channels. The cafe was beautiful with a great menu. Really convenient for travel to nearby wineries. Highly recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TristanP83
MargrainVillas, Manager at Margrain Vineyard Villas, responded to this review

Hello, thanks for your review of our Gatehouse accommodation. Our Gatehouse rooms are very popular and well-received for their great value and being right on the vineyard, next door to Margrain's Cellar Door and The Vineyard Cafe. Thanks for your lovely comments about the cafe, I will pass this on to the team there. I'm glad you also enjoyed the...

Reviewed 13 June 2016 via mobile

We used a grab one deal and were not disappointed. Our room was warm, lit and cosy on arrival. The staff were welcoming and lent us an umbrella to deal with the inclement weather this weekend. The complimentary breakfast was delicious and all you need before a day discovering this beautiful part of New Zealand. Some vineyards were within walking...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank catdaw
MargrainVillas, Manager at Margrain Vineyard Villas, responded to this review

Hello, and thank you for your lovely review. It's so nice to hear you enjoyed all Margrain and Martinborough has to offer. We look forward to seeing you here again soon. Thanks again, Michelle.

Wellignton
Reviewed 10 June 2016

It's more a 3.5 stars review: the setting is very nice, in the middle of the vineyard, with gorgeous views on the fields. The location also is perfect, walk or bike distance to the main wineries and the town center. The rooms are large, but a bit tired for the asked price (although it seems a common problem in Martinborough)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elipuccioni
MargrainVillas, Manager at Margrain Vineyard Villas, responded to this review

Hello, and thank you for taking the time to post your review. We appreciate your feedback and take your comments on board. I'm glad you had a warm cosy stay, and enjoyed our great location close to the world-famous Martinborough vineyards and Village Square. I do hope you were able to visit our Cellar Door for a complimentary wine-tasting, and...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 16 April 2016

We stayed in studio room which was disability friendly. I loved the balcony overlooking the dairy farm.Large comfortable room on a vineyard close to town.Interesting corrugated iron and lofted Windows gives a rustic country atmosphere. Simple cereal and toast adequate for breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2xofus
MargrainVillas, Manager at Margrain Vineyard Villas, responded to this review

Hi, and thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed the spaciousness of the Villas and the views from the private balconies, and the iconic corrugated iron and tower windows. The complimentary in-room continental breakfast is also very popular. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip. Thanks again, Michelle.

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 31 March 2016

We were after somewhere for the two of us to get away for Waitangi weekend and Margrain didn't disappoint. It was a quaint wee complex just far enough from the centre of Martinborough to feel as if we were alone for the weekend getaway that we were after. The villas gave a lovely feel as you still felt as if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca D
MargrainVillas, Manager at Margrain Vineyard Villas, responded to this review

Hello, and thank you so much for your review. It's great to hear you had such a relaxing weekend getaway, while enjoying all Martinborough has to offer. We think the location is perfect, far enough from town to be away from it all, but with many world-renowned wineries and restaurants within walking distance. I'm glad you were able to enjoy...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 March 2016 via mobile

Lovely place to stay very quiet and peaceful but if you have been drinking no where in walking distance to have dinner the cafe closes at 4 pm otherwise if you need a quiet peaceful stay it is the place to go

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gjwhitford
MargrainVillas, Manager at Margrain Vineyard Villas, responded to this review

Hello, and thank you for your lovely review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and had a relaxing time. The Village Square is 10-15 minutes walk away, and some restaurants are able to offer a pick-up/drop-off service or delivery. I hope you were able to enjoy a brunch or lunch at The Vineyard Cafe at Margrain, and have a...

Ilkley
Reviewed 28 February 2016 via mobile

We stayed two nights at Margrain, in the gatehouse. The room was comfortable and clean with good views. Having a winery tasting centre and cafe next door was a plus! The only disappointment was the absence of wifi in the room, although it is available at the cafe. This needs rectifying in the 21st century.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
MargrainVillas, Manager at Margrain Vineyard Villas, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for your review. The Gatehouse rooms are very popular for their great value and location on the vineyard. I'm glad you had a comfortable stay, and enjoyed the views and location next to Margrain's Tasting Room and The Vineyard Cafe. The wifi is free for use at the cafe area, or at Reception. We look forward to seeing...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 10 February 2016 via mobile

This place is set over looking a meadow on one side and the vine yards on the other. all the cottages have different coloured roofs n a quirky high ceiling window which gives it a quirky appearance. Inside it's spacious including the bathroom. only down side with the bath room is since there is no partition for the shower the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chathika R
MargrainVillas, Manager at Margrain Vineyard Villas, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for your review. It's great to hear that you appreciated the design and enjoyed the spaciousness of the Villas - the Villas were architecturally designed by Roger Walker, the quirky appearance is loved by many. Our complimentary in-room continental breakfast is very popular. I'm so glad you had great weather, and hopefully you were able to visit...

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinborough
0.2 km away
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
#3 of 4 in Martinborough
124 reviews
1.0 km away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
178 reviews
14.3 km away
The White Swan
The White Swan
#1 of 3 in Greytown
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
The Claremont Motel & Apartments
0.8 km away
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
444 reviews
1.2 km away
Martinborough TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Margrain Vineyard Villas

Address: Cnr Ponatahi & Huangarua Rds | PO Box 97, Martinborough, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Martinborough
Price Range: ₹ 5,780 - ₹ 17,407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Margrain Vineyard Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Margrain Vineyard Villas staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Margrain Vineyard Villas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“light sleepers should ask for rooms away from the road”
 of 5 bubbles IndyG66, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Villas, but a free standing villa would be better”
 of 5 bubbles rebeccad989, 30 Mar 2016 | Read review
“The Gatehouses are a better room than the Villas but not as private”
 of 5 bubbles randl24, 3 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room at a different venue”
 of 5 bubbles L33-bee, 26 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Take ear plugs and eye masks! Villas with lower numbers are further away from the road, so it could be worth asking for Villa 1 or 2 when making your booking if road noise is something that keeps you awake.”
  • View of deck, featuring table and chairs
  • Sunset view from deck
  • View across bed, looking towards deck from front door
  • View over fields from deck
  • View from deck
  • Living area
  • Sunlight coming in curtainless windows at 6am
 of 5 bubbles SLKrivan, 21 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5