We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Margrain Vineyard Villas

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Margrain Vineyard Villas
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 72: English reviews
Brisbane
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very pleasant visit. Vicky was very accommodating and helpful. Room was nice and cosy. Wholesome breakfast. Only downside was shower water wasn't hot enough. Free visit to Margrain vineyard was great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Worldtraveller146
MargrainVillas, Manager at Margrain Vineyard Villas, responded to this review

Hello, and thank you for your reveiw. It's great that you found our rooms nice and cosy, and were able to enjoy our complimentary wine tasting at our Cellar Door. We hope to see you here again. Thanks, Michelle

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great comforstable, spacious and well appointed rooms rooms have nice decks with a view over the farm next door very comfortable Very handy to Martinborough walking distance to vineyards we will be back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
MargrainVillas, Manager at Margrain Vineyard Villas, responded to this review

Hi, thanks so much for your great review. I'm glad you enjoyed our accommodation, and Martinborough. We look forward to seeing you here again soon. Thanks, Michelle

Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed in the Verandah Room, not what we expected as viewed pictures of the villas. Disappointing when you drive into the accommodation to find an envelope with your key in it and then have to drive to another place with a printed out map. The fact no one was there on arrival really set the standards as we didn't know...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MissJones26
MargrainVillas, Manager at Margrain Vineyard Villas, responded to this review

Hello, and thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm sorry that you were under the impression that the Gatehouse Verandah Room that you booked was one of our Studio Villas. We have a range of room-types, to suit varied budgets and requirements. I do believe our own website, and other third party booking sites, clearly state...

Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 September 2016

We booked the Garden Room at the Gatehouse, near the cafe and the tasting room and we were not disappointed. We were greeted by a very friendly woman who gave us a map of the area and some information. The room was lovely and warm when we arrived and it had lovely view of the garden and a nice little...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise R
MargrainVillas, Manager at Margrain Vineyard Villas, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for your great review! It's wonderful to hear you had such a lovely relaxing stay in our Gatehouse Garden Room. They certainly are popular for their great value and great location right on the vineyard. I'm glad you had the chance to enjoy your complimentary wine tasting at our Cellar Door, and hopefully you'll be able to come...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Sadly we picked what turned out to be a miserably wet and cold weekend to visit Margrain. the manager was welcoming and helpful and the room toasty and warm. As it was one of the higher numbered chalets it was very close to the road and the road noise and lights where noticeable through the night. Light sleepers would be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IndyG66
MargrainVillas, Manager at Margrain Vineyard Villas, responded to this review

Hello, and thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm so glad you had a cosy and warm stay, despite a wet winter weekend! It's great that you were still able to walk into the Village Square, and that you enjoyed our complimentary in-room continental breakfast. We hope to see you here again soon, and we'll try...

Reviewed 25 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed in the townhouse right near the cellar door and cafe, it was modest but very comfortable and had a homestead feel. Had pay tv with a lot of channels. The cafe was beautiful with a great menu. Really convenient for travel to nearby wineries. Highly recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TristanP83
MargrainVillas, Manager at Margrain Vineyard Villas, responded to this review

Hello, thanks for your review of our Gatehouse accommodation. Our Gatehouse rooms are very popular and well-received for their great value and being right on the vineyard, next door to Margrain's Cellar Door and The Vineyard Cafe. Thanks for your lovely comments about the cafe, I will pass this on to the team there. I'm glad you also enjoyed the...

Reviewed 13 June 2016 via mobile

We used a grab one deal and were not disappointed. Our room was warm, lit and cosy on arrival. The staff were welcoming and lent us an umbrella to deal with the inclement weather this weekend. The complimentary breakfast was delicious and all you need before a day discovering this beautiful part of New Zealand. Some vineyards were within walking...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank catdaw
MargrainVillas, Manager at Margrain Vineyard Villas, responded to this review

Hello, and thank you for your lovely review. It's so nice to hear you enjoyed all Margrain and Martinborough has to offer. We look forward to seeing you here again soon. Thanks again, Michelle.

Wellignton
Reviewed 10 June 2016

It's more a 3.5 stars review: the setting is very nice, in the middle of the vineyard, with gorgeous views on the fields. The location also is perfect, walk or bike distance to the main wineries and the town center. The rooms are large, but a bit tired for the asked price (although it seems a common problem in Martinborough)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elipuccioni
MargrainVillas, Manager at Margrain Vineyard Villas, responded to this review

Hello, and thank you for taking the time to post your review. We appreciate your feedback and take your comments on board. I'm glad you had a warm cosy stay, and enjoyed our great location close to the world-famous Martinborough vineyards and Village Square. I do hope you were able to visit our Cellar Door for a complimentary wine-tasting, and...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 16 April 2016

We stayed in studio room which was disability friendly. I loved the balcony overlooking the dairy farm.Large comfortable room on a vineyard close to town.Interesting corrugated iron and lofted Windows gives a rustic country atmosphere. Simple cereal and toast adequate for breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2xofus
MargrainVillas, Manager at Margrain Vineyard Villas, responded to this review

Hi, and thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed the spaciousness of the Villas and the views from the private balconies, and the iconic corrugated iron and tower windows. The complimentary in-room continental breakfast is also very popular. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip. Thanks again, Michelle.

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 31 March 2016

We were after somewhere for the two of us to get away for Waitangi weekend and Margrain didn't disappoint. It was a quaint wee complex just far enough from the centre of Martinborough to feel as if we were alone for the weekend getaway that we were after. The villas gave a lovely feel as you still felt as if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca D
MargrainVillas, Manager at Margrain Vineyard Villas, responded to this review

Hello, and thank you so much for your review. It's great to hear you had such a relaxing weekend getaway, while enjoying all Martinborough has to offer. We think the location is perfect, far enough from town to be away from it all, but with many world-renowned wineries and restaurants within walking distance. I'm glad you were able to enjoy...

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Martinborough hotels
0.4 km away
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
#3 of 4 in Martinborough
121 reviews
1.3 km away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
160 reviews
2.3 km away
The Claremont Martinborough
The Claremont Martinborough
#1 of 4 in Martinborough
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Pinot Villas
Pinot Villas
#3 of 8 in Martinborough
150 reviews
1.5 km away
Martinborough TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.7 km away
The Old Manse
The Old Manse
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Margrain Vineyard Villas

Address: Cnr Ponatahi & Huangarua Rds | PO Box 97, Martinborough, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Martinborough
Price Range: ₹ 5,717 - ₹ 15,383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Margrain Vineyard Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Margrain Vineyard Villas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“light sleepers should ask for rooms away from the road”
 of 5 bubbles IndyG66, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Villas, but a free standing villa would be better”
 of 5 bubbles rebeccad989, 30 Mar 2016 | Read review
“The Gatehouses are a better room than the Villas but not as private”
 of 5 bubbles randl24, 3 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room at a different venue”
 of 5 bubbles L33-bee, 26 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Take ear plugs and eye masks! Villas with lower numbers are further away from the road, so it could be worth asking for Villa 1 or 2 when making your booking if road noise is something that keeps you awake.”
  • View of deck, featuring table and chairs
  • Sunset view from deck
  • View across bed, looking towards deck from front door
  • View over fields from deck
  • View from deck
  • Living area
  • Sunlight coming in curtainless windows at 6am
 of 5 bubbles SLKrivan, 21 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay