We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Japanese Mountain Retreat Mineral Springs & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montrose
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Japanese Mountain Retreat Mineral Springs & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

125 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 123: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Customer Service was poor. Did not feel welcome as soon as I arrived at the spa. They lacked organisation, i.e had to carry clothes and belonging from one room to another. I felt rushed even though it was meant to be a relaxing experience. They didn't tell us what to do and was often left wondering where to go or...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrellegue
Deborah Q, Manager at Japanese Mountain Retreat Mineral Springs & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, I am sorry you feel that you were not welcomed when you arrived. All of our guests are informed of the process of where they will be having treatments and all are provided with spa bags with robes and slippers, so yes you would need to carry your own spa bag with you. Your treatment consisted of a...

Melbourne
Reviewed 1 week ago

We laughed about it afterwards as we were told off like schoolgirls to get changed but nowhere to get changed. Our friend couldnt get dressed cause her stuff was in the other massage room. We were made to feel like we were a nuisance. Yum cha was great though plenty of food and great view. Think its more of a...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nurserachie
Deborah Q, Manager at Japanese Mountain Retreat Mineral Springs & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Nurse Rachie, At the end of a bathing time all of our guests are requested to change into their robes so that they can be taken to their next experience which in your case was a massage. I am not sure why your friends clothes ended up in the other massage room.. perhaps one of your group picked it...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went to the Japanese retreat with five friends and was really surprised by the lack of change rooms, toilets and locker facilities at the spa. The staff were not overly friendly or welcoming and did not seem to know what they were doing - they even lost my clothes at one point(we had to carry or belongings with us from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ttmelbourne2016
Deborah Q, Manager at Japanese Mountain Retreat Mineral Springs & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Your experience included outdoor bathing, massage and lunch. The outdoor bathing area which was used by your group only contains one changing area and one toilet. You then moved to the spa which contains three lockers and a toilet/changing room. You were provided with a spa bag for your clothes which you took with you to the spa....

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Magical place to escape & relax. Highly recommend for time out with your partner or bestie. Great service and attention to detail. Facilities, buildings and outdoors are of a very high standard. Would return in the future!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicole S
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Today we did a half-day spa package at the Japanese Mountain Retreat in Montrose, Vic, Aus. Overall it was a really good experience, although there was a little room for improvement as you'll read ahead. We arrived at 10 and were greeted warmly at reception. The establishment has lovely gardens and some nice buildings but the decor could be a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James L
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Thanks Deb for our wonderful and relaxing anniversary stay. We enjoyed a totally indulgent massage in the stunning day spa, an extraordinary 5 course dinner and a great sleep in the gorgeous Bali suite. All delivered with awesome service. Totally recommend!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natcatnap
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spend a day at the day spa, which was heavenly so relaxing and a night in a beautiful Japanese room, dinner was such a high standard it was mouth watering, a delight for the eye, the service was outstanding I can only rate 10++ Beautiful gardens, it felt like we were in Japan only the wildlife made it like...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank allenmichelle45
Reviewed 18 December 2016

We were looking for a relaxing retreat, to get a massage, dinner, couple of drinks and accomodation. What we found at the japaneses mountain retreat had super seeded our expectation. From our first contact with the manger (Deborah) who welcomed us so warmly and so helpful, great personal service we received. My partner and I had amazing experiences, beautiful location,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Michelle G
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 27 November 2016

We went for the 3 hours yum cha lunch, private hot springs and massage for 2 people. The whole experience was luxurious, relaxing and rejuvenating! The buildings and experience is a real holiday and so close to home! We recommend this anyone who needs a break together, from the hustle and bustle of life and want to reconnect in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monica B
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 26 November 2016

You must, must, must visit. From the moment we stepped out of car someone was looking after us and moving us to our amazing yum cha into the pool and then to top it all off the magical massage in the most opulent of settings. This is definitely a hidden Melbourne Gem. Do it!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tjb655

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montrose
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
310 reviews
Linley Estate
#1 of 1 in Kilsyth
37 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#21 of 157 in Melbourne
3,507 reviews
Merrow Cottages
#2 of 5 in Mount Dandenong
49 reviews
Linden Gardens Rainforest Retrea...
#1 of 5 in Mount Dandenong
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Step back in time to the world of ancient Japan 45 minutes from Melbourne. Secluded and indulgent. Five course Chef's tasting menu served in the Oriental lounge. New luxury Moroccan Spa and Roman Bathhouse with mineral pool bathing. Sink into your private Japanese style spa overlooking your own private Japanese garden. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Japanese Mountain Retreat Mineral Springs & Spa

Address: 14 Mountain Crescent, Montrose, Victoria 3765, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Montrose
Price Range: ₹ 22,923 - ₹ 35,801 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Japanese Mountain Retreat Hotel Montrose
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Japanese Mountain Retreat Mineral Springs & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We didnt stay overnight but would love to!”
 of 5 bubbles 779monicab, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Check the website”
 of 5 bubbles 409philipn, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All accommodation is excellent and each room is unique”
 of 5 bubbles MichaelD508, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you book in advance its busy but stunning”
 of 5 bubbles Awesomeness888, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
“All the Rooms are amazing”
 of 5 bubbles holliejade2015, 15 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5