We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Casuarina Coastal Units

11/07/2017 12/07/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Casuarina Coastal Units
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

36 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 30: English reviews
Start your review of Casuarina Coastal Units
 Click to rate
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

Kim and Ken are the best hosts! Kim welcomed us to the units and gave us all the tips on where to go, what not to miss and what's the best time of the day. When we had no idea how to organise our day they were there to help us with the route planning. The units are clean and...

1Thank Ritsab
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Warm welcome from the owner on arrival, giving you a run down of the island, attractions and getting around the island etc. big thumbs up for this. The units themselves are old and dated and probs my need a bit of money spent on them to bring them up to what most people expect nowerdays. The standard however is reflected...

Thank jet9985
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 3 April 2016

The owner is extremely nice and friendly. She explained the rules(which is mostly common sense like wash the dishes after you use it,etc) and suggested the must visit place around the island and the easiest route to get there. The place has everything you need (plates, cups, toaster, kettle, fridge) and you can cook the bbq outside. There was no...

Thank Nok_SD
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 27 January 2016

We really enjoyed the location, no traffic, plenty of birds, freedom to bring only our food, kitchen well-equipped. Warmly welcomed and a feeling of security while we went touring. Will stay again, thanks Kim & Ken.

Thank SuzTripReviews
Ulverstone tasmania
Reviewed 13 November 2015

We had seen the west and was looking for some at this end central, & reasonable. We are here just to sleep ,relax in between our day trips. It's very clean ,cozy & central. Will ,would definitely recommend, & if you return , it will be here we stay again. Where still ,here, great to have local knowledge, Kim filled...

Thank Julie H
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 3 May 2015

I chose American River for it's location. It's central yet close enough to every part of the Island. The accommodation here was perfect for me! Kim was most welcoming and helpful. The cabin had evertyhing needed. I rose with the sun and slept so well with only wild birdlife sounds to hear. The walks around the area are amazing. The...

1Thank Kathy J
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 December 2014

Kim the owner was very welcoming and basically gave us a complete run down of the island when we got there which was super helpful. The rooms are basic but have every thing you need. overall a reaaly great experience. Very recommended

Thank borgeman
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 23 November 2014

Great spot, not fancy, but very relaxing and informal. The authentic American River experience. Kim was very helpful and friendly, and pointed us to some wonderful places accessible by bike, our only means of transport! We had a very enjoyable few days. Thanks Kim.

2Thank Jenni B
Broken Hill, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 16 November 2014

Not friendly, Different from the picture, not clean, I dont like suggest this for my friends, The bed is not good. Lights are not good. There is no heating and air cooler facility. Less water. BBQ area is not clean to make BBQ. We went out side public park to make BBQ, Its terrible

3Thank Joemon M
Kim106, Owner at Casuarina Coastal Units, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to post feedback. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay; however my cleaner of several years would be appalled that your suggestion that the units and BBQ were not clean and I do not agree with your remarks. Your unit had an oil heater and lots of blankets provided in...

Sydney Olympic Park, Australia
Reviewed 27 June 2014

It's a fantastic deal in KI. We stayed here for 5 nights in June(winter), Ken is very friendly, kind and helpful! They would do their best to assist you. Give us tips and advices to exploring Kangaroo Island everyday. The room got Wildlife around,very comfortable mattress, quiet location.

1Thank Karen L

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (33)
View from Room (2)
Room/Suite (4)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Bathroom (5)
Dining (1)
Other (18)
11/07/2017 12/07/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near American River
18.1 km away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
807 reviews
0.3 km away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
408 reviews
91.7 km away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 km away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
377 reviews
18.1 km away
Kangaroo Island Seaview Motel
18.4 km away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Casuarina Coastal Units

Address: 9 Ryberg Rd, American River, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5221, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > American River
Price Range: ₹ 4,277 - ₹ 5,703 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casuarina Coastal Units 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Casuarina Coastal Units reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Casuarina Coastal Units staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Kim will take care of you”
JulieH944, 13 Nov 2015 | Read review
“It's a small personally run facility”
288kathyj, 3 May 2015 | Read review
“Make arrangements for enough water. Clean BBQ areas, Garden. Clear the tree branches in front of the rooms.”
joemonm, 15 Nov 2014 | Read review
“Bring food supplies with you. Kingscote is the cheapest place to shop on the island.”
tubbystours, 17 Oct 2012 | Read review
“There are only a handfull of units, so it doesn't really matter which one you get.”
  • Bathroom
  • Bedroom
  • Kitchen
hellofish, 7 Dec 2011 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
* /night
View Deal
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates