We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Casuarina Coastal Units

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Casuarina Coastal Units
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

34 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 28: English reviews
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2016

The owner is extremely nice and friendly. She explained the rules(which is mostly common sense like wash the dishes after you use it,etc) and suggested the must visit place around the island and the easiest route to get there. The place has everything you need (plates, cups, toaster, kettle, fridge) and you can cook the bbq outside. There was no... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nok_SD
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2016

We really enjoyed the location, no traffic, plenty of birds, freedom to bring only our food, kitchen well-equipped. Warmly welcomed and a feeling of security while we went touring. Will stay again, thanks Kim & Ken.

Helpful?
Thank SuzTripReviews
Ulverstone tasmania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2015

We had seen the west and was looking for some at this end central, & reasonable. We are here just to sleep ,relax in between our day trips. It's very clean ,cozy & central. Will ,would definitely recommend, & if you return , it will be here we stay again. Where still ,here, great to have local knowledge, Kim filled... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julie H
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2015

I chose American River for it's location. It's central yet close enough to every part of the Island. The accommodation here was perfect for me! Kim was most welcoming and helpful. The cabin had evertyhing needed. I rose with the sun and slept so well with only wild birdlife sounds to hear. The walks around the area are amazing. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy J
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2014

Kim the owner was very welcoming and basically gave us a complete run down of the island when we got there which was super helpful. The rooms are basic but have every thing you need. overall a reaaly great experience. Very recommended

Helpful?
Thank borgeman
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2014 via mobile

Great spot, not fancy, but very relaxing and informal. The authentic American River experience. Kim was very helpful and friendly, and pointed us to some wonderful places accessible by bike, our only means of transport! We had a very enjoyable few days. Thanks Kim.

Helpful?
2 Thank Jenni B
Broken Hill, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2014

Not friendly, Different from the picture, not clean, I dont like suggest this for my friends, The bed is not good. Lights are not good. There is no heating and air cooler facility. Less water. BBQ area is not clean to make BBQ. We went out side public park to make BBQ, Its terrible

Helpful?
2 Thank Joemon M
Kim106, Owner at Casuarina Coastal Units, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to post feedback. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay; however my cleaner of several years would be appalled that your suggestion that the units and BBQ were not clean and I do not agree with your remarks. Your unit had an oil heater and lots of blankets provided in... More 

Sydney Olympic Park, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2014

It's a fantastic deal in KI. We stayed here for 5 nights in June(winter), Ken is very friendly, kind and helpful! They would do their best to assist you. Give us tips and advices to exploring Kangaroo Island everyday. The room got Wildlife around,very comfortable mattress, quiet location.

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen L
Armidale, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed at Casuarina Coastal Units for 3 nights and enjoyed every minute. Before arriving the owners contacted us to check if we needed any extra's for our 2 year old boy. The units were very clean, comfortable and have full kitchen facilities. The area is tranquil, a walk from the water and there is a small play area for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank aussiesteve83
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Had a great one night stay, very reasonably priced for Kangaroo Island, ken & Kim were SO helpful, particularly with the bicycle, all the facilities you require, large refrigerator, two burner stove and microwave

Helpful?
1 Thank tmcian

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near American River
91.7 km away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
0.3 km away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 3 in American River
370 reviews
18.1 km away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 km away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
349 reviews
18.4 km away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
18.1 km away
Kangaroo Island Seaview Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Casuarina Coastal Units

Address: 9 Ryberg Rd, American River, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > American River
Price Range: ₹ 4,798 - ₹ 5,415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casuarina Coastal Units 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Casuarina Coastal Units reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Casuarina Coastal Units staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Kim will take care of you”
 of 5 bubbles JulieH944, 13 Nov 2015 | Read review
“It's a small personally run facility”
 of 5 bubbles 288kathyj, 3 May 2015 | Read review
“Make arrangements for enough water. Clean BBQ areas, Garden. Clear the tree branches in front of the rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles joemonm, 15 Nov 2014 | Read review
“Bring food supplies with you. Kingscote is the cheapest place to shop on the island.”
 of 5 bubbles tubbystours, 17 Oct 2012 | Read review
“There are only a handfull of units, so it doesn't really matter which one you get.”
  • Bathroom
  • Bedroom
  • Kitchen
 of 5 bubbles hellofish, 7 Dec 2011 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay