We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Gwesty\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

532 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 530: English reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2015

I would like to thank all the staff at the Gwestyr Emlyn Hotel for a wonderful two night stay. We are recovering from a lot of walking on the magnificent Pembrokeshire Coastal Path and the driving in this most beautiful area of Wales. The weather was fine warm and sunny and the beaches and towns looked spectacular in the Autumn...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Billy B
Romeo R, General Manager at Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and your great comments in relation to the service you receive from all the staff at the Hotel. It is always wonderful to be able to share such positive feedback with them. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Best Wishes, Romeo

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 October 2015

This hotel was an absolutely great choice with easy parking, pleasant and scrupulously clean accommodation and friendly efficient welcoming staff. Breakfast was fabulous (don't think you are getting this at home Dearie !) We made one mistake when booking -- We failed to ask if they had a lift. No lift and our room was 2nd floor ! (our fault...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Minttilly
Romeo R, General Manager at Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent review . I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future occasion. Best Wishes, Romeo

Reviewed 7 October 2015

Very good room at hotel serving very good food by an attentive pleasant staff in an area of outstanding beauty with a wonderful coastline, including Aberporth LLangrannog and New Quay, within easy reach

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank roger f
Romeo R, General Manager at Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind comments and for taking the time to review Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to see us again soon. Kind regards, Romeo Radu

United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2015

In contrast to the last review we had a very pleasant couple of days here , and whilst you can pick holes in anything if you want to , a simple request usually solves the issue . I would say there is considerable effort going into getting the offering right , the staff were all very approachable and helpful and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank p b
Romeo R, General Manager at Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind, supportive comments and for taking the time to review Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards, Romeo Radu

West Wales
Reviewed 3 October 2015

We were given a Travelzoo voucher for vintage afternoon tea at the hotel as a birthday gift. Having made a reservation as requested on the voucher we arrived and were shown to our table which was in the bar!!! Not a good start! The afternoon tea arrived complete with a pot of tea (no choice of tea offered, we normally...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Welsh-Baritone
Romeo R, General Manager at Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your constructive comments and for taking the time to review Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel. I am disappointed that we did not deliver on our usual high standards of our Vintage Afternoon Tea and in order for me to carry out further investigations to discover the underlying issues, I wonder if you would be kind enough to contact the...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2015 via mobile

I really enjoyed this small hotel. The building has been tastefully modernised and the bedrooms are very well done. The food that we had, although only bar food in the evening and breakfast was excellent and home made. As a Welsh speaker, I loved the sign behind reception saying "decreuwch pop sgwrs yn gymraeg" - start every conversation in Welsh.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pawl
Romeo R, General Manager at Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and for taking the time to review Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel. 'Roeddwn y falch iawn o glywed eich bod wedi mwynhau gyda ni yma yng Nghastell Newydd Emlyn ac edrychwn ymlaen i'ch gwelch chi eto yn fuan, lle gallwn ymestun croeso Cymraeg i chi unwaith yn rhagor. Cofion cynnes, Romeo Radu a phawb yng Ngwesty'r...

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2015

From booking in to booking out the staff were exceptional. The room and bathroom were above average size also faced the road but there was no road noise. The evening meal was delicious we had the steak which was cooked to our specification., breakfast was also well cooked, The staff were very knowledgable abot the area giving us good information...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank glenmor68
Romeo R, General Manager at Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind comments and taking the time to review Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to see us soon. Kind regards, Romeo Radu

Ripon
Reviewed 27 September 2015

Lovely place in a fairly small place. We had a lovely suite, great evening meal and fantastic service. The breakfast was pretty good, only disappointment was my poached eggs on the eggs royale were hard poached! To be honest it was the only let down. Would definitely visit again. The staff were really friendly and couldn't do enough.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HeathBen
Romeo R, General Manager at Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning and thank you very much for your kind comments and taking the time to review Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel. I'm pleased to hear the you enjoyed your stay but I'm disappointed that we let ourselves down with the breakfast. I hope it won't deter you from staying with us again soon. We look forward to welcoming you back to...

Neath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2015

We had visited the town and now needed a cup of tea We called in and sat in the lounge to enjoy a lovely pot of tea and a dessert very pleasant service and a lovely cosy place to sit.we saw a waitress taking the vintage afternoon tea through to some people in another room and it looked magnificent. Maybe...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dianne B
Romeo R, General Manager at Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind comments and for taking the time to review Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel. I'm delighted that you had an enjoyable tea break with us and look forward to welcoming you back to visit us soon for a full Vintage afternoon tea. Kind regards, Romeo Radu

west midlands
Reviewed 14 September 2015

A really excellent hotel, staff, rooms, food, all excellent , everyone so friendly and helpful. Located in a lovely small town. Nothin was too much trouble for the staff, but a word of warning, the portions in the restaurant are huge !!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sherpashep
Romeo R, General Manager at Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind comments and for taking the time to review Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel. I'm delighted that you had an enjoyable time with us and look forward to welcoming you back to visit us soon. Kind regards, Romeo Radu

139 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (82)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle Emlyn
17.5 km away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
676 reviews
25.4 km away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
17.2 km away
The Gwbert Hotel
The Gwbert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cardigan
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.9 km away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
401 reviews
23.2 km away
Spilman Hotel
Spilman Hotel
#1 of 7 in Carmarthen
430 reviews
26.9 km away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the heart of Wales' enchanting and traditional market town of Newcastle Emlyn and with stunning countryside, picturesque beaches and historic sites just a short distance away, Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel is the perfect place to visit.A complete refurbishment has transformed this 300 year old coaching Inn to give you the best of both worlds with contemporary chic and traditional accents sitting side by side. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel

Address: Bridge Street, Newcastle Emlyn SA38 9DU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Newcastle Emlyn
Price Range: ₹ 6,244 - ₹ 8,658 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Sheffield, United Kingdom
over a year ago
andover
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The outside rooms are very very hot!”
 of 5 bubbles jess59Wales, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Quieter rooms are in the coach house”
 of 5 bubbles GlynT913, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Hotel has a small gym, sauna and jacuzzi.”
 of 5 bubbles Newportglobetrotters, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Number 1 is a disabled room”
 of 5 bubbles fussydolphin, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“you can't go wrong with any room you are given”
 of 5 bubbles RHILLSouthWalesUk, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5