We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Melin Pandy Station Road, Newcastle Emlyn SA38 9BX Wales
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
$99
View deal
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Priceline
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (7)
Room & Suite (6)
Dining (1)

About

#1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle Emlyn
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Melin Pandy is a former woollen mill that has been converted into 4 star Bed & Breakfast accommodation, popular with business travellers and visitors alike. There is ample parking for guests in front of the house. It is located on the edge of Newcastle Emlyn, which has a range of independent shops, paubs and amenities. The three guest rooms are all located on the ground floor. There are two double rooms and one twin room, which all have spacious en-suites and are decorated and furnished to a high standard. All the rooms have flatscreen TV, hospitality tray, hairdryer, clock radio, toiletries and free Wi-Fi. Guests can relax in the guest lounge or enjoy the garden which has a stream and views of the surrounding countryside. Breakfast is served in the breakfast room on the first floor.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Breakfast available
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
67Reviews2Q+A13Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 63
  • 3
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Nigel W wrote a review Oct 2022
Melin Pandy is a first class B & B set in beautifully kept grounds and, as you would expect for a former Mill, has a stream running through it. Karen and Mick are lovely hosts who made us feel very welcome. Our spacious bedroom and shower room were very tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. Lovely good quality bed linen and fluffy towels plus complimentary toiletries, bathrobes and hairdryer. A good array of teas, coffee and biscuits replenished daily. The breakfasts were amazing with a great choice to suit every taste. The full English {or should it be Welsh!) filled us up for the day. We could not fault this B & B, it is the best we have stayed in, and we will be back next year. Thank you for your hospitality. Nigel & Michele
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Newcastle Emlyn is a great base for things to see and do and the beautiful West Wales coast is...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melin Pandy, Owner at Melin Pandy
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thanks for your very detailed review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay here in October. We hope to see you again if you are visiting the area.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Peter J wrote a review Aug 2022
London, United Kingdom246 contributions113 helpful votes
We stayed two nights. Spotless, well maintained room, friendly hosts and an excellent freshly cooked breakfast. Besides the standards, tea, coffee etc their are lots of small touches that make you feel "at home". The property has beautiful grounds with easy parking - its about a 10 minute walk into the town centre. The price is very good value for money. Very minor quibble, we stayed when it was very hot and the quilts were very thick.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Mamgu wrote a review Jun 2022
15 contributions8 helpful votes
Overall quite pleased with most things, must point out couple of petty things that always spoil my experience. The weather was extremely hot but there was no air con or a fan for ventilation. Duvet was a winterweight and impossible to use during heatwave. Breakfast was very disappointing. No porridge was available so opted to a ham and cheese toastie. There was only a tiniest amount of cheese and no ham at all and the toastie was charred. I tasted a bite but impossible to eat. The small jars of jams on offer was the last straw. No labels on any jar, lids not sealed, lots of air pockets within the contents, they had decanted the jam from a big jar into little jars and there is no way to guarantee no bacteria would contaminate the contents. This I found an insult to all guests and I don’t know what the health and hygiene inspectors would say about this. I certainly would not eat these jams in case there was bacteria in them and I had no idea how long the contents have been sitting like this. To me this is a big worry.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melin Pandy, Owner at Melin Pandy
Responded 20 Jul 2022
Thank you for your review, I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay here. A fan or lighter duvet are available. I would have been happy to provide these if you had asked. There is a varied menu for breakfast. The jars of preserve are labelled and the lids are sealed.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John K wrote a review Nov 2021
Epsom, United Kingdom76 contributions17 helpful votes
Booking a good B&B can be risky. We've often been dissapointed that our expectations have not been fully met. Not the case here - Melin Pandy more than exceeded our expectations. Our bedroom was spacious, beautifully decorated and fully equipped. Door to the garden with red kites flying overhead to provide entertainment. There was also a guest lounge available even though the bedroom was more thn adequate. The breakfast choice was huge and very good too. Friendly service and excellent value for money. Couldn't be betteer.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melin Pandy, Owner at Melin Pandy
Responded 13 Dec 2021
Thank you for your excellent review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay here recently. We look forward to welcoming you if you visit the area again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maria wrote a review Nov 2021
Wellington, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed here for 2 nights and we would highly recommend this hidden gem. We would definitely stay again. Arrived late in the evening which was not a problem for them. Lovely hosts, the place was very clean with spacious bedrooms & bathrooms. Tea and coffee supplies and toiletries. Very homely with sitting areas if you didn’t want to stay in your room. Local information also supplied in the room. Breakfast was excellent! cooked or continental. Location just right with parking. Very close to Town and lovely countryside setting.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melin Pandy, Owner at Melin Pandy
Responded 19 Nov 2021
Thank you for your excellent review. I am glad you enjoyed your recent stay here. We will be pleased to welcome you again if you are visiting the area.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nathan M wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
Stayed one night whilst in the area. Very clean, well kept and furnished accomodation. The breakfast was excellent and I will definitely be booking again when I am next in the area. I would have no problem recommending the Melin Pandy
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melin Pandy, Owner at Melin Pandy
Responded 19 Nov 2021
Thanks for your excellent review. I am glad you enjoyed your recent stay here. We look forward to welcoming you again if you are in the area.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Claire C wrote a review Sep 2021
5 contributions
We stayed at Melin Pandy for 4 nights and really enjoyed the experience. The whole place is spotless and the hosts obviously have an eye for detail as the rooms and shared guest areas are tastefully decorated with a homely feel. The choice of breakfast menu covers all you could want, but the hosts are more than happy to be flexible should you want a variation on the standard options. Our room was serviced each day, which gave our visit a 'hotel' feel. We would highly recommend staying at the Melin Pandy - a great experience!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melin Pandy, Owner at Melin Pandy
Responded 19 Nov 2021
Thanks for your gleaming review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay here last month. It is a pleasure to serve such appreciative guests.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen D wrote a review Aug 2021
cardiff11 contributions3 helpful votes
We had a fabulous 2 night stay here and were so impressed with the room we had overlooking the beautiful gardens. Our room was spacious, clean and luxurious. Breakfast was scrumptious! We hope to return again in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Room 2 has patio door access onto the garden
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melin Pandy, Owner at Melin Pandy
Responded 12 Sep 2021
Thank you for your very positive review, I am pleased you enjoyed your recent stay here. We hope to see you again if you are visiting the area.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
scips wrote a review Sep 2020
Cardiff, South Wales58 contributions79 helpful votes
Melin Pandy was a great location to explore west Wales. The hostgreeted us with a warm welcom and the breakfast, decor and quality of room was as good as any boutique hotel. Newcastle Emlyn itself didn't really have a lot of food offerings, but maybe due to the Covid outbreak some were unable to open in a normal way.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melin Pandy, Owner at Melin Pandy
Responded 5 Sep 2020
Thanks for your positive review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay here. Yes, I agree that the town does not have may desirable places to eat out, but I hope this didn't spoil your stay with us too much. Best wishes.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sian H wrote a review Aug 2020
24 contributions9 helpful votes
We stayed in Melin Pandy for 3 nights but wished we could have stayed for longer! Karen was super helpful from the very beginning when we made our booking to when we left. The rooms were really comfortable with all mod cons and were cleaned to the highest standards every day. The bathrooms had invigorating showers with fluffy clean towels and good quality toiletries. We had booked two rooms as we were a family of four and as such Karen had made sure that both rooms were arranged as twin rooms. One of the rooms opened on to the stunning gardens which ran down to a stream which could be heard at night time when going to sleep - a very peaceful experience indeed! The breakfasts were delicious and there was plenty of choice. Karen was amazing with our boys, making them feel really special by accommodating their fussy food needs and remembering their names when asking what they wanted. If you gave us a chance to go back we would!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Phone up and ask
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melin Pandy, Owner at Melin Pandy
Responded 21 Aug 2020
Hi Sian and family I am so pleased you all enjoyed your stay here last weekend. and that you found your rooms comfortable. It was a delight to meet you all. If you are visiting the area again we would look forward to welcoming you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$84 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesCarmarthenshireNewcastle Emlyn
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MELIN PANDY (Newcastle Emlyn) - B&B Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Melin Pandy
Which popular attractions are close to Melin Pandy?
Nearby attractions include Newcastle Emlyn Castle (0.9 km), Helen Elliott Art (0.08 km), and Emlyn Antiques Centre (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Melin Pandy?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Melin Pandy?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Melin Pandy?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Melin Pandy?
Conveniently located restaurants include Nahar Indian Cuisine, Yasmins, and The Bunch of Grapes.
Is Melin Pandy located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Newcastle Emlyn.
Are there any historical sites close to Melin Pandy?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St. Dogmaels Abbey (15.8 km), Y Felin (15.8 km), and The Cilwendeg Shell House Hermitage (9.0 km).