We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Royal Toby Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Royal Toby Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

410 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Royal Toby Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 402: English reviews
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 May 2016

Hotel well located, easy to find with plenty of parking, main restaurant and bar in older part of building and has a good ambience and character. Had executive room in newer/extended part which was clean and comfortable, free use of a local gym is available, but wifi is patchy Food in the restaurant is very good quality and staff are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davedarkins
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this review

Dear davedarkins Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your 3 night stay at the Royal Toby Hotel. We are very pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed a very comfortable stay at the Royal Toby Hotel. It is pleasing to note you felt the Hotel was very well located and offered plenty of parking, the...

Halstead, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 May 2016

fabulous stay upgraded to a suite which was very nic.Vvery friendly and helpful staff superb food and very varied menu good prices ample parking only minor thing room abit dark would definatly recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 418wilson69
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 418wilson69, Thank you for posting such a positive review following your recent stay at the Royal Toby Hotel. We are delighted to hear you had a fabulous time and were particularly impressed with your upgrade! It is also pleasing to note you found our menus varied and you enjoyed some superb food which you felt was reasonably priced. We...

Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 May 2016

We were booked in for 2 nights B&B by a local business. The rooms are more than acceptable but the free WiFi is a bit iffy - the only way I could get a signal was in the corridor. The bar is extensive and well appointed with ales. Breakfast is not a buffet but one can order what one wants....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BP B
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BP B, Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent 2 night stay at the Royal Toby Hotel. We are so pleased to hear you were happy with your room, however, we are sorry to hear of your niggles in relation to the wifi, and we have passed your comments on to the Management....

Reviewed 3 May 2016 via mobile

We have just been here for a 2 night stay attending a wedding. After a friendly check in we arrived to our very dark room (114) even with all the lights on was still very dull. It was clean, very old fashioned. Had breakfast next morning which was disappointing, we arrived at 9.30 and hardly anything left, no bowls for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jojolivo
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jojolivo Thank you for posting a review following your recent 2 night stay at the Royal Toby Hotel whilst attending a wedding. We are pleased to hear you were provided with a friendly check in by the team and you enjoyed the majority of the meal during the wedding. We are however truly sorry to hear of your disappointment...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2016

We had a really good time.Sleep&Dine as a gift, we ate at Cenettas,wonderful service and excellent food. The hotel was impressively clean and comfortable. The breakfast choice,fresh fruit,cereals,tea,coffee and of course a full English,which my husband enjoyed. An excellent present from our son&daughter in law.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret W
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Margaret W, Wow ! Thank you for taking the time to post such a terrific review following your recent Sleep & Dine at the Royal Toby Hotel. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed some excellent food and service provided by the team in Cenetta and you were most impressed with the cleanliness and comfort the Hotel had...

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 April 2016 via mobile

Really friendly reception and quick check in. Rooms a bit basic but comfortable. I was in a room overlooking the rear of the hotel and was woken up by the staff emptying the bottles into a bin quite early. But overall quite a good hotel and I would use it again but ask for a different room.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michele B
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michele B, Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at the Royal Toby Hotel. We really appreciate guest feedback as this makes us good at what we do and assists us greatly when looking at areas which may need improving. We are sorry to hear you were disturbed by the team in...

Reviewed 18 April 2016 via mobile

We came for a family meal grandads 80th food was great staff were friendly they gave us Everything we asked for its a bit pricey but you get what you pay for I suppose deserts are lovely too.would definitely recommend to family and friends

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty H
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kirsty H, Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent visit to the Royal Toby while celebrating your grandad’s 80th birthday. We really appreciate guest feedback as this makes us good at what we do. We are so pleased to hear you all had a positive dining experience, and overall you would highly recommend...

Manchester
Reviewed 14 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for New Years Eve and we had such a fabulous time! We drink here regularly and eat in the amazing restaurants at least once a week, we love both the Italien and the English restaurant. The staff are all fab! They look after us so much, even to the extent they know what we are having to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jojojvs
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jojojvs, Wow! what a great review. We are so pleased to hear you had a fabulous time on New Year’s Eve and it is pleasing to note you dine on a regularly basis at the Royal Toby and our Italian restaurant, Cenetta! We really appreciate guest feedback as this makes us good at what we do. The team will...

Whitworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 April 2016

Exceptional staff who bent over backwards to make sure you had an enjoyable stay. Lovely, clean hotel and the beds are so comfortable. We had a lot of rooms booked as we were part of a wedding group and everyone was more than happy. Top marks!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bellaboot
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bellaboot, Wow! Thank you for posting such a wonderful review following your recent stay at the Royal Toby Hotel. We really appreciate guest feedback as this makes us good at what we do. We are so pleased to hear you and the rest of the wedding group had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us and everything was to your...

Reviewed 7 April 2016 via mobile

Dont know about prices when I didn't pay. It was nice and clean. It is a bit quiet for my taste. Want peace & quiet. Go here. Nice restaurant and pub. Only tried the Italian restaurant 20 meters away. It is in a very cosy basement and gets highest point. Had a duck that was superb. Was big rooms and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tomas W
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tomas W, Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at the Royal Toby Hotel. We really appreciate guest feedback as this makes us good at what we do. We are really pleased to hear you enjoyed your meals and felt your room was lovely, clean and cosy. We are sorry to hear...

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochdale
1.9 km away
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
5.1 km away
Premier Inn Rochdale Hotel
2.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Broadfield Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Birch Hotel
Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heywood
197 reviews
9.1 km away
Red Hall Hotel
Red Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walmersley
454 reviews
7.1 km away
Comfort Inn Manchester North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Success of the Royal Toby is in our commitment to consistency and high standards. Our spacious en-suite bedrooms are designed with flair, style and luxury. For that ultimate indulgence choose from a range of Superior rooms, some feature four poster beds and in others marble bathrooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal Toby Hotel

Address: Manchester Road | Castleton, Rochdale OL11 3HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Rochdale
Price Range: ₹ 5,155 - ₹ 8,591 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Toby Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your The Royal Toby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Toby Hotel
The Royal Toby Hotel Rochdale, Greater Manchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Royal Toby Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Macclesfield, England, United Kingdom

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Toby Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Executive rooms more spacious and bigger beds”
 of 5 bubbles NickV341, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 215 was at the end of the hall on the first floor, very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles SimonTHull, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Nothing that I can add it was a great stay .”
 of 5 bubbles suzanneg2014, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 105 a good family room. Looks over the garden not the car park.”
 of 5 bubbles janetjohn001, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Honeymoon suite good - good accommodation”
 of 5 bubbles dianeq123, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5