We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Inn on the Lake

Orbitz.comUS$ 56*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 56*
US$ 56*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
Panoramas (80)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

468 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 463: English reviews
Start your review of The Inn on the Lake
 Click to rate
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Bar closes at 10pm no food at 9.30pm room ok breakfast porridge just warm coffee not warm Classic example of what you pay is what you get Nothing horrible but not going back for sure. The lake is really a pond

 Report
Helpful?
Thank acetrainer2014
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The only one good thing about this hotel is the view to the lake ( if you have one of these rooms) this is in need of a face lift, the decor very dated , OK if you like the seventies scene. Bathroom very old , the bedroom itself a decent size but one side of the bed had no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim W
Lincoln
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Big car park, large spacious rooms with good reliable wifi. Lonely breakfast and easy to find off A2. Staff all very friendly nice little bar with sky TV. Rooms a bit dated but very clean would use again great value for money ..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy235
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Definitely a hidden gem. Lovely staff, great food and a convenient location. Decor is a bit out of fashion but that really shouldn't put anyone off. Rooms face onto the lakes and there are ducks and water fowl. Well behaved dogs are allowed and staff enabled us to have our meals in a separate area so we could have our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teresa G
jason d, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review, Our hotel is always dog friendly and the country park located directly behind us is great for your four legged friend.

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Started by being booked into the hotel by very helpful reception staff, the room was lovely, we had a lakeside view room, very comfortable Went to the restaurant and the meal we had was one of the best we'd had in ages, the waiting staff was very attentive and friendly Had a good nights sleep in a very comfortable bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank debbiegreen2017
jason d, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review, I am glad to here your overall stay was great and we look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again in the near future.

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I remember when it was built about 40 years ago and I am not sure much has changed. The place is a little tired, but the bed was comfortable and the breakfast service adequate. I couldn't get into my room because the digital lock wouldn't function as was 'upgraded' to a lake view room for my inconvenience. All 5 minutes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LifestyleUK
jason d, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review, We have been going through an extensive refurbishment but are proud that we have been able to keep some of the original features. I am glad the bed was comfortable for you and that you receive a upgrade at no extra charge.

Stevenage, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 April 2017

For a standard room it was definitely a cut above what we usually stay in for a standard very roomy and very comfortable. The staff are very obliging and friendly. Even though the restaurant was closed we had a meal in the bar from quite an extensive menu, quick service the food was hot and tasteful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 633debbie
LauraIOL, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of the Inn on the Lake. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

We live locally but wanted a night away from the kids so booked in for Easter. Quick check in and our room was large and lovely and clean. Bathroom was clean and had shampoo/ conditioner/ body wash. We had coffee and tea available. The bed was incredibly comfortable and we slept well with almost no noise. Breakfast the next morning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TashMarques
LauraIOL, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of the Inn on the Lake. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Terrible place we found some staff rude, the food was ok'ish the larger was flat the room had a pong to it. As a wedding party we were asked to keep noise levels down but as dogs are allowed to stay in the hotel we had them barking all through the night and nobody went to ask them to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ulster13
LauraIOL, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. You were asked to keep the noise down as other guests were complaining about your inappropriate noise levels in the early hours of the morning. We love dogs, they tend to be more behaved than people sometimes!

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

Stopped for one night with my friend - we booked a twin lake view room. On arrival we were dealt with promptly and they were happy to split the bill for us. Our room was a very good size and had all the amenities you need. Although the bathroom was a little dated, it was spotlessly clean. The shower head...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie B
LauraIOL, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of the Inn on the Lake. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

549 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (180)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (102)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (363)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
Four Poster Double Room (29)
Viewed
Lakeside Double Room (34)
Viewed
Lakeside Family A Room (35)
Viewed
Lakeside Family B Room (37)
Viewed
Lakeside Family D Room (46)
Viewed
Dining (58)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gravesend
2.2 km away
Best Western Manor Hotel
Best Western Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Singlewell
238 reviews
4.4 km away
Premier Inn Gravesend Central Hotel
9.1 km away
The King Charles Hotel
The King Charles Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gillingham
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Premier Inn Gravesend (A2/Singlewell) Hotel
9.7 km away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
5.4 km away
Premier Inn Rochester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in 12 acres of woodland, the Inn on the Lake Hotel offers a friendly and comfortable stay in a modern, family run establishment. With excellent transport links to London, the Channel Ports and the Medway Towns, as well as the M2, M20 and M25 motorways, the stunning views across the two lakes are surprisingly tranquil and relaxing. The Inn on the Lake has 80 comfortable guest rooms (many of them with direct access to the 2 beautiful lakes and surrounding woodland) offering en-suite bathrooms, colour satellite television, direct dial telephone, tea & coffee making facilities and hairdryer. The hotel also boasts a fully licensed bar and restaurant, conference facilities and a unique banqueting room with a 180 panoramic view of the lakes and fountain. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Inn on the Lake

Address: Watling Street, Gravesend DA12 3HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Gravesend
Price Range: ₹ 3,534 - ₹ 6,983 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn on the Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Lake Hotel Gravesend
Hotel On The Lake
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Inn on the Lake staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Inn on the Lake staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a lake view room, so not so much road and car park noise, but ground floor rooms very hot and no window to open”
689kimw, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“Get a lake view if possible”
LifestyleUK, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“There is a big main road on one side of the hotel, the lake is on the other. My lake-view room was quiet.”
Lagomorphs, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms over looking the lake have a great view & quiet, the other side will get the noise of the motorway”
sheila3072017, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“rooms at back overlook 3 lakes. Ground floors have patio doors to view lakes”
Roostercogburn2013, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$ 56* /night
View Deal
Travelocity
Hotels.comUS$ 56
Expedia.comUS$ 56
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates