Universal Hotel Marqués

Universal Hotel Marqués

Placa Moli de Sa Sal, s/n, 07638 Colonia de Sant Jordi, Majorca Spain
Traveller (689)
Panorama of the Double Room with Sea View at the Universal Hotel Marques
360
Panoramas (4)
Room & Suite (218)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#5 of 17 hotels in Colonia de Sant Jordi
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Seeing, feeling, breathing, living the Mediterranean. There is quite probably nowhere you can do this better than in the Marques. The incomparable situation, directly in front of the beach, and the Mediterranean atmosphere of this hotel delight our guests time and time again. People who love long strolls on the sandy beach (7km), and water sports enthusiasts, are in their own personal paradise here. And the surroundings offer nature lovers one of the most extensive protected areas on the island. In Colonia de Sant Jordi, traditional Mallorca has been preserved to a large extent.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Airport transportation
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Boating
Diving
Hiking
Snorkelling
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Car hire
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Private balcony
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Catalan and 2 more

Location

Placa Moli de Sa Sal, s/n, 07638 Colonia de Sant Jordi, Majorca Spain
Name/address in local language
713Reviews42Q+A39Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 367
  • 238
  • 58
  • 30
  • 20
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Nkiera wrote a review Sept 2020
45 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Hotel Marquess in August 2020 with our teenage twin daughters. It was booked as part of the Best Centre family swim holiday. Due to Covid the hotel we usually stay in was closed and do we chose The Marques as an alter offered.
We chose it because of the brilliant location to the beach. We stayed in 2 superior double rooms with a seaview and it was fantastic. Clean, well equipped and a beautiful sun rise every morning.

The hotel staff were so friendly and helpful especially Simone, Dario and Lorenzo who made our holiday so smooth and enjoyable.
The pool is clean and a good size and the booking of the sun beds took the stress out of making sure you could get one each day.

Breakfast was lovely and plenty to choose from. We were half board and the food was nice most nights however it could be a little hit and miss and as the numbers in the hotel reduced due to quarantine rules coming into force in the UK and Germany the quality of the food reduced. We chose to eat out 4 times due to poor experiences the nights before but overall you could find something you would like if you chose to eat at the hotel. I had read some bad reports about the food and would not say it was as bad as we expected and with all the Covid restrictions I think the hotel managed well

The location is the selling point for this hotel it is on the beach , a 5minute walk to the nearest supermarket and at the start/end of a beautiful boardwalk which takes you all the way to the harbour.
If you walk via the road it’s a 15/20 walk which is quicker than the boardwalk or you can ask the hotel to call a taxi. The taxi is 5 euros and worth it if you struggle with walking or in a wheelchair. We used the taxis a few times just for quickness and worth it to arrive at a restaurant without being hot and sweaty

Nearest restraint is Sal coco which I would recommend for lunch

All in all a lovely stay in this hotel who put every measure possible in place during this difficult time to keep us all safe and I hope they are able to keep going as long as possible as all the staff work so hard Thank you for making our holiday safe and enjoyable

The Kieran family. Uk
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Angela Ramos, Director General at Universal Hotel Marqués
Responded 13 Sept 2020
Dear Kieran Family, Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience here for others to read. We were all happy to hear you had enjoyed the hotel, staff, breakfast as well as our location. We hope to see you again soon. With best regards, Universal Hotel Marqués
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Asiamimigrace wrote a review Apr 2020
Toronto, Canada102 contributions58 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I stayed here at the beginning of March while on a self-guided bike tour. The weather was overcast and the winds were gale force, so it was not the nicest time to be there. The rain stopped us from going for a walk in their forest, but we did manage to walk along the scenic boardwalk.
This hotel is a 10 minute walk into Colonia Sant Jordi, although the town itself was totally closed tight on a Sunday!
The staff were friendly and helpful, and the room was OK, Unfortunately we had the road view but could see a very little bit of the bay and coast. The room was clean and comfortable, but small and could have used more facial tissues. A good idea might be to also have wet wipes available in rooms too.
The buffet breakfast and dinner were tasty.
All in all I would recommend this hotel to others.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Angela Ramos, Director General at Universal Hotel Marqués
Responded 9 Aug 2020
Dear Asiamimigrace, Thank you very much for taking the time to evaluate our hotel, all comments help to improve our service. We are glad to know that you were able to enjoy your stay despite the bad weather. We look forward to welcoming you again as a guest in our hotel Best regards, Universal Hotel Marqués
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Barry P wrote a review Sept 2021
Southampton3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have forgotten how many times we have stayed at The Temple of Marques (Hotel Marques😁) for a late Summer holiday. It's just excellent for a quiet family visit to Majorca. The hotel is perfectly located for quick beach access on all sides. The sand is soft and the sea is blue with great protection for safe bay swimming. The staff are very friendly, helpful and welcoming. The rooms are comfortable and cleaned/made up on a daily basis. The restaurant offers a wide selection of buffet style tasty food to cater for all needs and several chefs work tirelessly with on demand griddles. There are large indoor bar and veranda areas for quiet relaxation to take in the sea views and enjoy some evening entertainment on most days. A board walk stretches along the seafront for many kilometres and is ideal for walking and jogging to a local marina, shops, bars and restarants.

In summary the Hotel Marques is a perfect secret escape. We will make our pilgrimage to this delightful place for as long as we can.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Angela Ramos, Director General at Universal Hotel Marqués
Responded 25 Sept 2021
Dear Barry, thank you very much for your review. We appreciate your confidence in our service, we are happy to have the opportunity to welcome you back year after year. See you next year! Sunny greetings, Universal Hotel Marqués
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
moniaolo wrote a review Jul 2021
London45 contributions12 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked this hotel last minute for one night and what
a mistake this was.

We paid around EUR 165 and when we arrived they told us that you have to book the pool loungers at extra cost? The beach towels cost extra, the internet cost extra, high speed apparently!
Someone next to us was hiring a kettle and he had to pay deposit for it, I don’t know if they charge extra for this !
I don’t know what this place is but we were out the next morning. Very disappointing.
We travel a lot and we have never been in a place where they charge you for these things !
People seem to accept it, maybe when they are on package holidays for a week or two they pay much less per night.

We also had a screaming baby at night next to our room and parents took it out on a balcony at 7am, it’s not hotels fault obviously but it just shows you what type of people stay here, with complete disregard for everyone else.

The beach seems to be long and nice for a walk in the evening but big part of it is seaweed which smells very badly of something rotting. It’s not a normal seaweed smell.
Part of the beach is beautiful with clear waters but is very crowded.

There is a bar nearby, the staff there are super friendly and music is great. Take mosquito repellent !
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking on the street only
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Angela Ramos, General Manager at Universal Hotel Marqués
Responded 16 Jul 2021
Dear Moniaolo, We are sorry that we were not able to fulfill your expectations. Kind regards, Universal Hotel Marqués
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Esys wrote a review Aug 2020
Amsterdam, The Netherlands10 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I spoke with the desk on first day about the internet policy. It is just absurdly expensive to charge an additional 10 EUR per device for so-called high speed (which when we measured it was only 10 Mb/Sec !). No hotel in most of Europe does this, and especially not a 4 star hotel. Having proper like 50 Mb/sec is the norm and it should not cost extra. The normal free connection is obviously deliberately kept so slow one has no choice but to upgrade. When I measured it in the room it was 0.3 Mb/sec. And this slow high speed is really a problem now when because of Corona etc. you have to check websites constantly. The room was way too expensive for its small size and level of quality (over 800 Eur for 5 nights!). I asked for a small reimbursement of the fee-trying for weeks to quietly work this out. The hotel said this should have been done during the stay (which we tried to do) then they were just insulting saying that most people come not to surf the internet all day but to enjoy the sun! (The reason we need just normal decent internet is to keep an eye on our sick, elderly parents and children for the 5 days we were away!). It is all about money; they could not care less about being reasonable. Never again will we stay there.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Angela Ramos, Director General at Universal Hotel Marqués
Responded 2 Sept 2020
Dear Esys, As we have answered your messages, in which you have blackmailed us to refund you 50€ or publish bad reviews, we also answer you in an official way to your review. We are sorry that we were not able to fulfill all your expectations. The hotel offers a free WIFI, which is accessible to all guests and is perfectly adequate for everyday needs (Facebook, Whatsapp...). Most of our guests choose this hotel to enjoy the sun, the beach and the good food. Those who would rather surf in internet through their holiday, or have to hold important conferences, have the possibility to upgrade to the high speed option, which is much faster. A refund would have been an option in case of immediate complaint and research why the internet was not fast enough. It is our policy not to refund guests who haven’t given us the possibility to solve their problems on the spot. As you can certainly understand, there is no refund if you complain on the day of departure or when you arrived home, after using the full WIFI ticket. Kind regards, Universal Hotel Marqués
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
miklisle wrote a review Apr 2022
Crosby, United Kingdom55 contributions66 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Marques was one of the few hotels available for our group trip to Colonia at the start of April. We were not disappointed. Everything-value for money,friendly attentive staff,rooms, food [we chose the half board option] was excellent. The hotel is very accommodating for groups who have bikes providing free safe storage . Recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: rooms with a sea view
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Angela Ramos, Director General at Universal Hotel Marqués
Responded 14 Apr 2022
Dear Miklisle. Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience here for others to read. We were all happy to hear you had enjoyed the hotel, staff, room, breakfast as well as our location. We hope to see you again soon. With best regards, Universal Hotel Marqués
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
eatdrinkstay wrote a review Jul 2021
Bournemouth, United Kingdom830 contributions367 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked this in a hurry when we knew we could travel the only thing we missed reading was the lack of parking. We arrived on a very beautiful Saturday afternoon and the area was very busy and no where to park. We had to park a long way from the hotel but later that night moved it closer and for the next four days was not a problem. The hotel is a great location for the beautiful beaches. We had four nights here bed and breakfast and found the hotel very clean and comfortable. The rooms are basic but also perfect and nice sea views. The wifi is good . All the staff were friendly and professional.
Breakfast was good lots of choice with excellent coffee egg station to slow !!!!
Due to Covid you can only book the gym in advance for hour slots and very hard to get them, maybe should reduce them to 30 minutes so more people can use at peak times. We would stay here again and lovely local easy walk restaurants to visit . The hotel is also good with nice bar and bar food.
The pool is nice too.
Thank you for a lovely stay.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Angela Ramos, Director General at Universal Hotel Marqués
Responded 8 Jul 2021
Dear Eatdrinkstay, thank you for this great review! We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to welcome you soon again. Sunny regards, Universal Hotel Marqués
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Geoff Mesher wrote a review Sept 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was the sixth visit for us in the last seven years, a stat that probably speaks for itself. But the first time since the start of the pandemic. We had a slight concern that the hotel would not be quite the same as for our visits pre pandemic, but we should not have been. On our arrival at reception, we were greeted like long lost friends with lots of the old staff Still there. This type of greeting came to us from all departments of the hotel ,from the cleaners, restaurant and bar staff to the ancillary staff as well, with lots of old faces and some new . It was a pleasure to return. All this ,we feel ,is down to the way the Director of the hotel, Angela Ramos, runs her ship, as the saying goes. We have watched the superb way that she interacts with her staff ,at all levels, and you can see from them all the respect they give back to her. Well done Angela and you whole team . Look forward to seeing you all next year. Angela and Geoff Mesher
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Angela Ramos, Director General at Universal Hotel Marqués
Responded 15 Sept 2021
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Mesher, thank you very much for this great review. We appreciate your confidence and the wonderful words dedicated to our team. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again next year. Best regards, Universal Hotel Marqués
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rui Souto wrote a review Sept 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is magnificently located over a lovely beach, on the sothern tip of a pristine bay, composed of several lovely and natural sand beaches. We were assigned to a room with a sea view towards the west and had a amazing daily show of lovely sunsets.
Although the hotel was way bellow it's full capacity, the service was lacking nothing, was very organized, professional, but kind and nice. Wonderful food and wines at the restaurant.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Angela Ramos, Director General at Universal Hotel Marqués
Responded 27 Sept 2020
Dear rui_souto2, Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience here for others to read. We were all happy to hear you had enjoyed the hotel, staff, as well as our location. We hope to see you again soon. With best regards, Universal Hotel Marqués
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Helle H wrote a review May 2021
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Fantastically located hotel with water on three sides 30 m from beautiful white sandy beach with crystal clear water. We were greeted at the front desk by very friendly and service oriented staff and it was consistent for all the staff at the hotel. We had lunch on the terrace directly to the sea and it was a very delicious lunch from the hotel À la carte menu. Likewise, the morning buffet was extremely good. We will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: All rooms have sea views
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Angela Ramos, Director General at Universal Hotel Marqués
Responded 3 Jun 2021
Dear Guest. Your compliments of the staff and the hotel are greatly appreciated. We sincerely thank you for useful feedback and score and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back. Best regards, Universal Hotel Marqués
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Angela R
Colonia de Sant Jordi, Spain2 helpful votes
Dear GuernseyM, Here you can dress with jeans and polo. Also you can dress nicely too. It not possible to wear bath clothes. For dinner, gentlemen are requested to wear shirts with covered shoulders.
Answer from Zafer Dolu Y
Essen, Germany58 contributions28 helpful votes
Hi, 3 years ago I had booked the villa via booking but this year I booked the hotel via universal's homepage - like 8-9 months prior. You may want to give them a call and check direktly.
Sarah C asked a question May 2017
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom6 contributions1 helpful vote
Are airport transfers included in the price?
Answer from Angela R
Colonia de Sant Jordi, Spain2 helpful votes
No,it´s not. But you can book a transfer directly to the hotel on our homepage,
Monica R asked a question Jun 2021
Ribadesella, Spain18 contributions2 helpful votes
Se puede aparcar cerca?
Katrin J asked a question May 2021
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Kann man im Hotel Marques auf der Terrasse frühstücken?
Hallo, ja, es kann auch auf der Terrasse gefrühstückt werden.
Richard S wrote a tip 5 Jun
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I couldn't sleep, but that wasn't the environment, i am an insomniac, even paradise didn't fix that. I still had the best holiday ever."
Read full review
Catherine V wrote a tip May 2024
9 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Relax and relax. Your on hols. "
Read full review
Tim W wrote a tip Jul 2023
9 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Free drinking water available for the beach. Ask at reception for a parasol for the beach."
Read full review
Christina S wrote a tip May 2023
England4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Most rooms have a seaview apart from the rooms at the front."
Read full review
zobugjones wrote a tip Sept 2022
Stratfield Saye, United Kingdom79 contributions54 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Town a little quiet (it was September) Go half board - great value and so much choice. Walk to Es Trenc - you can paddle nearly all the way"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Colonia de Sant Jordi area.
PRICE RANGE
₹17,434 - ₹24,775 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SpainBalearic IslandsMajorcaColonia de Sant Jordi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
191
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

UNIVERSAL HOTEL MARQUÉS (Colonia de Sant Jordi, Majorca) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Universal Hotel Marqués
Which popular attractions are close to Universal Hotel Marqués?
Nearby attractions include Best Swim Centre (0.8 km), Playa dels Estanys (0.4 km), and Ciclos Mora (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Universal Hotel Marqués?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Universal Hotel Marqués?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Universal Hotel Marqués?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Universal Hotel Marqués?
Yes, paid private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Universal Hotel Marqués?
Conveniently located restaurants include 5illes EAT&DRINK ( Avenida ) Main street, Laos Club, and Cafe & Sal.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Universal Hotel Marqués?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Universal Hotel Marqués have airport transportation?
Yes, Universal Hotel Marqués offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Universal Hotel Marqués?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Universal Hotel Marqués?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, and Catalan.
Does Universal Hotel Marqués have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
All Colonia de Sant Jordi HotelsColonia de Sant Jordi Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Colonia de Sant Jordi
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire